Ratings based on 1,044 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Goede Locatie, kleine kamers

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Locatie, netjes.
Hotel voor onze vakantie geboekt met name om de ligging in een leuke wijk. De kamers zijn niet bepaald groot maar aangezien wij daar toch niet veel waren geen problem voor ons. Ontbijt bij de Foragers Market naast de deur en Citi-Bike fietsen tegenover de deur. Verder is het centrum van New York op loop afstand. Al met al zouden wij zo nog een keer dit hotel boeken..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rio de janeiro, Brazil

One week in Chelsea

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Elevator and friendly staff. The room had no fridge, but we could get one after asking the reception.
Cons: Small room, no view, no breakfast. It is overpriced for the facilities. Probably the prices can even rise, due to the ban on AirBnb by the New York administration, destroying the last hope of fair market competition.
Location: For us the choice of Chelsea was the array of art galleries between 10th and 11th ave. There is also the Italian food store "Eataly" 23th and 5th.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Rooms are way too small and very basic

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Rooms are way too small and basic compared to other hotels in manhattan in the same rating and price category. I am not sure why other guests have rated this hotel a 4. I have stayed in several hotels in Manhattan and rooms are usually larger and have better amenities than this one.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hudson Valley NY

pretty good, decent price

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Convenient location for where I was visiting, friendly staff.
Cons: Decor inside the hallways is super dark. I know this is personal preference but I personally like a hotel to feel more homey.
Only thing I found odd was there were no microwave, but maybe that's a NYC thing. This was the first time i ever experienced that and also the first time I have stood in NYC so not to sure. Room could be a little cleaner cups weren't very clean and bathroom could be better. The staff was very polite, check-in and check-out was super fast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little Gem

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Spent 5 nights at The Gem. Loved the location. Yes it is right on 8th Ave so there is noise but we didn't go to NY for the tranquility. We couldn't believe how friendly the neighbourhood was. After two days store and deli owners were greeting us like locals. The room has everything you need and nothing you don't. Room for two large suitcases and storage also ( unlike many Manhattan hotels). It is small but well designed so not cramped. Bathroom clean and modern. Bed super comfy. Staff were friendly and helpful. We'll be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and the staff is very accommadating

Posted Oct 23, 2016
I've stayed at the Gem several times and they were nothing but gracious.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United States of America

Sheets Had Blood On Them

Posted Oct 20, 2016
The staff was friendly and helpful however everyone above the staff including the general manager and the hotel manager were of no use. We had the unfortunate experience of sleeping in blood stained sheets. There were spots where there was blood that was fresh and there were also spots where there had been blood that was washed both the comforter and the sheets were tucked at the top of the bed to conceal the fact that they had blood on them. When the sheets were pulled off, we discovered three more unidentifiable yellowish stains and three blood-like stains on the wall. We got the staff involved and they were very apologetic and helpful and equally baffled. However when trying to get our money back, the general manager and hotel manager did not make it a priority to get back with us. They never made it a priority to speak with us in person. They actively avoided us and played the run around all day long for 2 days until our stay was over and had no sense of urgency for a situation so disgusting. They only insisted on an "upgrade" to a room of the same size, which we weren't interested in. It's disturbing to me that managers of the hospitality industry would not take such a horific situation more seriously. If there's any reason to get your money back at a hotel I would think sleeping in blood-stained sheets would be at the absolute top of the list.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but over-priced hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Lower price to fit room comfort.
Location: Great restaurants nearby.
Rooms are extremely small and uncomfortably tight. I will not stay here again for this price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duluth

Nice Place to Stay

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great location and friendly staff. The room decor is becoming worn and dated and the hallways are too dark.
4 out of 5
by Leslie k

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels