Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
A recommander absoluement La seule chose est reliee a la douche peu de pression et installation assez vieille
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Great hotel for viewing whales - views from bedroo

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Location and views over the sea.
Cons: The food - hot dishes seemed to be over cooked.
Location: Perfect for whale watching and just a short stroll from the town centre. Right on the cliff path which is a beautiful walk.
The hotel was very welcoming. Drinks and warm towels on arrival, plenty of information. The swimming pool turned out not to be well heated so did not yet used which was a disappointment. It had the chill taken off the water but not much more! The rooms were lovely. Definitely worth paying extra for one with a sea view. You can watch the whales from your window. The restaurant was a little disappointing. The food was OK but not as special as we had thought it would be, and over priced. We ended up having breakfast in a little bistro around the corner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Great hotel close to beach and the village

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Great for seeing Whales from your room Grounds and even bathroom. Suite 208 wonderful except can be seen from Parking lot. Suggest hotel does something to give guests Privacy
4 out of 5
by Ellen from Dublin

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
The area is beautiful, and our room had a fantastic view of the sea with access to the cliff walk. The wifi could be variable.
5 out of 5
by Nicole from London

lovely people & place

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
It's such a pleasure to still be here at the Marine (our 2nd stay with a 4 day side trip). What makes this hotel so special is the people - the extra smiles, the little touches - they really went the extra mile for us. The very kindly found us a room with a little extra space so we could unexpectedly have our niece and nephew with us for a night. They made us special food in the middle of an insane new years eve serivce (the food is by far the best in the area) and just made the experience fantastic. The setting is incredible - right on the water. The building needs a bit of work, but it's charm is certainly in tact.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Hotel on a cliff top in Hermanus.

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: The location, the staff, the food, the decor.
Cons: A small night light in the bathrooms would be very helpful.
Location: Mostly whale watching, but nobody told the whales I had come to see them.
Lovely hotel and wonderful staff. The only light in the bathroom was blinding - bad in the middle of the night. Otherwise all was lovely and the food was superb.
4 out of 5
by Frank from Cape Town

Weekend at the Marine Hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely relaxing weekend getaway
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

meerblick zentral

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Hotelzimmer ok...etwas teuer. ..frühstück sehr gut Superlage!!!!!
4 out of 5
by Andre from Cape Town

Comfortable Old World Charm

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
A very central hotel near all the attractions and walking distance to restaurants. The rooms are spacious with lounge seating area. Although the hotel is in a general very neat condition, it's in need of upgrading in certain areas to be a truly 5* hotel. Overall it was a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
by Jack and Noriko from Penticton,BC Canada

Serene Marine

Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
It was the favourite of all the places we stayed in.The location is just wonderful and the rooms overlooking the bay are very comfortable with a magnificent ambience.The service was attentive but not smothering.The dining experience was one of the best during our SA trip.When we come back to SA ,the Marine will be a definite destiny again