Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by ann from Cambridgeshire

good all rounder

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel, friendly staff and a big, clean, spacious room with a great shower. Excellent location - Pickering is a lovely small town with good pubs and restaurants (we especially liked the Willowgate Bistro). Dinner on our first night was nice but we found breakfast a bit hit and miss - great full english but limited choice for vegetarians.
5 out of 5
by christopher from London

White Swan Inn Pickering

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Situated in a nice village with a steam railway. Hotel serves excellent food for dinner and breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Good hotel in the centre of Pickering.

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Had a large bedroom and sitting room with good views to the front and rear. Very large and comfortable bed and nice furnishings. Food in hotel excellent quality both breakfast and dinner. Friendly, helpful staff. Hotel very close to station for North Yorkshire Moors Railway to Whitby. We had a lovely day out.
5 out of 5
by Theresa from Radwell, Bedforshire

While Swan in Pickering - weekend stay

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel and the staff were absolutely fantastic. The food was superb - lovely breakfasts and the evening meals really lovely too. We stayed in room 6 and our friends in room 1. There was some street noise in room 1 but our friends used ear plugs and the great hotel and the lovely market town that it was situated in made up for this.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stay, had everything I needed.

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was lovely, had everything I needed. Very comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coventry

A lovely, comfortable Inn in a delightful position

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Location Atmosphere Staff Wines Food Sitting rooms Accommodation
Cons: Very little
Location: Pickering is a delightful N Yorkshire town, the jewel in its crown is the railway in my opinion but there are many things to see and do in the area.
This Inn/ Hotel is an absolute delight. We spent a weekend at the White Swan and could not have had a better experience.The buildings are old [ in the main part] but are superbly looked after and fitted out. Our room [12] was large and had a super bed - some 8 ft wide. There was a really good tea and coffee facility on a pull out tray - these little things make such a difference - and the radiators [ with thermostatic valves] were large enough for the cool weather. The bathroom was well fitted out and pleasant to use. The staff were excellent. The hotel was quite busy on the Saturday night but we had service from the staff which is by far the best and most efficient that I have had the pleasure of experiencing in all my years of visiting hotels. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was super - and the wine list was long and of quality.
4 out of 5
by Sue T from Devon

3 night stay

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels
Good service, lovely room in the 'stables', very comfy bed. Instead of complimentary dressing gowns, should have had slippers - slate floors very cold on the feet! Problem with flies in the bar and small lounge was off-putting. Hotel.com price was £31 per night more expensive than the actual rate at the hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Very central

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The situation was good
Cons: A bit more attention to detail in the rooms would be good. The menu should be reviewed. A designated smoking area away from the bedroom windows.
Location: Pickering is a great base from which to explore this area of Yorkshire.
This is a typical village pub/hotel in the centre of the town. The rooms are comfortable, but there was no light anywhere near the dressing table in my room (2) and unfortunately the cigarette smoke from those smoking in the lane outside drifts directly up into the rear rooms of the hotel. The dining room menu reads well, but the food was slightly disappointing. Overall I felt that the room and meal were a bit over priced.
4 out of 5
by Julie from Hull

Very pleasant stay

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Very helpful, chatty staff. Excellent meal enjoyed in the restaurant, very good range of wine.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect for access to the North York Moors Railway
From booking in to checking out, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had only a couple of small issues but these were more to do with our penchant for early rising. There didn't seem to be any hot water at around 6am and we would have liked breakfast to be served from 7am, but again this is only down to our personal preference.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels