Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel by the beach!

Posted Mar 18, 2017
It was amazing experience, calm and peaceful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Get away from the cold getaway

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Great little resort right on the beach. Good food just steps away. Staff was awesome. Our toilet kept running when we were away and overflowed. Staff remedied the situation and moved us to another room. Hotel is a little dated but a very good value. We will be back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Quieter side of the island.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Quiet. The private beach.
Cons: Housekeeping. Food. Would've liked some FRESH foods, fruits and vegetables.
Location: Not much around. Had to drive alot for activities beyond the beach.
Hard to find. GPS didn't find easily due to address and hotel name inconsistencies. Once there, we did enjoy the quiet during the weekdays, had beach mostly to ourselves. Food just so-so.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be so nice

Posted Feb 12, 2017
This hotel could be very nice, but rooms are in bad need of renovation. Our curtain was hanging half off the rod. Toilet did not flush properly, AC would not adjust, window would not open. Hotel did not honor "breakfast included" deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Orange, NJ

Tiny houses with tropical vibe.

Posted Dec 29, 2016
The sea beach is rough but the infinity pool more than makes up for it. Tiny houses as rooms right by the beach are charming. Ample parking, free breakfast are pluses, but not having internet in the rooms are a drag.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Really nice hotel with great views.

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location
Cons: I was happy with the hotel and staff. No complaints.
Location: Location is remote. Nothing to do nearby. Great for people who want a real Puerto Rico vacation and slow drives with beautiful scenery.
Nice place, great people but food mediocre. Nothing to do close by and long drive to everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Relaxing and beautyful

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Great view. Friendly staff.
Location: Awsome!
Very clean. Practical. Coffemaker, TV, great bathroom. Breathtaking view at the pool. Can't wait to be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not for a family of 4

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: pool + location
If you are more than 2 persons / room they will charge $33 / person / day. It came out close to $190 / night for us. For that price you would expect a better room. It is old, no coffee (you have to pay for it), AC makes a lot of noise and the on site restaurant is OK if you like fried food. I blame expedia for the over charge of the hotel since they always mentioned $112 / room until we entered the credit card and the price went up, charging an extra $66 / night. This is unfair because since the beginning we said we were a family of 4. Oh yes, when we arrived for check in, they did not have any reservation for us. The lady (half friendly) asked me how long ago I booked. I replied about 2 weeks. Finally after waiting about 30minutes they could verify we had the reservation but she said that the person checking emails for expedia reservation probably missed it and 2 weeks was too short. The pool is nice, location is very nice so I guess this hotel is good if you are 2 / room. Yes, forgot to say that expedia keeps calling this hotel Parador MaunaCaribe but there is no mention of that name in the hotel. It is Tropical Inn (the chain). I wish either Expedia would mention tropical inn or there would be a sign outside saying this is Parador MaunaCaribe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great stay, beautiful Inn/Hotel, breathtaking view

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: I have been staying at Parador MaunaCaribe for years now as part of my annual trip back to my homeland, Puerto Rico. It's such a beautiful place!
Cons: The sheets, comforter, and window valances can use an updated pattern. Its been the same pattern for years now and it would be nice to change.
Location: Maunabo, Puerto Rico is such a tranquil small town protected by beautiful scenic mountains along the Caribbean coast! Lighthouse is a must see.
A great stay in a beautiful small town! Breathtaking views and you cannot go wrong with great staff, great food, infinity pool overlooking the Caribbean Sea, and bar!