Ratings based on 2,270 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ithaca ny

good enough for our needs

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: cozy and clean. love the wall paper
Cons: have the rooms ready when ppl arrive. get a sign outside to let ppl know that's the place.
Location: lots of eateries shopping and times square isn't far
my friend and i were only staying in NYC for a few days to do an independent tour (no bus tours ect.). we only needed a place to sleep, which this hotel sufficiently provided. first thing i got to say is this is the Gallivant, not the wyndham whatever listed. the name was changed but i guess not everything is updated to reflect this? there is no sign outside the hotel with the name either... the room is comfy with nice decor. you get a functioning TV and cozy bed. the room is very small though fyi. read the reviews before staying and some of the complaints are true. the staff is nice but our room was not ready when we arrived. we came hours after check in too. the staff didn't bother to explain anything, they just followed us as we entered our room and started to fiddle with things, while we unpacked. found that to be a litl upsetting. the shower only has a half wall of glass which does not keep the water in. definitely ask for extra towels. i don;t know about the breakfast not being free? we just went to mcd's down the street. some ppl complained about the noise pollution. we didn't experience that fortunately. only heard it if you open the windows. lastly, felt the price was a little high consider what you get, but it seems most hotels in NYC are that way. overall the place was nice, clean, and worked for what we needed it for. would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

perfect location

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Great service, recently got engaged during our stay the staff were amazing and the rooms were beautiful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Small but clean room, very good experience. Held bags after we checked out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful Hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2016
This hotel was not worth what I paid. The hotel staff completely ignored us. They watched you open the door and struggle to bring in luggage. Two of the three elevators were broken , or not running consistently. Our room was not cleaned well. The floors were dirty, the sheets and towels were dingy and rough. The shower curtain smelled like a wet, sour rag. The shower floor was uneven and the drain backed up so you were standing in two inches of water while showering. The air conditioning unit made clanging noises all night long. There is a fire station close to the hotel, so you hear at least two fire calls each night. The lighting in the room is terrible. The bathroom has no space for getting ready, no counter at all. The hotel was sold from the time I booked the reservation to the time we travelled. There was no sign on the hotel to identify it. I would not recommend this hotel. While the location is right in the theater district, the negatives far outweigh this good point.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McKinney, TX

Clean, modern hotel near Times Square

Posted Jun 6, 2016
The hotel was much nicer than we expected considering the reasonable price. Located only 2 blocks from the subway, 4 blocks from Times Square, and 10 blocks from Central Park, this is the perfect place to stay. The room was very clean and the hotel staff were very accommodating when we had questions. We would absolutely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bra beliggenhet:) Små rom og veldig lita seng:(

Posted May 14, 2016
Bra beliggenhet:) Små rom og ingen kjøleskap/minibar. Dobbeltseng er = 1.20 seng. Veldig lite bad og dårlig lys.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winston Salem NC

The hotel was just the right size for the two of u

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: The style and customer service
Location: right in the middle of everything. great location
Had a great time. I really liked the fact that the hotel would hold your bags for you after you have checked out.
3 out of 5
by Emily from Newton, MA

Great location, tiny room

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was in a perfect location in Times Square. The lobby is lovely. We pulled up to the Valet Parking sign, but could find no valet. I finally went inside the hotel to find someone to park our car. The folks at the front desk and the concierge were not particularly welcoming or helpful, but they weren't rude either. Our room (queen room for 2 people) was the tiniest I have ever seen in NYC. It was very pretty, but we were always getting in each other's way. We could not fully open the closet door because it would hit the bed. The full-length mirror was inside the closet door, so we could not use it. The bathroom had extremely dim lighting. I found it impossible to properly apply my makeup in the bathroom, without knowing for sure if I wound up looking like a lunatic. I had to turn on a lamp next to the window in the bedroom, open the shade, and use a hand-held mirror. A bathroom should have enough lighting to apply makeup. The shower was large and luxurious. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, though my husband found it to be shorter than our queen bed at home. If the room hadn't been so tiny and the bathroom so dim, the hotel would have gotten a much better rating.
3 out of 5
by Rodolfo A from ciudad de mexico

Gran ubicación, buen hotel, personal mal educado

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Excelente ubicación, buen estado del hotel, pero el personal es poco amable, sin interés por dar un buen servicio
5 out of 5
by Michelle from Stoneham MA

Great hotel & location

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the service, room size, and location of hotel!