Ratings based on 1,046 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Staff lied to me.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: It had a bed.
Cons: Better cookie.
Location: nice.
The staff would not let me lenghten my stay at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Great hotel by the beach.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
It was a great stay overall. The staff were very nice and welcoming. The room was clean and comfy. I would love to come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super noisey trains

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Trains throughout entire day and early mornings. Room ascoutic not good. You hear everything hall and neighbor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cave Creek AZ

Doheney retreat

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Couch
Location: Turks close by, nuf sed.
Check in was seamless and the staff was nice, gave us cookies/water. Valet allowed me to park my '49 Merc in a safe spot. Room with the ocean view was lovely, staff helped us out with wine opening and was very courteous. Only complaint was the couch in the living room was not that comfy, cushions constantly moving. Overall very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
It was great apart from staff who thought I didn't have a room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not like the usual double tree -mo separate room

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel appeared at first to be a great property. Excellent valet service and front desk service. Our only issues were the giant puddles in the lobby from the leaking roof. The Suite is not really a suite with a separate door. It was a giant room . This made it alittle hard to keep the tv on when you have little ones. This was unlike any doubletrees we have ever stayed in. There was no microwave for heating up anything either. Gym and pool were great. The room were well maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Big Bear City, CA

We had a great stay!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: This hotel worked out perfectly for us. We were in Dana Point for a musical concert on the beach. We were able to walk back and forth quite easily. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We really loved the cookies.
Cons: bathrooms are a bit small. vanity should be bigger for toiletries
Location: Great location. Near beach, concert venue, amenities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Came to Dana Point for the Driftwood festival. The hotel is in the perfect location. Offered to hold our bags since we got there too early. Worked out great!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Odd and Isolated Location, Terrible food service

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Considering the odd (and dangerous to get out of on foot) location of this hotel, you need to be so much better about feeding your guests!! Both times we attempted to eat at this hotel were a total failure. The night of our stay (with 2 small children in tow), we ordered dinner on the roof, and didn't get served until 1 hour and 40 minutes of sitting there and we only got food after we started complaining. I asked a bartender for some bread and he never even brought that! when they finally brought the food, the steak was overcooked and hard, the fish was overcooked and tasted like wedding food...just terrible. At this point, it was 7:40 and we had to walk 20 minutes to the marina with 2 kids under 10 years old, to get a pizza at the pizzeria in the marina. The next morning, we called in for breakfast. first, my call was sent to a voicemail that was full, then i called back reception and was sent to the room service line. They put me on hold and didn't come back on the line for 12 minutes. i hung up and found a bagel place in town and had to drive 10 minutes each way to get breakfast for my husband and kids. who cares about the rest of the hotel?? i can't get past how impossible it was to feed myself and my young family there!!