Ratings based on 1,062 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was nice and clean and i would come back again

Posted Feb 17, 2017
It was excellent and the stuff was polites he explain all the detail and I would definitely recommend it to all my friends
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Benjamin, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Gem Hotel-Chelsea. Thanks for providing feedback from your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when in NYC!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Had a great stay! Original room we came in had a bit of a loud heating unit, so we got switched to a bigger less noisy room. The stay was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Staffs were very nice and helpful. The room was small, but very clean and bathroom was good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guelph, Ontario

Good location in Chelsea

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: the heating
Location: The hotel is in a great location, lots of good eateries close by and close to the gallery district.
We have stayed at the Gem before and enjoyed ourselves however this time it wasn't so. There was no heat in our room and it was minus 2 degrees, there were also no extra blankets. We had a miserable evening to say the least, and I hope this doesn't happen to anyone else. The hotel is in a great location, lots of good eateries close by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from rio de janeiro, Brazil

One week in Chelsea

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Elevator and friendly staff. The room had no fridge, but we could get one after asking the reception.
Cons: Small room, no view, no breakfast. It is overpriced for the facilities. Probably the prices can even rise, due to the ban on AirBnb by the New York administration, destroying the last hope of fair market competition.
Location: For us the choice of Chelsea was the array of art galleries between 10th and 11th ave. There is also the Italian food store "Eataly" 23th and 5th.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Rooms are way too small and very basic

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Rooms are way too small and basic compared to other hotels in manhattan in the same rating and price category. I am not sure why other guests have rated this hotel a 4. I have stayed in several hotels in Manhattan and rooms are usually larger and have better amenities than this one.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BEWARE OF POTENTIAL BEDBUGS!

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
The worst hotel in manhattan - beware of potential bedbugs!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hudson Valley NY

pretty good, decent price

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Convenient location for where I was visiting, friendly staff.
Cons: Decor inside the hallways is super dark. I know this is personal preference but I personally like a hotel to feel more homey.
Only thing I found odd was there were no microwave, but maybe that's a NYC thing. This was the first time i ever experienced that and also the first time I have stood in NYC so not to sure. Room could be a little cleaner cups weren't very clean and bathroom could be better. The staff was very polite, check-in and check-out was super fast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, clean hotel with excellent staff

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastically convenient location for my purposes with its access to all of Chelsea. Room is a bit noisy from outside sound intruding during the day but experienced no issues from noise from other rooms. My room, located down a relatively narrow, dark passage on the 2nd floor, with its queen-sized bed, was not huge but certainly adequate and comfortable for lodging. The helpfulness of the staff, though, is what makes this hotel more than worth its price