Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Not worth the money

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: The gardens, the food, and the staff.
Cons: The bagpiper was so winded he couldn't finish several songs.
The hotel is in sad shape. The floor was terribly uneven. Dust and cobwebs were evident in every room. The beds were horribly soft and jiggly. However, breakfast and dinner were delicious. The staff was very attentive and helpful. The gardens were gorgeous - many nice walks around the grounds. We stayed one night here because we thought it was where Bonnie Prince Charlie had stayed. Turns out the current hotel was built in the 1800's over the foundations of the place he had stayed. Still historical but not what we thought. It was also quite pricey.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear decase5, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us albeit I was saddened to read that it was not upto the standard that Culloden is known for. If you could possibly furnish me with the date of your stay and the room(s) you stayed in then I will look into your comments re dust and cobwebs, our Housekeeper and her team deliver a great standard so if one of the team have let us, and you, down then we can only apologise. The house was remodeled between 1757-87 following a fire but the building you stayed in is the original back wall, the internal walls go back to1650 and the founds to 1210, it is reported by the Forbes family that room 11 in the house is where Bonnie Prince Charlie stayed so I am at a loss as to who told you otherwise. With kind regards, Stephen Davies General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

An Outlander experience

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Quiet, charming
Cons: I think any improvement, like A/C, would take away from the charm.
Location: Taxi to Culloden Battlefield or Inverness, very close. We booked a tour of Isle of Skye; our driver picked us and returned us to Culloden House.
Staying at Culloden House was like living with Jamie, Claire, Prince Charlie , etc. This is a lovely place, very quiet and charming. I actually gasped as the taxi turned onto the entryway even though I had seen pictures. The walled garden is beautiful. We had enough of cities and being in the middle of the action by the time we reached Inverness. Culloden House provided a peaceful, historic, refined atmosphere. The food was wonderful and the staff was very attentive. I was afraid my 28 year old daughter would find it stuffy, but she loved it. And the bagpiper in the evening is a nice touch. Overall a wonderful experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Fl

Couldn't ask for anywhere better.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
This was our first trip to Europe. Our honeymoon. This was exactly what we wanted our trip to be. The staff is always smiling and on point never a dull moment. We will be back again very soon.
5 out of 5
by Jack

Living in History....

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Upon entering the property we were awe struck at the presence the Culloden House presents. The building itself is amazing and the meticulously maintained grounds go on forever! The interior of the Building did not disappoint either. Was it new, pristine and modern? It was not. It gave us the feel of another time and another place as it should have. We felt as if we were living in a history book and loved every moment of it. The food was exceptional and if anyone disagrees they certainly must have no ability to critique fine dining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Service

Posted May 11, 2017
From the beginning to the end of my stay, each and every staff member was so helpful and went above and beyond
5 out of 5
by Nicholas

Culloden House

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Staying at Culloden House is like staying at a museum of history. Very unique special place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice country mansion.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Staff and historic feel of the hotel.
Cons: Really can't think of anything to be honest.
Location: Not directly in town, but it was an easy drive to the bus stop for our tour of loch ness. Possibly a 10min drive at most. Easy to book a taxi.
Unfortunately, I can only rate the hotel staff on a 5.0 scale. I wish I could give them an even higher rating. My small families stay at the Culloden Hotel in Inverness was absolutely fantastic and would highly recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
by Kimberly

Lovely Stay

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
The Culloden House was exceptional. The customer service is top-notch. We had a spacious room and a lovely breakfast each morning. Kyle is a true gem! He brought our bags up, brought us breakfast, and made himself available for anything we may need. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Wonderful period country house service.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The staff were very friendly and attentive. We felt well looked after throughout our visit.
Cons: The period features, furniture and decor are charming. The bathroom was spotless and well maintained but perhaps in need of updating.
Location: The house has its own history which is fascinating. Nearby culloden battlefield visitor centre and Fort George are very interesting and worthwhile.
We had a lovely visit at this historic house and were very well looked after.
5 out of 5
by Cindy

Beautiful, historic hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
The first room we were given had a very low ceiling. My husband is very tall (6'6"). I mentioned the ceiling was a bit low when we were leaving to have dinner, and when we came back, the hotel offered us a much better room with a higher ceiling. What a thoughtful and delightful offering. Both rooms were very nice and the staff was wonderful. I managed travel for a large high tech international firm before retiring so am very familiar with hotels. This is absolutely one of the best properties I have stayed at. The grounds were lovely and you do not want to miss the gardens. Very relaxing stay.