Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from halifax

Tiny rooms but pricing is great

Posted Nov 27, 2016
My only complaint would be that i was given the room 2 doors down the hall from the front desk, and that the employee working the front desk was socializing with guests, quite loudly, well passed the designated quiet time of 10pm. It was so loud that I had to go out to the desk and ask for them to please respect that I was trying to sleep. The end result was that I requested to be put into another room, which they did for me at no extra charge. My only other complaint would be the lack of HD channel accessibility, they were blacked out and the SD channels were letterboxed so the picture was quite small
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from t

Overnight layover

Posted Nov 17, 2016
I had everything a woman on travel could use! Including a hairdryer. Close to where I needed to get.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Thin walls, not enough parking, breakfast no good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Now convinced the positive reviews were paid...

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Nice neighbourhood, felt safe leaving our vehicle there. Tim Hortons a short drive away.
We booked our nights stay based on the positive reviews we read online for this place, but we definitely had the opposite experience to that. We were greeted politely by the front desk staff and assigned our room and room key. When we entered the room, you got the impression of a cheap motel, despite the inexpensive price compared to other places, it was nothing like what the pictures displayed. We had a look around, and the carpet was somewhat clean, with some dirt around the edges, but we didn't rush to take our shoes off. The bathroom was clean but dated, and had a tap that would shoot out water like a cannon in every which way. The ceiling had some black/dark spots/marks on it that we knew weren't supposed to be there but didn't want to assume the worst. The door from the main hallway into the unit was our biggest issue. The gap on the door knob side was at least 1/2 inch, and the deadbolt and the moving part of the doorknob barely entered the door frame. 1/8th of a turn and the door was open. Even though the door had a secondary chain lock, it wasn't very comforting sleeping there knowing that a swift kick of the boot and that door would come flying in. The night of our stay around 5 am we heard multiple people screaming, yelling, crying, and running up the stars and down the hallway. (So along with our door situation, we were even more freaked out and uncomfortable) And last but not least, don't bank on their "contiental breakfast" to be satisfying or fill you up, un
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PEI

Commons Inn review

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: See above comments
Location: In a run town part of town
Did not stay in this hotel The hotel is run down and had mildew and a large black area in the bathroom The bed had dead bed bugs Hotel attendent said they sprayed for bed bugs the day before. Still waiting for a refund!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location downtown.

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Centrally located to everything and you can't beat free parking in downtown Halifax. Fine for a short-term stay and the price reflects it, so not a bad deal.
Cons: Wouldn't walk around the area at night. Not the best neighbourhood.
Location: 5 minutes from everything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlottetown, PEI

This hotel is a little far from down town

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: You need to search which road is best for you when you go to down town because if you just go to road which you search by GPS. it is too much far from down town but you can go through near big park, you can go to down town easily. But I think if we booked hotel in down town, we wouldn't go to far place. so it was a good opportunity for us. We booked deluxe room. I think this is the best size for staying tow people. if we book standard room, OMG it is so small! I really recommend deluxe room! Because it's not expensive price even compering standard one.
Cons: less kind of break fast. I want to eat more and more.
Location: A little far from down town but it is good for health lol.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick

overall a disappointing place to stay

Posted Oct 28, 2016
when we check in, a new staff was in training, so we waited a short while. But it was ok and the new staff was a quite pleasant person though not familiar with the business yet. Got into the room, another staff came to tell that the TV in one of the rooms we booked was not working. OK, we do not watch TV, so we do not mind. When looking around the room, found dead mosquito on the window glass, mosquito alive flying in the bath room. yes, you are right, the season was late fall on late October in northern Canada though maritime. Later, found the sink in the bathroom was blocked. Went to the front desk and was told by the nice new staff that she cannot do anything else, other than gave a plunger. Went back and tried to remove the block with a plunger for toilet, it did not work, instead a lot of disgusting stuff came out of the plunger into the handwashing sink. so frustrating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect for the Price-Conscious Traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: 5 Minutes from downtown in vehicle, 30 minutes walking. Most of what you will visit is in center city. BUT: Not all.
Front desk cordial and helpful. Lobby computer fast as lightening. Very nice that at the (typically average) breakfast there are REAL plates and REAL spoons, knives, forks. Books for the taking all over the place. A surprising social room in the basement. Parking tight so be careful. Room lacked a place to sit and read with the help of lighting. I had to move a night table and lamp across the room so as to get this kind of setup. Traffic on weekdays is hellish and can be on Saturdays and Sundays. A great part of the city has no grid pattern. One must be a careful and ardent user of a street map, especially if you are the only person in the vehicle.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel with very courteous staff!

Posted Oct 23, 2016
The staff were very helpful with anything we needed, always willing to go the extra mile. The rooms were a good size and included a mini fridge and microwave. Great quality for a great price!