Ratings based on 394 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Honestly didn't know this hotel was there, what a great find! Close to downtown without paying the high price! And you're still getting the comfort and cleanliness that you would at a more expensive hotel. Will definitely recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Rundown hotel in decent location

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Location was decent
Cons: Everything.
The hotel is in need of updating. The building itself is rundown and our room smelled funny. There is a parking lot, but it was full and the street parking requires a permit, so I had to take my chances with getting a parking ticket parked on the street. Breakfast was included, but options were very limited (choice of toast, yogurt, or cereal, and juice or coffee). The location is pretty good, close to the citadel and a short drive downtown. I would not stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Had things stolen from our room. Staff were not helpful and seemed to hate there jobs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick

Great for the price

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Cons: It could us a face lift, but then it would be a boutique hotel with higher rates.
Location: within walking distance to most downtown attractions
older style hotel that is located close to downtown Halifax at half the price of most others in the area.. It's a little dated, but clean and comfortable, with very friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eclectic North End

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Room was very dated and very small. Parking was a little tricky. Some shops and restaurants within walking distance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Markham ON

Terrible

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Tear it down
Location: One night could not find parking, a bit close to downtown, in smi slum area.
Substandard INN, I am disappointed that Expedia even have it on there site.It is not worth the money. I will not stay there again for free, I rather pay an extra $30 and get 4-5 star accommodation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
It was not what we thought. The room was tiny, the bed felt like it was falling apart- you only got 1 pillow each with no option of more pillows or blankets. The tiles in the bathroom were loose. It was a decent distance from downtown if you walked it was a good 25 min walk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NS

Inexpensive hotel, suitable for short overnight

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location was close to downtown, inexpensive
Cons: Better breakfast options (they just offered cereal, toast and yogurt)
Location: 15 minute walk to downtown
An inexpensive hotel in a slightly 'sketchy' part of Halifax, about 10 minute walk to downtown. We checked in late and were up and out early so this was suitable for us, just a quiet place to sleep. Air conditioner was too loud to keep on at night, shower was just a few sprays aimed in weird directions, outdated furniture/fixtures etc. It was quiet though and breakfast and parking were included.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Valley, NS

Anniversary Weekend

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The room was very dated, there was mold on the ceiling in the bathroom (but otherwise room was clean). The staff was lovely and very helpful. Based on the price we would stay there again, but I would not recommend it to our friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint John, NB

Comfortable and close to the venue we attended.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Very quiet. Rooms were comfortable.
Cons: Things being stored should be taken off site. There was a tiny bit of mold in the corner of the shower that would be easy to clean up if done now.
Location: Very close to the Commons, the Citadel, the waterfront boardwalk and the Casino.
Check in was quick and easy. The night staff was very accommodating and helpful. Quaint decor, loved the antiques. Parking was not great. When we got back from our show there were no spots left for us even though we rented three rooms. We had to park on the street.