Ratings based on 1,010 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A short walk to the beach.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Appears to have been recently renovated. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

A Hotel Just Across Doheney Beach (Dana Point)

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to the beach
Cons: Hallways leading to the suites are dated and uninviting not to mention the lingering funny smell. Rust along caulking in bathroom tub!
Location: Finding the road to enter into the hotel is very misleading especially at night. Hotel signs should be put up as GPS cannot figure it out
Being new around the area, my experience finding the entrance to the hotel was a nightmare as there were no street signs to earmark the road to take beside the highway specially those arriving at night. It took me another 30 minutes of driving around highway exits to figure out what the GPS couldn't. There is ample parking underground and it was ok but elevator leading to the hotel needs improvement as well as the smelly elevator and it's hallways leading to the guest rooms. Front Desk people answering calls from rooms are a little bit rude. As a guest, i do not appreciate hearing the phone receiver being slammed on my ear after a phone conversation with me asking for assistance. i would like to commend the in-house restaurant servers. Their customer service is dynamite and Erin, the front desk manager who helped me print out my boarding pass. The warm chocolate cookie offering to arriving guest is great. But I sure wish there was a complimentary water bottle offering to accompany the cookies. Overall, the location is not bad but would have been better if it is mentioned that the hotel is beside the train track which the noise I have to bear every night when the train passes by. i guess the amenity of being just across the beach offsets this left out detail. For guests who will be out of their suites all day and night enjoying the nearby beaches, this hotel is good but not for guest on business. Hotel Restaurant Food has limited choices but great!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great location and close to the beach. Nice staff.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Good experience. My family enjoyed our stay. Good experience. My family enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Great hotel, close to everything

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Hotel was located to most things you want to do while visiting Dana Pointe, the staff is friendly and the upstairs bar had great staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location close to freeway, harbor, shopping

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The location is good.
Cons: The bathrooms need renovation. The sitting room is 0k but if someone is watching tv in there another person could not sleep in the bed area, no door.
Location: This is the best part of the hotel. Close to freeway, harbor, shops, dining, beach.
We have stayed at this hotel before during renovations. We thought that the renovations were completed the hotel would be better suited for us. Not the case. The bathrooms are actually a liability waiting to happen. The shower doors open the wrong way potential hazard. The large bowl sinks are great to look at but not so practical unless you are tall. My aunt needed a step stool plus there is no place to set anything down. I had to put my dopp kit on the toilet. The shampoo provided was half empty not enough left in the bottle to shampoo. All in all we were disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Seemed nice. Room in disrepair especially the bat

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Maintenance of rooms
Location: All good
The room was clearly used and there were. Number of things wrong in the bathroom like broken shower door, fan, missing hair dryer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary AB CA


Posted Aug 11, 2016
Cons: Reduce parking free internet and front desk staff more helpful.
Room was comfortable but the sofa was quite dirty. The patio only being open for a short time is the evening and not available for the day. Valet staffing was fabulous but paying 22/day for parking is excessive. 12.95/day for WIF!!! The Business Center had dirty and unreliable computers. Front desk staff were friendly but not well informed or to concerned with our needs. Spare blanket in the room was dirty and torn, replaced it but showed no concern.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ocean getaway

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Beautiful ocean view, easy access to the beach and nearby amenities. Friendly staff and nice restaurant for breakfast/lunch/dinner. Parking was the only negative, $22 for overnight parking in the structure, aside from that a must visit if you're staying in Dana Point
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad condition

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Bad experience, the garage was flooded with duty water, the room door doesn't locked. Bad bad experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Loud train, room was in okay condition. The only plus was that it is walking distance to the beach and staff was friendly.