Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Depends on rooms if acceptable?

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Food & views plus all staff (other than senior reception staff most arrogant!) were very friendly
Cons: Warning on ALL marketing re multilevel of the hotel which nestles in the hillside and noise prevention on upper floors
Location: Not a lot to do on the island, few nice spots but overall very disappointing - would not recommend
This is a real mixture and contradictory review, as it very much depends on your allocated room as to whether you would want to return - we most certainly do NOT. Our room did have a lovely sea view - but was right next to an upper car-park (where some guests and the courtesy bus was stationed) next to the very busy main road which the hotel sits on and the entrance door constantly left open - resulting in an EXTREMELY noisy room (right through to the early hours of the morning) coupled with the fact that we could not leave the window open which faced the sea as directly below was an air-conditioning unit which was very noisy from early morning to late evening - not the ideal room when you have come away from a busy London for a quite break!! We requested a move (which we offered to pay an upgrade for) but this was not forth coming until the 3rd day (during which time we had to live out of our suitcases) the alternative room was much lower down in the multilevel hotel which was dark and dingy and a great number of steep steps up to any other part of the hotel - we were given ear-plugs by another guest and suffered the rest of our holiday with the noisy - not acceptable. However if you had a nice room in the middle level of the hotel you would probably be very content. Snr reception staff unhelpful - ALL other staff exceptional!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southeea

Lovely hotel, great view, great pools.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We had a lovely week. The hotel was great, lots of steps but lovely views and it's a volcanic island!! Pools full of thermal water, beautiful gardens to visit. Beware the crazy busy busses!! Great way to explore the island of you don't mind playing sardines everytime you get on the bus!!! We took a trip around the island too in a small boat just 20ish people fabulous. Enjoy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Lovely hotel with excellent staff. Rooms were quite basic, but this was made up for by the spectacular view and everything else was of a high standard.
4 out of 5
by robin from christchurch dorset

italian island getaway

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
unfortunately this was a very old Italian hotel and refitted with modern cons.However there was no information about access,ferrys etc.Do not try and walk up the hill with a suitcase [22k] its over 800 mts.There should have been notification about a courtesy bus from the hotel [10.30.am] and returning at 19.40 from the port. There are no tea/coffee items in the rooms.Many add ons but pleasant staff,breakfast could be improved as its the same everyday.
4 out of 5
by Frank

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from u.k

Never a 4 star hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2015
All that this place offers of a 4 star quality is a price. Well over rated place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get the suite!

Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
Initially booked a superior room with a ocean view and a private balcony based on the pictures on hotel.com. The room we got had a view if you stood in a corner and didn't have a private balcony. Halfway through the stay the manager moved us to a junior suite and we loved this room. We might go back and if we do we'll be sure to book the suite which is very spacious, has a great balcony and amazing view. The staff is lovely but for someone from the US this hotel (along with others we have stayed at in Italy) feels a bit dated. The breakfast is wonderful, but the dinner at the hotel restaurant was awful, the worst we've ever had in Italy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Israel

Pleasant & Quiet Hotel with two pools

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Quiet, tranquil, serene
Cons: Service, remove extra costs
Location: About 15 minute walk from the harbor and town, but the way back uphill all the way. Not for the light hearted. One can take taxi - but expensive.
Pleasant experience, quiet and tranquil environment. Good for short term stays. 2 thermal Pools - one outside and one inside. The room features very simplistic. Don't expect anything posh. Not really professionaly run, and some things cost extra (i.e. the pool towels). About 15 minute walk fom hotel to town, but the way back is uphill all way. Not for the elderly or weak.