Ratings based on 2,492 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel though street scruffy and outside poor.

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Hotel itself well services though dated. The staff were always really pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Close proximity to all we wanted to do.

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Comfortable, clean, and well located.
Cons: Nothing i can think of.
Location: Everything was easily accessible.
Absolutely the perfect location. Staff friendly, helpful and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Excellent customer service!

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: The price for the room was great, the room was spotless, and although the room was small it had an intelligent layout so I didn't feel cramped.
Location: It's right around the corner from Penn Station/Madison Square Garden so it's great for business travel.
My DoubleTree experience in NYC was a pleasure. I only stayed a night and I interfaced with several staff members. Each and every one of them was incredibly kind and helpful - from the front desk staff to the concierge to the bell captain to the switchboard operator! I also really appreciated that when I checked out to return home, they asked me if I needed a bottle of water (and a cookie) for my trip back. What a thoughtful touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015
When we go to NYC we never do much but sleep in our hotel. The beds were clean, the room was quiet, and the ac worked. We've stayed here twice, good location and delicious cookies and water. Elevators are slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Jewel in Chelsea

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Super helpful and congenial staff. Very welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

centrally located Hotel with friendly Staff

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff - everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful.
Cons: One of the elevators was a bit temperamental, it required the door to be pushed closed before it would move floors.
we spent 4 nights here recently and enjoyed our stay. The staff were helpful and friendly and made our Manhattan experience even better. The hotel is centrally located within walking distance of the subway and only 10 minutes from the Empire State Building. I would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Not Bad for NYC

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: The cookies
Cons: Complimentary water bottle in the room will be nice
Location: Times Square, Madison Square Gardens, Penn Station
Location was okay, can walk to Times Square, a few block from Madison Square Garden but a bit dark and dodgy at night. Upon arrival they gave us a delicious cookie but they didn’t give us complimentary bottle of water in our room like most hotels. Room is okay, small but clean with comfortable bed. Waited 15 minutes for elevator in the morning since they only have two. Will I be back to stay in this hotel during my next visit to NYC? That I don’t know, I might try elsewhere. Overall this hotel is not bad at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stony Brook, Long Island

Comfortable hotel, convenient location

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: The rooms need refurbishing. Would be good if they provided bathrobes too.
Location: Lots of eating places and bars nearby. Close enough to Penn Station and MSG.
Check in and check out were a breeze. Staff were friendly and courteous. The welcome cookies were good too. I was a little disappointed with the room, though. Felt like i had stepped back a decade or so. The room decor and carpeting were tired looking and outdated. Not quite what i expected for a Hilton. I've stayed at other doubletrees outside the US and found them to be much brighter and modern. Not quite sure it deserves the 4 star rating. On a positive note, the bed was very comfortable, though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

drunk & smashing noise

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: sound proofing of entry door. People talking outside in hall sounded like in the room
little sound proofing, had to call front desk at 2:30 am & I double locked door. room 403 next door cursing ,screaming smashing type noise. Room shook. Have stayed other DoubleTree hotels, I expected small clean which we got, not poor quality
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

bien placé

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: emplacement
tres bien placé,personnel à l écoute de nos demandes. confotable ,avons utilisè le bussines center. tout petit hall et restaurant de quelques tables. peut être juste pour un 4* en terme de prestations et donc pas donné au niveau tarif .mais globalement content de notre séjour