Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One-day trip from Cape Town

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Best location in town, with best view of the bay. Excellent dinner at the restaurant "Origins".
Just stayed one night. Dinner at the restaurant in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Location, location, location ... and food

Posted Nov 19, 2016
The Marine must occupy one of the world's great natural locations. Perched on the cliffs overlooking the Indian Ocean in the resort town of Hermanus, there is no better place to enjoy breakfast. Walk along the cliffs, visit the beach, watch for whales ... what's not to like? BTW - the food is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Great hotel for viewing whales - views from bedroo

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Location and views over the sea.
Cons: The food - hot dishes seemed to be over cooked.
Location: Perfect for whale watching and just a short stroll from the town centre. Right on the cliff path which is a beautiful walk.
The hotel was very welcoming. Drinks and warm towels on arrival, plenty of information. The swimming pool turned out not to be well heated so did not yet used which was a disappointment. It had the chill taken off the water but not much more! The rooms were lovely. Definitely worth paying extra for one with a sea view. You can watch the whales from your window. The restaurant was a little disappointing. The food was OK but not as special as we had thought it would be, and over priced. We ended up having breakfast in a little bistro around the corner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Great hotel close to beach and the village

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Great for seeing Whales from your room Grounds and even bathroom. Suite 208 wonderful except can be seen from Parking lot. Suggest hotel does something to give guests Privacy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Hotel on a cliff top in Hermanus.

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: The location, the staff, the food, the decor.
Cons: A small night light in the bathrooms would be very helpful.
Location: Mostly whale watching, but nobody told the whales I had come to see them.
Lovely hotel and wonderful staff. The only light in the bathroom was blinding - bad in the middle of the night. Otherwise all was lovely and the food was superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service and stay!

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Fabulous location & service . Enjoyed the whole experience from breakfast, poolside to dinner!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Still delightful

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: An old world charm and a fantastic spot for whale watching
Cons: -The breakfast menu is great but the Seafood Restaurant is a bit uninspired.
Location: Beautiful walks and gardens along the coastline
I stayed in this hotel 10 years ago and have very fond memories of it. Its been updated and remains totally delightful (I miss the Orangery though!) The staff are attentive, friendly and charming in every way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from Guernsey. C I.

Impressive position on the Cliff Top

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Cons: Nothing, the staff would be on to it in minutes.
We stopped here for three nights in February, this is a beautiful Hotel, and is in an Historic building, on the cliff top, adjacent to the town of Hermanus, which is known for its whales, however this was February, and the whales had all gone back to the Antarctic with their now growing young. The Hotel is part of a group of three Hotels, and we have friends who stay in all three, we have eaten in two of them previously, but this is the first time we have stayed in this hotel in Hermanus. We have not been disappointed, everything has matched up to what we expected, and the quality is very high, both of the staff, the building, and of course the food. If you want stress free accommodation close to the town, with the cliff walk, which is capable of taking a wheelchair, right outside and runs for up to six kilometers, with beautiful views, and all the other good things of life, then look no further, you have found it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carmen from Houston

Excellent Vacation

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: Location, food and service all excellent.
Cons: Hotel is old and it could use a bathroom upgrade (faucets, shower, etc.)
Marine Hermanus did a great job in making us comfortable and feeling like VIPs. They upgrades us to an ocean front room and we saw the whales from our room. Could not ask for anything more. Restaurants were excellent and the service was great. We will recommend to all our friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet from Kent

great hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: We had a suite which was very comfortable and bright. The complimentary wine and fruit was very nice touch, and fresh flowers.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It was on the coast to see the whales, lots of restaurants within walking distance and little shops.
This hotel was fantastic, close to the sea, where you could see the whales from our room.