Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Friendly helpful staff. Nice location close to the museum quarter and Neubigasse.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good, not bad

Posted Oct 25, 2017 on Hotels
You get what you pay for... no parking, reception isn't available even during working hours... very old and smells like such. There is a coffee machine with no coffee packets in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful old Viennese apartment.

Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Wotif
Full of old world character and charm, we loved it, especially all the photographs and memorabilia on the walls, the old fashioned elevator and the beautiful roof top garden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Great apartment, spacious and warm welcome.

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Warm welcome, good location and great choice for breakfasts. Lovely characterful building.
Cons: Nothing to add.
Location: Easy walk to city centre with wide range of sights.
Thoroughly enjoyable week in Vienna with warm welcome, spacious apartment and great breakfast selection at Apathotel Rothensteiner. Easy walk to central sights, with so much to see and experience.
5 out of 5
by Dona

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Miranda

Comfortable, luxurious, affordable!

Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Hotels
Aparthotel Rothensteiner was a treat for our last night in Vienna! The hotel graciously let us check in early so we could spend our day exploring. Every amenity was thought of. The rooftop deck is beautiful! Aparthotel Rothensteiner is easily accessible by bus and tram, with U-bahn just a few minutes walk. It's walkable to the city center and main sights of Vienna. We almost didn't get breakfast included because it was a little pricey. However I must say that it was expansive and delicious. A very traditional Viennese breakfast, carefully prepared, and MORE than enough choices to satisfy any palate. We hope to be back soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
-Our room was non smoking and still smelled a lot like smoke. People were smoking in reception area and despite our room being on a non smoking floor a few flights above the reception, we were still able to smell the smoke in our floor and room. -Walls are extremely thin, one night we were not able to sleep due to the tv in the room next to us being on. The sound from the TV could be heard clearly through the wall. - After checkout and us returning our keys, we left our bags to pick up a couple hours later before our train. When we arrived back at the hotel there was a couple that had been waiting outside the hotel for over 15 minutes to check into the hotel. There was no response from the reception to buzz us into the building and no response to their listed phone number. We were stuck outside of the hotel and waited several minutes to be let back into the lobby, we almost missed our train. -The hotel was prompt about sending emails with details on checking in after hours and we had no problem. However be warned that they have very limited reception hours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, Scotland

A real taste of Vienna

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Lovely old-style apartment hotel - just like staying in a well-to-do friend's flat - large rooms, antique furniture everywhere and great neighbourhood. Ten minutes walk west of the inner ring where there are connections to tram and underground services, and bus stops just a few metres away. Lots of bars, restaurants and shops in neighbourhood. Interesting and eclectic spread of buffet breakfast items, and really helpful staff. We had a two bedroom apartment which was actually a lounge with two single beds, a very large double bedroom with sofas and lovely furniture, and a small kitchenette and bathroom. Only downside of that arrangement was that the bathroom was accessed from the bedroom via the lounge, which is fine for family occupancy but might be more awkward for couples sharing. Apartment was well equipped with cooking stuff, kettle, wifi, etc, and toasty warm even in February. I'd definitely stay there again. Fantastic value too.
5 out of 5
by Madhavi

Old Charm, Fully Equiped, Spacious Property

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
A great vintage hotel. Fully equipped and resourceful staff (Akki). We went during Christmas and it had a very festive and cozy feel to it. The hotel is very well kept has a interesting story behind it. Our apartment was spacious and well placed. They dont have many actual photos floating on internet, but they should upload them as the property is worth staying even at a slightly higher cost. We were sad to leave as it had become our home for 5 days. Great Job! Good Luck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Viennese Apartment-Style Room with Kitchenette

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing
Location: See above
Small apartment in a traditional Vienna building, with amble space and a small kitchen. The apartment-hotel has the sweeping stairs traditional in older Viennese multi-story residences, has a good elevator, and is nicely decorated. The reception was swift and informative. The location is within two-to-three blocks of street car and bus connections. It is near Neubaugasse, which has plenty of interesting stores, including those selling antiques and art. In all, I was pleased with the stay and it compares well with places I have stayed in Vienna during the past couple of decades.