Ratings based on 1,074 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Comfort During the Snow Storm

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: It was on the beach, it stayed warm, and the pizza from the bowling alley was actually pretty good.
Cons: The light fixtures and room amenities. Needs new carper on the outside. The exterior doors to the breezeway need to be sealed better - they had a heav
Location: Great location. Most things closed - off season. Had to travel to find places to eat.
I checked in on Tuesday (1/2) for a 2 night stay. The check in was easy. I wasn't overly impressed with the room. This just wasn't the same place I stayed at 2-1/2 years ago. The amenities are outdated. You can tell the wear on the room. It also wasn't as clean as it could have been. I did like the patio witht the ocean view. The room was comfortable during the snowstorm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Close to the beach and great on site family fun.

Posted Dec 25, 2017
The check in was pleasant..however the building has a damp and muggy odor and feel. The carpet in the room could have been vacuum some more. The bathtub drain was clogged which slowed the rotation of showers being taken with the family. However the room was spacious and laid out nice as far as privacy. Great ocean view. Great bowling, arcade and bar. Pools were nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from spartanburg sc

could have, and should have been a pleasant stay.

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: it was clean
Cons: the staff could make sure there are towels in the pool area, the staff could at least make an attempt to make sure kids had parental supervision
the trip started with a bang, we prepaid in full 2 weeks before trip, but then we got there only to find out we had to pay more to park! so much for paid in full! the room has been renovated and was nice and clean. went to the indoor pool area, no towels. that stayed the same for our entire stay, it was cold walking back and forth to front desk for towels! the usual rules for pool area were posted, but not even tried to enforce, so you had 1/2 dozen unsupervised kids running around jumping all around people and we were not the only ones upset. the friendly staff is there to take your money, after that you're own your own. so if you have a bunch of undisciplined kids you want to turn loose this is your place!! if you are wanting a peaceful resort that actually takes care of guests, and doesn't gouge you for more money after you already paid in full DO NOT STAY AT THIS MOTEL!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Week day, off season. Was able to check in early. Loved how close the beach access was & the numerous pools/hot tubs available. Room was clean & updated. Nothing over the top, but definitely nicer than others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by OTA Supervisor , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We hope that you come back and visit us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from In

Nice hotel on beach an close to the boardwalk

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Was awesome. Babies loved the pools. An the views from the restaraunt an the room was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by OTA Supervisor , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We hope that you can come back again and visit us in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh

Pictures and “remodeled” are misleading.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
By the pic you think this is a newly remodeled room that comes off as modern. The only thing new is the bed headboard and paint. Old furniture, smallest tv, old bath, shower so low I had to bend my knees to use ( I am 5’ 10’’. Very disappointing overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by OTA Supervisor , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Liked that it was near the beach and cool shops

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Room was really nice and near beach and nice shops my only real complaint was the staff wouldn’t really clean the room until we complained to the front desk every time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by OTA Supervisor , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Captains Quarters! We appreciate your review and feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Disappointing

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: The staff was very helpful and welcoming.
Cons: The paint job, the mold on the ceilings, the rust in the shower/tub.
Location: The location is so-so. I would not recommend walking the street after dark, though it is an easy walk to the Boardwalk. Putt putt nearby is fun!
The pictures on the website are so deceiving. We were wondering how all the hotels in this area were so inexpensive- including this one. Really, you get what you pay for. This hotel is run down. It smells like chlorine. The sinks are in the middle of the room. There was mold on the ceiling. I hate to be harsh, because the staff was very friendly. But I don't want others to be as surprised as we were to see the state of this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by OTA Supervisor , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Captains Quarters! We appreciate your feedback as this is what we use to make changes and improvements.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017
Thank you for your review we appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
The only problems I had were playing to park, $10. And several times the smell of marijuana was in the hall. I know they can't control what their guests do, but it was quite obvious where the smell was coming from.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by OTA Supervisor , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you give us a second chance in the future!