Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

everything counts

Posted Jan 15, 2017
The person who checked me in was not cordial he was very cold especially when I asked him about increasing a night stay. He was cold and his answer I was not welcoming. He should do a better job as he is the first Experience for the hotel. Had it not been for him, I would've rated this all fours
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel close to Times Square Lobby very nice

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Very nice welcome Got our room right away even though we got there at 12 (3 hours before check in time) Rooms were just cozy enough No bathtubs though but not a deal breaker You have to pay for luggage storage after check out though 2$ per luggage That never happened to me before in a hotel I found it odd but it was indicated on the paper will all information about the hotel, facilities and wifi upon arrival
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: great experience, friendly staff clean room
Cons: elevators
Location: Times Square, a great Italian restaurant across the street.
loved the hotel, elevators are a bit small and slow- plan ahead. The staff was great, the room was small but adequate and clean. would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York-Times Square

Nice hotel. Perfect location

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Hotel was great. Location was awesome. Really the only problem I had was the heat not working in room. Also for breakfast there is a Chinese restaurant attached to the hotel. The staff to that restaurant were not kind at all and their service was terrible. Breakfast definitely overpriced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Times Square and 1 train

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Room was small but clean. No frills hotel but was livable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location to Times Square but has its flaws

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Great location to Times Square and within walking distance to most attractions. However, staff were very rude and unapproachable. The rooms were quite small but clean. Not the nicest hotel but has everything you need.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Theatet District

Posted Jan 3, 2017
LOBBY is very small. Entire hotel was entirely too hot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Great hotel for a large family like ours. The family room fit all of us comfortably and the size was much larger than we expected. Other than that not much else to review good or bad. Staff was fine, nothing impressionable. Reasonably clean. Windows in room were very dirty and no screens in them, scary to say the least. Overall, i would stay here again due to the size of family rooms as well as location. Otherwise I'd give the hotel a fair review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from From California

Close to Time Square

Posted Dec 21, 2016
I had a good experience with the Gallivant Hotel. Comfortable beds, big bathroom, hot shower water. Could have been a little more attention to detail as far as sweeping under the beds and bathroom floor but not too bad. It's close to subway stations and plenty of shops, food and entertainment. I would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Great location but rooms need improving

Posted Dec 14, 2016
We stayed here 5th - 11th December. Positives: We stayed on the 3rd floor front facing (city view) deluxe room. This was a decent sized room to what we were expecting as other reviews commented on the lack of space. The hotel's location is hard to beat. Within 50metre walk you're at the Hershey's and M&M chocolate stores with the centre of Times Square just 200 metres away. Room came with an extension lead with a UK plug socket and USB ports. Negatives: Due to the high raised buildings around, only limited sunlight entered through a large and rather dirty window. As the room was a dull grey colour, it was often very dark unless every light was turned on (see photo). Being December and the temperature close to freezing, the room often stayed cold as the old-fashioned window provided little to no insulation and caused a draught. The noise at night was no different to the day with continuous horn beeps, sirens and rubbish collection vehicles. It felt as though there was a gap between the upper and lower window panes as we could hear everything outside clearly as if we were stood in the street. The radiator only seemed to blow cold air even when at the highest temperature (Possibly solved if we complained). The hotel flags were outside our window and were held down with metal cables. It was often very windy and so the cables rattled and knocked all day. Again due to the windows we could hear this perfectly all night long.