Featured Image

Reviews of Aqua Palms Waikiki

2.5 out of 5
Aqua Palms Waikiki
1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI

Overall score and ratings

3.8

Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 283 out of 994 reviews
5 - Excellent 28%
Rating 4 - Good. 423 out of 994 reviews
4 - Good 43%
Rating 3 - Okay. 167 out of 994 reviews
3 - Okay 17%
Rating 2 - Poor. 88 out of 994 reviews
2 - Poor 9%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 33 out of 994 reviews
1 - Terrible 3%

3.8/5

Cleanliness

4.2/5

Staff & service

3.6/5

Amenities

3.6/5

Property conditions & facilities

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The room was not clean. Black mold in the bathroom. Asked them to clean, they “did” but all the same areas still had the same look, no change. Sheets were stained yellow.
Stayed 5 nights in Nov 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The expensive parking. Should be free with the price of the room.
Stayed 7 nights in Nov 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It said that the property was refurbished but the room we got was not kept up to standards. The air conditioning broke down and we had to be moved to another room and suprisingly this room was better and had a decent balcony, not sure why this was not offered in the first place.
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2021
Response from Patty Maher on Nov 23, 2021
Aloha Michelle, We’re terribly sorry to hear that the initial room you booked fell short of expectations. We take pride in our hospitality services and will be looking into making sure accommodations in each room are consistent in quality. Having said that, we are so happy to hear that you were able to be moved to another room and that your trip was enjoyable thereafter. Again, thank you for your honest feedback; we hope that the next time you stay with us will be a truly five-star experience. With Aloha, Patty Maher General Manager

2/5 Poor

Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities
Was given a note at check in along with my key that said there was no housekeeping. Additionally, there were signs up in the elevator stating that you had to make a reservation for the pool and you could only use it for an hour a day. None of this was communicated prior to.
Stayed 5 nights in Nov 2021
Response from Patty Maher on Nov 16, 2021
Aloha hollie, We are sorry to hear your stay was anything but exceptional. We strive for excellence in all aspects of our hotel and will work to be more transparent about what services and amenities offer prior to arrival. That being said, we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future so we can make up for these shortcomings and provide you with the vacation that you deserve. With Aloha, Patty Maher General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights & we really enjoyed it! The room was spacious and clean. Every single staff that we encountered was extremely friendly and helpful. Parking lot was a little tight but still would recommend!
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Staff on Nov 24, 2021
Aloha Coco! Thank you for a wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you loved every aspect of your stay and that our staff and accommodations all enhanced the quality of your vacation. We hope to welcome you again soon! Mahalo nui loa!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Location for the hotel is perfect. Close to the beach, mall, stores, food options near by. If you don’t want the staff to distribute you in your room they respect that.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Staff on Nov 24, 2021
Aloha Bianca! Thank you very much for your 5-star review. We are so glad you enjoyed a wonderful stay overall and had a wonderful vacation experience. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future! Mahalo nui loa

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Friendly staff , cleanliness. Some guests enjoyed smoking ( marijuana) at balconies and broke the rules of non smoking areas. Staff responded to the claims , but some guests are irresponsible !?
Stayed 10 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Staff on Nov 24, 2021
Aloha Mladenko, thank you for sharing your review! We are very glad you enjoyed our friendly staff, location and clean accommodations. Your valuable feedback will help us to improve and we sincerely apologize for the elements of your stay that were less than satisfactory. We hope to have another opportunity to better serve your needs in the future. Mahalo nui loa

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Everything is close by beaches, breakfast, stores
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Maintenance quick to respond and correct problem or offer an alternative. Hotel e-mails you the day before they refresh you room. Front desk personnel Are extremely courteous and efficient. No supper available at the IHOP.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Staff was welcoming. Rooms were clean. COVID-19 regulations kept us feeling safe.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Excellent
Stayed 6 nights in Sep 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The property was nice and was able to walk to most places. Bad part is that COVID restrictions which the hotel did not have any room service at all. Parking was also a little tight. Other than those two things the stay was nice.
Stayed 9 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Staff on Sep 14, 2021
Aloha Derek! We are very glad to learn that you appreciated our ideal location and accommodations. We also appreciate your helpful feedback and apologize for the amenities that did not fully meet your needs. We are dedicated to improving our accommodations over time and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to our corner of paradise again in the future. Mahalo.

