Ratings based on 982 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aabenraa, Danmar

Fint hotel, centralt placeret på livlige 8th av.

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: Personlig og meget hjælpsom service. Fik hjælp til indtjekning og kontakt til New York opera vedr. billetter.
Cons: Nu var jeg jo på hotellet mens byen oplevede en af sine værste snestorme, så jeg manglede opholdsrum ud over lobbyen, hvor man kunne opholde sige.
Location: Beliggenhed er meget central. Man kan gå til mange af de mest kendte steder i byen. Metroen befinder sig 1 blok væk.
Mit værelse lå på 5. sal med udsigt til Empire State Building. Hotellet er forholdsvis lille og værelset var heller ikke stort, men tilstrækkelig. Badeværelset får topkarakter. Værelset blev gjort sent i stand - nogle dage først ved 16 - 17 tiden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Excellent location, lots of local walkable things to do and restaurants. The staff were incredibly helpful when we had problems and always polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2016
The stay at GEM was a very good experience. Hotel staff was courteous, thoughtful and accommodating. The room was cozy, clean and comfortable. The Chelsea location was great. Would stay at GEM again next time in NYC...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelente ubicacion

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Es un hotel muy bonito y agradable, las habitaciones si estan muy muy pequeñas. No puedes ni guardar las maletas ni tu ropa. De ahi en mas todo esta muy bien.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Dec 27, 2015
They have what you expect a good hotel should have. We have a balcony! Love the view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay at the GEM Chelsea

Posted Dec 18, 2015
My mum and I had a fabulous stay at the GEM Chelsea last week. The hotel rooms are small, but in line with NYC standards for this grade of hotel. It was well located, clean and offered good value for money. The rooftop terrace with a view of empire state building was fantastic for a sundowner, and during happy hour, it made that wine an absolute steal! The staff however are the hotels biggest asset - very friendly and happy to recommend places around the area and let you in on their little slice of New York. In particular, I would like to mention Javier who recommended bakeries, restaurants and Christmas Markets for us to explore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Great spot in the perfect location. Modern decor, great rooftop terrace and bar downstairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Great helpful staff. Fantastic remodel of lobby and addition of bar amenity
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very helpful, friendly staff

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: The hotel is conveniently positioned in Chelsea
Cons: To say the room was small is an understatement. There was no floor space to put our cases and we shuffled around our room.
Trip to New York with my husband. The staff are very friendly and exceeded our expectations, nothing was too much trouble for them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Great hotel in a great neighborhood!

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Everything except the street noise. User-friendly bathroom.
Cons: Do not charge $2.00/day for room safe unless it is used.
Location: Near 2 subway lines and Fashion Institute of Fashion, lots of choices for restaurants, art galleries, art supply stores.
Great hotel in a neighborhood full of a wide variety of restaurants, art supply stores, etc. Also close to art galleries, F.I.T., 2 subway lines. Staff respected my request NOT to have housekeeping during my week there. Never had to wait for the elevator. Only drawback was the noise from the street which the hotel cannot control.