Ratings based on 376 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hartford, CT

hidden costs

Posted Jan 26, 2018
Pros: location
Cons: read above. lots to work on.
Location: went to the convention center only.
front desk guy difficult to work with. no parking very confusing instruction from the front desk. additional cost for parking. no wake up call no gym no vending machine ice machine in the basement. That is a joke! coffee was really bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Cons: Add vending machines. Don't charge extra for parking.
Location: Good location.
Nice place. Comfortable room. No vending, but 7-11 nearby.
4 out of 5
by Ian

Good Stay

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
I was happy with my stay here, the staff was friendly, room was clean, and they accommodated our request for early check in. The location is not the best, we only stayed in this area because we had to, but if you need to be in the area I would recommend this inn. I saw some hotels in the area for cheaper but the reviews were horrific and said they were extremely unsafe. I never felt unsafe in this hotel and I would stay here again if I needed to be in this area.
4 out of 5
by Douglas

Great service, great location, great value

Posted Nov 8, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was in an amazing location. Right on the Temple University campus, very near the Liacouras Center and close to a ton of cheap and tasty food and bars (as one would expect with students around). The regional train station (to-from the airport) is a 10 minute walk away, and there is a subway stop only 5-minutes away. Very convenient. The staff were amazing! I arrived early in the day and they held my bags and even refused a tip. When I needed to change rooms for my final night (my brother came to stay for that one night) they moved me to a room with two queen beds at no additional charge. They even let him park his motorcycle near the employee entrance without charging for a parking space. They were always helpful and pleasant, and I cannot praise them enough for their service. The beds were big and comfy, although the bedding was a bit light for November. The thermostat was not very sensitive (it was just a dial labeled "warmer" or "colder" like in your refrigerator), so it would have been nice to have more control. My only complaint is with the internet access. The in-room wifi was very slow, and most nights I had to go down to the lobby to get anything done. Luckily I didn't need to do a lot of work -- this was a vacation trip -- but if you are going to depend on having internet access while there, maybe plan to use your phone as a hotspot instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant, helpful staff, convenient, near subway

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Just a quick overnight stay, but would definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good/Bad

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Nice, clean hotel that's near food and drinks. There's construction directly across from the building that wakes you at 7am. Other than that, it was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

It's just right for the price

Posted Oct 30, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: It was quiet and the staff was attentive. There was always someone at the desk to help.
Cons: The ice machine could be at a better location. It was in the basement. The cookies on the the cookie stand should be covered. Charge less for parking.
I came from Miami for a 2-day conference. My conference was just steps from the Inn making everything convenient. My room & bathroom was clean and the staff was nice. Despite the Inn being on campus, there were no disturbing noises. The two concerns I have, 1) they charge daily for parking and you cannot pay for 1 night while your hotel stay is 3 you have to pay for your entire stay. 2) fridges should be provided in the rooms. In the basement I saw 5 fridges not in use. I don't understand the purpose for charging to have a fridge in the room. This method puts people in a bind. I would not recommend this place for more than a 3-night stay. I stayed for 4 nights.
5 out of 5
by Melanie

Thank you Conwell Inn

Posted Oct 27, 2017 on Hotels
First of all the desk staff was very patient with me as I had requests to hold packages sent me, hold my room for late check in, how to use the wifi, etc... They were always attentive and cordial. The hotel is perfectly situated on the Temple University campus at Beasley Walk @ Polett Walk. The University Police station takes part of the first floor. The hotel and the room was clean. I didn't notice until my last day that wallpaper was falling down in my room above the window. It was nice to see so many students coming and going on campus from my window. The inn is about 100 feet from Broad Street, so traffic noise was not an issue. There was a 711 behind the inn, a small coffee shop on the first floor of the inn that provided bagels. I wish that they would make a simple egg sandwich for breakfast, but oh well, you can't have everything. Food kiosks right by the library for students provide a selection of Chinese, Vietnamese, Italian and Mediterranean food. I chose Chinese and it was made right in front of me hot and fresh, and delicious. SEPT, the subway was about 6 blocks away and easy to use though if I would've figured it out better, I probably would've been able to take the SEPTA closer to Independence Hall. I walked from Downtown instead. Whew! My stay was exactly what I wanted, clean, cute, safe, quiet, convenient and excellent price. I would definitely refer people here and if in Philly again, I would certainly stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great place in Temple University

Posted Oct 18, 2017
We stayed for homecoming weekend and had a great time, the hotel was clean, spacious room, in the heart of the school. Close to cafes and convenience stores. Thank you
4 out of 5
by Paul

Good

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
The Conwell Inn was clean, comfortable and good service. The university location was unusual but good. Shame the attached cafe couldn't offer a breakfast deal for hotel residents.