Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Cozy, Can't beat the view, but dated...

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: The view and the proprietor were very welcoming.
Cons: Amenities are a little sparse, but in fairness, our visit was very short. The price was high but we told our to just enjoy the view and fresh air.
Location: A couple of good restaurants on the strip, as well as a Safeway, and Stateline is about a 15 minute drive.
I wish there was a way to communicate that our pets were coming on our visit through Expedia, but plan on calling the Holiday House directly to advise that your pet(s) are coming, if you choose to book through Expedia. Our host was very pleasant and welcoming, and it was almost as if she had invited us into her home. Plenty of local knowledge and ideas for "out of towners". The room that we stayed in had incredible views and was almost as if it was suspended over the Lake. The room was sufficient for what we needed, but don't expect much in the way of extravagancies. The room had a definite ‘70’s feel as if that had been the last time any updates had been made. The shower, however, was very good and didn’t lack for water pressure! Although dated The Holiday House was clean and homey.
4 out of 5
by Karen from Scottsdale

Lake Tahoe views!

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great lake views and outdoor chairs to enjoy the sights!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Affordable rooms close to the water, creaky walls

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: It had a usable kitchenette and wasn't too expensive.
Cons: Fix creaking walls. Fix oven door.
Location: Driving distance from ski resorts, the reason we stayed here
The room was large enough to fit everyone in our party. Our room was on the 1st floor. When guests on the 2nd floor walked around, our walls creaked and could also the foot steps of the upstairs guests. The kitchenette was stocked with enough plates and silverware, but the oven door didn't fully close so it took longer for food to cook since heat kept escaping. Probably best suited for college students on a budget just staying for a weekend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view, nice patio. I love the innkeeper/owner

Posted Sep 2, 2015
We loved the location. The view is amazing. The patio is relaxing. The innkeeper/owner is very sweet. Parking is easy.
5 out of 5
by Raymond from Pleasant Hill

Relaxed dog vacation

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
I love going to this hotel. My dogs are so relaxed here when I stay here which makes me relax too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Novato, CA

great view but needs to be updated

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Cons: The facility
The host/owner is wonderful... the scenery spectacular...the facility old. Because of all its good points I'd go back and stay again, but would really love it if it were updated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent lakefront location!

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Location: Laudromat right next to hotel, lots of restaurants but not all are dog friendly.
We just returned from a delightful 4 day, 3 night stay at Holiday House's suite#5. This particular suite is situation on the ground floor right in front of the lake! The patio between the suite and the beach was well appointed with comfortable seating and a BBQ grill. Alvina, the owner, was so very welcoming and gave us a quick tour of how to access the beach when we arrived. The suite itself was comfortable and clean. Yes, it did show its age but our delight at the location and Alvina's excellent customer service more than made up for that. There is a Murphy bed in the lounge area and a large queen sized bed in the bedroom. The kitchenette includes a fridge and gas stove as well as pots, pans, silverware, dish detergent, salt, pepper and cooking oil. The sink came with dish liquid and sponge for cleaning up and Alvina changed the towels every day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

It's all about the view.

Posted Jul 7, 2015
The view is spectacular. But the rooms were like you stepped back in time. Everything is functional but definitely should be in a museum. The location and staff were wonderful. Recommend if all you don't spend much time inside your room. And in Lake Tahoe you shouldn't be spending anytime in there at all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome Retreat

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
This is a quaint and beautiful place right on the lake. The owner added to our enjoyment of the lake because she is passionate about the spirit and beauty of this place. We couldn't get enough of the view from the double deck in front of all rooms. Right on the water from the north shore, sipping on a cold Pacifico, cool lake breeze and amazing views after a day of hiking... can't go wrong!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Appreciate that dogs are welcome. Good for winter sports as shuttle to skiing near. Right on beach for summer sports.