Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An OK spot

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Since when did Super8 stop putting a fridge in the rooms? I was dissapointed. The door in the first room I had would not latch, but I was moved to another that functioned fine. The window style HVAC unit was pretty noisy, but the weather was such I didn't need it after the initial cool down. Nothing great, nothing horrible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montana

late night restful stop

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: location, value
Cons: a little protein on the breakfast menu
chose this hotel for it's location to break up a 1200 mile trip. Two adults and two teenaged boys. Room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: Price
Cons: Something to close off the space under the door to the room.
Location: Pioneer Auto Show (museum)
Easy to find - just off the highway. Easy check-in/out. Friendly night staff as well as morning staff. Our second floor odd numbered room faced a small grassy side yard and not the parking lot. Space under the door allowed the hallway light and hallway noise to enter the room. We kept the bathroom fan on to block the hallway noise when we went to bed. This is an older motel and the room and bathroom were small; yet, the pillow top bed made it worth it. Best night's sleep we've had in a motel. Breakfast was typical consisting of bread items (waffles, cinnamon rolls, etc.) juice, coffee, cereal, yogurt, fruit. We plan to stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from l

Last minute stay

Posted Oct 11, 2015
We were on our way to Rapid City and decided at the last minute to stay in Murdo. I booked the hotel from the car. The only thing was I forgot to check on the bed size before we got there. So it was a little small but that was my fault and not theirs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Davenport, Iowa

Definitely a Place to Forget

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: It was quiet.
Cons: Their staff needs training in Customer Service. Breakfast needs an upgrade and the dining area needs to be enlarged to accommodate more people.
Location: Murdo is the pits! There are only 2 bars, a gas station, and a Diner (next to the Super 8) for dinner. The diner is run down and the food was awful.
After driving 10 hours from Iowa, we were looking forward to a night's rest and a decent meal in Murdo. The desk clerk at Super 8 acted like we were an interruption (he was sitting at his desk watching either a TV or a laptop show and it looked like he had just finished his dinner). He checked us in and that was about all. No "Welcome to Murdo", nothing, so he could use a lesson in Customer Service. When we passed thru the lobby a few minutes later on our way to find a place to eat, another older couple had come in and was inquiring about a cup of coffee. He half-heartedly volunteered to make a fresh pot, sounding like he really didn't want to and hoping the couple would settle for the stuff that had probably been sitting there all day. Not a real go-gettter, that guy! He wore no name tag so I can't tell you his name or I would. As for the hotel itself, it was just ok. If all you want is a quiet place to sleep, so-so breakfast (by the way, they only have 3 tables to seat guests so half the people had to sit on a couch across from the front desk or stand to eat breakfast), and hotel staff who act like you're a pain, then the Murdo Super 8 is for you. We wouldn't stay again. The morning desk clerk (a young gal, again, no name tag) was more personable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just for sleep

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Cons: It had a terrible stale smoke smell.
This was a place to merely sleep as we traveled onward to our final destination. We were looking for something inexpensive and did not have overly high expectations but were taken aback by the overwhelming smell of stale smoke.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

August 2015 Hotel Stay

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Hotel rooms were clean and comfortable
Cons: Customer service could be a lot better with some of the employees.
The evening gentleman that checked us in was pleasant. The next morning we did not need housekeeping right away. Later when I asked, I was told by a lady that I am too late because all of the housekeepers went home for the day. She did not offer any help and did not want to offer any customer service at all UNTIL I asked her if I could get clean towels then she said I would need to bring my dirty ones to exchange for clean ones. The gentleman that came back in the evening (same one who checked me in) was very courteous and helpful. There was also a housekeeping lady upon checking out, that was very sweet and pleasant, she deserves a pat on the back along with the gentleman that checked me in. Hotel rooms were clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2015
It was exactly what I would have expected from a Super 8. Nothing fancy, but everything worked, as advertised.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Room we were assigned smelled like smoke, but the desk clerk quickly gave us another, which was fine
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Newer facility near Pioneer Auto Show

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Cons: The breakfast area needed a few more seats.
Location: Near Pioneer Auto Show and Rusty's Bar and Grill.
Staff was very helpful. Everything was clean. We were pleased with the continental breakfast provided.