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Staff was nice and hotel was clean.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Staff on Sep 14, 2021
Aloha Katherine! Thank you for a wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that our staff, accommodations & location all enhanced the quality of your vacation. We hope to welcome you again soon! Mahalo.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
This was a nice budget-friendly place. The view from the room with a balcony was great. Everyone who worked there was very nice. Only downside was the elevators took forever! Minor inconvenience though for how nice it was! A very clean and comfortable room.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Staff on Sep 14, 2021
Aloha Sara! Thank you very much for your 5-star review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and beautiful views. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with our elevators. We will continuously work hard to improve our elevator services to ensure this issue is resolved asap. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again sometime. Mahalo.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Their was no balcony in the first room that said it was included, then the second room was infested with roaches with a slanted tv. Then they upgraded us to a room with a smaller bed they said it was ocean view it’s not we saw a riot tho.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Staff on Sep 14, 2021
Aloha Donovan. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We are very sorry and embarrassed to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory and that the service you received was far from exceptional. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort and for failing to meet your expectations. This is not at all the warm and memorable vacation we are accustomed to providing for our guests. Our management team have been informed of your experience and we will retrain all appropriate members to ensure this experience is not repeated. Again, we thank you for your time and patronage and we hope for another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Staff on Sep 14, 2021
Aloha Creiselda and thank you for sharing your rating. We truly appreciate your feedback and would be happy to welcome you again for another great stay soon. Mahalo and a hui hou (until next time)!

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It was in a very loud and busy area. I was on the top floor and could hear buses running till 2 in the morning. Only one elevator out of three worked the whole week that I was staying there. It took so long for the elevator to arrive - I had to take the stairs most days.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Staff on Sep 14, 2021
Aloha Lancee and thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for failing to meet your expectations. Our goal is to create a memorable experience for our guests and it is clear that we missed the mark in this instance. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Please know that we are here to ensure that our guests have a memorable vacation at the hotel and to assist in any way we can. We truly value your business and appreciate your honest feedback. Should future travel bring you back to Hawaii, we hope that you will give us another chance and allow us the opportunity to create that memorable experience. Sincerely

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
The window in the room was broken, so I could hear the sound from the outside and the voice in the next room. Also, the gas in the refrigerator seemed to be leaking and it smelled unpleasant.
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Palms Frontdesk on Aug 27, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We will be addressing your concerns.

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Poorly Maintained
Hotel is not well maintained. Elevators were a nightmare. Won't stay here again.
Stayed 10 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Palms Frontdesk on Aug 27, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We will be addressing your concerns.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I stayed here in 2019 and loved where the hotel was located and how nice the staff were. This time we stayed during the covid 19 pandemic in 2021 and the staff was just as i remembered nice and accomidating. We had a late flight on the day we checked out so they offered to check in our bags and arrange a taxi to the airport for when it was time to leave. That worked great for us since we had hours to kill and didnt have to carry our luggage with us. I personally like staying here your within walking distance of everything. And if you ever need anything the staff is always there to help.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Elevators were so slow. I had to wait at least 5-10 minutes.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice but expensive
The room was nice but there was no daily housekeeping so we had to ask for clean towels and toilet paper. The parking cost $28 a day. We were charged $25 a day for a “Resort Fee” after we arrived, so that costs us another $200. We had to sign up for a 2 hour time slots for the pool. They charged for coffee in the lobby. Overall the bed was comfortable and the room looked very nice.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Staff on Sep 14, 2021
Aloha Ronald. Thank you for sharing your review! We are very glad you enjoyed our location and clean accommodations. However, we sincerely apologize for the elements of your stay that were less than satisfactory. Our management team have been made aware of your experience and we will do our best to improve our services to ensure guests have a safe and comfortable stay. We hope to have another opportunity to better serve your needs in the future. Mahalo.

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Quiet and friendly helpful staff.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Staff & service
.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Palms Frontdesk on Aug 27, 2021
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Disliked: Staff & service
Pillows and bed were comfortable. A/C worked good. Good location. I don't know what was renovated but it could probably use another one. You get a discount at the IHOP but you have to wait 30-60 min all the time.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The front desk people were so nice and accommodating. They let us check in 1 hour early.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Disliked: Cleanliness
Friendly Staff
We enjoyed our stay; however, we had to change rooms because there were roaches in the bathroom of our first room. On a nicer note, the staff was friendly and welcoming.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Palms Frontdesk on Aug 27, 2021
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Everything good
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Palms Frontdesk on Aug 27, 2021
Mahalo

