Ratings based on 496 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new Jersey

Fabulous garden like atmosphere..relaxing wonderfu

Posted Aug 28, 2016
I loved the relaxed atmosphere..we wanted to just relax and sunset at the palms was perfect!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Brilliant hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The laid back, relaxed but professional atmosphere and the treehouse style rooms in the beautiful grounds.
Cons: Need more shade on the beach as it gets very hot and only a few straw fixed umbrellas. Also need more seating/ bar stools at the beach bar.
Location: Location great in the center of Bloody Bay beach.
Sunset at the Palms is an absolutely lovely hotel with fantastic staff. We stayed there for our Pearl Anniversary and couldn't have found a better place to stay. The rooms are treehouse style on stilts and surrounded by trees and plants complete with tree frogs, humming birds, huge crabs and mongoose - sitting on your private balcony complete with a daybed you could imagine you were sitting in a rainforest. Some of the rooms have balconies which are on the pathways through the beautiful gardens but ours was tucked away so very private (room 704). The tree frogs are very loud at nighttime but the sound is very soothing and actually helped me to sleep. The gardeners are great and will talk to you about the plants and wildlife in the grounds, I was even given a bunch of freshly cut flowers on my first morning. You will also see the Chef out in the gardens collecting things for the kitchen. All the staff are very friendly and love to chat to the guests which makes it a very relaxed atmosphere while still very professional. The food was lovely and was different every night in the buffet restaurant for the whole two week holiday - have never known this anywhere else. The beach is beautiful and the hotel is situated in a perfect position in the middle of the bay. There are plenty of sun loungers, a snack bar with delicious Cajun Red Snapper and Jerk Chicken. Thank you to Collington, Cornelious, the gardeners who loved to chat, and all the staff for making our holiday so special.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ROBBED ON THE SECOND DAY OF VACATION

Posted Aug 19, 2016
i have been to sunset at the palms 3 times. i have usually had the most pleasant experience up until this year. My room was broken into and many valuable things were stolen, most importantly our cell phones. the resort staff attempted to cover up what happened and tried to place blame on us. unfortunately 4 other rooms were also robbed the same night. when we attempted to report it to security and staff they brushed us off and struck a deal with the local police to stop the investigation,which further supported the theory that this was an inside job. it is quite scary to spend the rest of your vacation in a place where you do not know who to trust. we had trouble sleeping, afraid someone could break in at any time and attack us. we were never reimbursed or even comped for our troubles and did not have any phone or adequate internet service supplied to us. it made our vacation a living nitemare. i have come to terms with the fact that our missing items will never be replaced. i just want to be able to spare atleast one couple with the same experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best resort on west side of island

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Very surprising to find such a well kept, clean, and personal experience in Jamaica. This is one of them. The staff is helping make your vacation perfect from the second you get off the bus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Beautiful hotel, accommodating to couples. Relaxin

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The hotel has Wifi and Air conditioning. Felt good coming back to a cool room after an afternoon at the beach. A beautiful walk back to the room.
Location: Rick's Cafe a great chill spot. Chukka is another place I recommend to go on horseback and dune buggy. You have to visit YS Falls and Dunns River.
We went to Sunset at the Palms in Negril, Jamaica and it was the best experience ever.We did our research before we went, but once we got there it was much more than expected. You have to see actually see this place and you'll fall in love. We decided to go here to celebrate our one year anniversary. My wife and I loved it so much. When we got there they welcomed us with a beverage. We walked to our room through a garden path. It was very natural and beautiful. We loved the walk to the private beach. Also if you feel thirsty they will bring a beverage for you. They have many attractions you can go to. We met Lolita, who was an incredible help when choosing which attraction to go to. The hotel provides transportation to different attraction, so speak to Lolita about this. We met St. Claire who drove us to different attractions. He was very nice and shared many facts and information about the different places in Jamaica. We recommend going to Rick's Cafe a great chill spot. Chukka is another place I recommend to go on horseback and dune buggy. It was so much fun. You have to visit YS Falls, a river with many waterfalls and very beautiful. Dinner was also amazing and take advantage of the reserved dinners, which are very romantic. We meet Cornelius who was very attentive during dinners. He is amazing and very nice. Sadly we hadto return, but the experience was so amazing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Serenity on the beach!!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
This was our first trip to Sunset at the Palms. Upon arriving there we were blown away with the friendliness of the staff and the Beautiful Serene jungle-like surroundings throughout the hotel. The tree houses are so unique and private you sometimes felt like you were the only couple around. It is definitely a quieter Resort but that is what we wanted. We loved having the whole pool to ourselves at 10 a.m. the beach was an easy walk from the front entrance of the hotel and was never crowded. We were able to get drinks and food there and enjoy the turquoise blue water all day. All of the food at the resort for breakfast lunch or dinner was delicious and unique. Each night they had a themed dinner always with a Jamaican twist thrown in. We did bring bug spray from other reviews we had read but we did not experience any bug issues during our stay at all.. We will definitely be coming back again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monclova, OH

Lovely and romantic

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Rooms were unique, food very good, relaxed, adult atmosphere
Cons: Nothing
Location: Ricks Cafe-and lots of other opportunities for excursions outside of the resort if you choose
We just returned from Sunset at the Palms Resort after staying for 1 week for our 20th wedding anniversary. Our stay was everything we hoped. The rooms are unique and private. The food is very good. They beach and beach bar and grill did not disappoint. The hotel was mostly couples, as expected. The other guests were very friendly, and, although we were there to spend time with each other, we had a great time socializing with other guests of all ages. I highly recommend this hotel for an adult get away in paradise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small resort with personal attention

Posted Aug 15, 2016
This resort was a nice change of pace from overcrowded chain hotels. Quaint treehouses felt very private. Staff was very helpful and attentive, and the facilities were never crowded. We went for our 4th anniversary and would definitely go back. If you book, ask for a Room near the back away from nightly music.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very clean

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Nice country nice peapole very charming and amazing place to visit
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Awesome Experience! I have already bragged about the cleanliness of the hotel and friendliness of the staff. I can't wait to go back again!!