Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming but...

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Staff and for our needs, convenient.
Cons: As stated before, this hotel is over 100 years old...if you're looking for charming, you found it.
Location: Great area; lots of early California history; wineries, gambling.
Be sure to ask for a room with the bathroom in your room; a private bath is not necessarily in your room. Although we could open a window (no screen) you cannot control the temperature in your room. Bring your own hair dryer. But, if you're looking for charming this is your place and the food was very good in the restaurant and the staff is very nice and helpful. And, if you're looking for exercise, there is no elevator. You need to remember this hotel is over 100 years old -- hence "Historic" Hotel Leger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulare, CA

Priceless Memories

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: The quietness experienced on Monday Evening. Ideal fopr sleep.
Cons: I am an avid darts player every day and I occasionally enjoy billiards for recreational pursuits.
Location: Again you are not to far from Arnold and Angels Camp and Murphy's. The Starbuck's @ Valley Springs.
Upon receiving room confirmation I proceeded to walk around town. The nice stroll to your local cemetery was both refreshing and exhilarating from the fresh winter air, the hilly terrain and walk which strengthen my legs and overall tranquility and serene setting again con tribute to my priceless memory. Although I was alone without my wife I felt young again as I enjoyed your local area along with your fine food and great chef! Looking forward to another trip to Leger's as I am only four hours away.(Past visits) I love swimming at Mokelumne River in Summer and Walk through Murphy's.
4 out of 5
by Amanda

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
This is an old historic hotel. Not for everyone but if you want some Good Gold Rush Culture and a special experience these were our highlights: Creaky Wood Floors, Old Glass Windows Escapes, Large Shared Old West Balcony, Special Hidden spaces in the Basement, Pool & Garden Area. The local Dog is an old Yellow Lab named Boomer, he watches over the open deck of the public library where you can check on the old used books. There is a nice children's park next door to the library which is just a couple doors down from the hotel. Cute Shops, but they were close when we were there, so now we have to go back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic Hotel turned Nightclub

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
This historic hotel is off the beaten path, with not much going on around it. They have taken to put their effort into hosting night time music events at the hotel. I did not know this, so my weekend trip kept me up past midnight both nights with loud music.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, Rustic, Charming, and Delicious.

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
This is a very old hotel. The exterior wall of our room was made of stone and there were many interesting architectural features to the building. Most rooms share an unattached bathroom in the hall. Hotels.com listed our room (#9) as having a private bath when we booked, but that was not accurate. The floors creak and are not completely level which is okay because it adds to the ambiance of this historical old hotel. There are no phones or TVs in the rooms and there was only one outlet in ours. We had to unplug the lamp to charge our cell phones. There is wine tasting and a few unique shops all an easy walk down the street, although few were open on Sunday. The weather was cool and wet during our visit, but the pool and shady grounds would be nice when it's hot. The Whitewater Grill and Saloon downstairs is very good. We ate dinner and breakfast there and both were great. I was pleasantly surprised at the variety on the menu considering the remote and rural location. The saloon seems to be the social center of town and gets a fair number of local patrons on a regular basis. Calaveras County is home to many smaller wineries so this is a good place to stay for a wine tasting tour. It's an easy drive to the casino in Jackson, or to Angels Camp and Murphys. The staff was helpful, the building needed some cosmetic work (cracked tiles and grout, gaps between walls).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fair Oaks, ca

One stop shopping

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Not on our agenda this trip
We checked in on a last minute whim. What we found was an accommodating and friendly staff, comfortable rooms (be ready for the creaks and squeaks of an old structure), a fun bar and pretty decent food. Once we arrived, we never left the hotel, it had everything for our overnight adventure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old historic hotel in cute town

Posted Oct 3, 2016
The best thing Hotel Leger has going for it is, is the cute town it is located in - Mokelumne Hill in the Gold Country of California. The hotel is cute and quaint from the outside, our room, George's Room, was pleasingly furnished with antique furniture. The room was quite tiny, with not much room to move around the full size bed. The main drawback was the bathroom (although private) was across the hall! I did not realize this when I booked the room. In my opinion, the 2 rooms are in need of updating - water stained wallpaper and old rusty linoleum floor in bathroom. We had breakfast in the WhiteWater Grill which was basic but good. I suppose if you are looking for an authentic old time country hotel - this may be your place - but we will try some place different next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Highland,Ca

Hotel on a hill.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: the lobby
Cons: proper advertisement. List what is actual and let people really know what is offered.
No T.V. in the rooms, also no in-room bathrooms. None of this is included in the description of the hotel or rooms. They really need to include all of this. I understand that it was built in the 1800's but if you are not familiar with the area you can get lost. Also they do not offer a free breakfast. Just poor advertisement all the way around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Charleston SC

Old gold-country friendly hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Excellent restaurant Nice pool
Location: Wineries, Amador County museum with excellent exhibit about gold mining. Tour of one of the famous old mines -- no longer running.
Old gold-country means not fancy, a bit funky, not "cookie cutter". We had fresh bedding, a clean ( not fancy) bathroom, good light. Floors creak alot. The wall between our room and the next room was thin; we spoke with our fellow guest, and we all tried to be quiet. Very sunny, wonderful light in parlor, room. Really has the flavor of "old gold country". We have visited the area and its hotels for years. No buyer has upgraded hotel to "fancy". It is the genuine thing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe

Enjoyed the historic theme of this era

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Without argument, the staff refunded the second night of our reservation and we drove 3 hours to our home to get a good night of sleep.
Cons: Keep a staff member on site during the night to maintain order and decorum.
Location: Great wine tasting, good food, hiking and cave tours.
The history of this area in the 1850s is unique in the world, and staying at this hotel allows guests to imagine what life would be like in those times. One the plus side, the staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the place was clean and well-preserved. Unfortunately, the pool was not usable as we had hoped it would be, and it was not clear prior to our arrival that all rooms did not have a bathroom included. The most significant problem, however, was that no staff remained on premises during the night to enforce the guest rules ...rules such as no smoking, no noise after midnight, no using the community bathroom unless it was assigned to your specific guest room, etc.