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It seems like the place is falling apart and "due to covid" no one wants to fix it. Elevators are a nightmare that take 10 minutes to get to you, water pressure is non existent, sheets were stained and if you need any new linens, you have to go down to the front desk yourself and get them. No cleaning services so either deal with a dirty and sandy room or go down and get a vacuum and clean it yourself. There's just way to many issues to recommend this place to anyone
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Staff on Jul 29, 2021
Aloha and thank you for sharing your review. We sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations especially in the elements of your stay that were less than satisfactory. Your review will help us be better and improve our services so experiences like this are not repeated. We truly appreciate your time and attention to this matter and we hope to have another opportunity to better serve your needs in the future. Mahalo nui loa

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness
Two words, roach infected
Stayed 14 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Staff on Jul 23, 2021
Aloha Vincent and thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We sincerely apologize about the aspects of your stay that were less than satisfactory. We take the comfort and convenience of our guests very seriously. Because of your review, we were able to increase our pest control routine daily to ensure this issue is resolved asap. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss it with you further. Please privately message us at aquapalmswaikiki@aquaaston.com with the name your reservation was under, the dates of your stay, and your contact email address and phone number so that we may share it with our leadership and on-site team. We value your time and look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely,

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
I stayed there for 3 nights with my husband, and my brothers also stayed on a different floor. Check in was simple enough except you have to park on the road with hazard lights on to get out and go into the lobby, there is no real dedicated entry. Parking is paid ahead of time but the structure was super tight, you have to be very careful turning corners or parking. Elevators were functional just super slow. We requested 1 king size bed in our room, it was super, super comfy but there were hand prints on the headboard, not like from being cleaned…yea and there was cereal on the carpet. So if these little things couldn’t be cleaned I question the cleanliness. Our AC worked fine but it’s not on when you enter which is fine it cooled down in a couple of minutes but my brothers complained that there’s didn’t work. We left too early and arrived too late every night to have it fixed, but when we asked the front desk they had no maintenance on site and had to wait a couple hours. To use the pool you have to schedule use because of the size and covid, you can only schedule day of. No housekeeping due to covid, so no replenishing of supplies or towels, you must come down to the front desk. Many little hiccups but honestly all I really cared about was I could get a nice clean shower and sleep in a comfy bed.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Staff on Jul 23, 2021
Aloha and Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We are very glad that our staff gave you a warm welcome. We also appreciate your thorough and valuable feedback regarding the areas of our accommodations that have room for improvement and will share your review with our management for immediate attention as we are always seeking to improve our overall guest experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for an improved stay in the future. Mahalo nui loa!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Exelent
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Desk on Jul 19, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us

3/5 Okay

I didn’t like the fact that no housekeeping to clean our room everyday to change our bed. it was to inconvenience to get your own towels and there elevators takes so long it was a bad idea for me to book there. I hope that there elevator will be fix soon because I ain’t going to stay there again in the near future ☹️
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from FD on Jul 16, 2021
Mahalo for your feedback. Unfortunately most all Hotels in Waikiki are not providing Daily Maid Service at this time. The elevator will be inspected on Monday to resume service/ Mahalo and Hope you have you back.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Nothing
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Desk on Jul 19, 2021
Mahalo

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Liked: Staff & service
It was a nice environment with friendly staff. The elevators were really slow though and the bathroom had roaches.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Desk on Jul 19, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Staff on Jul 23, 2021
Aloha and thank you for your rating! We hope to welcome you again for an improved stay in the near future! Sincerely,

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Overall hotel was fine, I did appreciate the 12:00 noon check out time. although the pool area very small and elevators are slow, our balcony sliding door not working properly
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It was an absolutely amazing stay. But we were out on the same floor as travelers were being quarantine and I think it shouldn’t be like that.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Aloha as always
Aqua Palms staff are always friendly and the rooms clean.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Desk on Jul 19, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I was only in Honolulu for 2 nights. I arrived late and on my last day I needed a late checkout; staff were very nice and accommodating. Room was very clean and comfortable. No frills, but I had no complaints.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Desk on Jul 19, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
I liked that the staff was kind and helpful. I didn’t like That the elevators took a long time and 1 was broke for the time we stayed here. Also the door handles looked dirty inside the rooms.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Desk on Jul 19, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Desk on Jul 19, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good property. They did run out of hot water during our stay also did not provide housekeeping services and ran out of bath towels at one point but decent place and quiet neighborhood
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Desk on Jul 19, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Aqua Palms Desk on Jul 19, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us