Featured Image

Reviews of Hotel Universel

3 out of 5
Hotel Universel
2300, chemin Sainte-Foy, Quebec, QC

Overall score and ratings

3.7

Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 294 out of 1228 reviews
5 - Excellent 24%
Rating 4 - Good. 502 out of 1228 reviews
4 - Good 41%
Rating 3 - Okay. 252 out of 1228 reviews
3 - Okay 21%
Rating 2 - Poor. 126 out of 1228 reviews
2 - Poor 10%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 54 out of 1228 reviews
1 - Terrible 4%

3.9/5

Cleanliness

3.9/5

Staff & service

3.6/5

Amenities

3.7/5

Property conditions & facilities

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The saunas were not working, hot tub was just warm.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Hotel Universel on Oct 20, 2021
Thank you for your feedback concerning your last stay in our hotel. Needless to say I was disappointed to know that your stay was not up to your satisfaction and I would like to apologise for the inconveniences it have cause you. I will share the comment with our team.

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Ok
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Oct 5, 2021
Merci pour votre commentaire. Au plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Good value!
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Sep 27, 2021
Merci d'avoir pris le temps de noter l'hôtel

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness
As others have said, the pool is much smaller than it looks on the website. Due to COVID, they required a reservation to use the pool or separate hot tub (also tiny for a hotel), for a maximum 30 minute slot. But I can't see how it made a difference as the pool was jammed with 20 people and tons of screaming little kids.The entire area absolutely stunk of chlorine; we didn't even bother. Overall the hotel was fine, clean, staff were efficient, halls were dark and dingy, bathroom appeared recently renovated. Boston Pizza on site was fairly empty, good enough meal considering the brand.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Sep 13, 2021
Thank you for your feedback concerning your last stay in our hotel. I will share the comment with our team. We hope to welcome you again soon.

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Stinky and dirty, smell like old wet carpet mixed with smoke everywhere. Walls very tin can hear the people having sex. it was nothing as advertised on Expedia. Very disappointed, especially after a long day traveling. I asked the manager if I can be refund if I do not like their hotel, he says call Expedia, you pay them it is not my problem.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Sep 13, 2021
Good day I would like to thank you for taking the time to fill a comment concerning your most recent stay at our Hotel. Needless to say I was disappointed to know that your stay was not up to your satisfaction and I would like to apologise for the inconveniences it has cause you. I will make a follow up with the concerning person. Thank you

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Good conditions for the price. Corridors in need of major upgrade: walls, floors and ceilings.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Sep 13, 2021
Thank you for your feedback concerning your last stay in our hotel. I will share the comment with our team. We hope to welcome you again soon.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Room was clean and they let us check in early which was nice but I guarantee you the Tokyo Olympic 2020 beds were more comfortable than these beds. Too stiff. And the hallway smelled like chlorine.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Sep 13, 2021
Thank you for your feedback concerning your last stay in our hotel. I will make a follow up with the concerning person. Thank you

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
great hotel at a great price, good location walk distance to many restaurants, staff are nice, hotel is extremely clean, free parking, no 1 choice when you travel Quebec
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Sep 13, 2021
Thank you for your feedback concerning your last stay in our hotel. I will share the comment with our team. We hope to welcome you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Thanks
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Sep 24, 2021
Merci d'avoir pris le temps de noter l'hôtel

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Tres bien placé
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Sep 24, 2021
Merci d'avoir pris le temps de noter l'hôtel

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
We stay for 2 days in hotel. And in 2 days there is no room service or no one come for droop any towel or anything not even they call single time to ask if we need anything. And. They did not mention in booking or on website about they will give us room in loft which is after 2 building of hotel we have to walk to there any stay there. If we wanna use pool or hot tub we have to wall from there to hotel. Poor service. Never going back to this location waste of money and time.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Hotel universel on Sep 29, 2021
Good day I would like to thank you for taking the time to fill a comment concerning your most recent stay at our Hotel. Needless to say I was disappointed to know that your stay was not up to your satisfaction and I would like to apologise for the inconveniences it have cause you. I will make a follow up with the concerning person. Thank you

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Amenities
i got to give my hats off to the employees first handedly, they gave me really good services. the part of my stay that i found disappointing has to be the pool experience. Given that theres nobody supervising it, there were more people there than there should be. Many couples, including children, throughout the whole night, were going from the pool to the spa back and forth. Even some that stayed longer than the 30min, the front desk told us that we'd need to reserve and that it would only be for 30minutes, so we reserved at 9:30-10:00, but when we got there, there was a lot of people, and none of them but one couple had reserved with us, so we did not even get the chance to swim, this was my only bad experience i had with the stay, if especially you need reservation from 4-10:00, then i recommend at least having some sort of supervision with the spa and pool, since you actually need a reservation to go
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Hotel universel on Sep 29, 2021
Thank you for your feedback concerning your last stay in our hotel. I will share the comment with our team. We hope to welcome you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Really clean
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Sep 24, 2021
Merci d'avoir pris le temps de noter l'hôtel

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Pool was a bit to hot. Staff and over-all great place. Close by
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Sep 13, 2021
Thank you for your feedback concerning your last stay in our hotel. I will share the comment with our team. We hope to welcome you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nothing to add
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Sep 24, 2021
Merci d'avoir pris le temps de noter l'hôtel

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Rooms are nice clean, pool area clean and nice
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Aug 28, 2021
Thank you for your feedback concerning your last stay in our hotel. I will share the comment with our team. We hope to welcome you again soon.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Spacious room with everything necessary, poor view. Good alternative to overpriced old town zero-star hotels.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Hotel universel on Sep 29, 2021
Thank you for your feedback concerning your last stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Cleanliness
The pool area was very nice. Pool and spa were open. Sauna was not. However, the cleaning of rooms and hallways was bad. We had coffee mugs and plates that were left outside our door in the hallway that were never picked up. Even after I advised the front desk and the cleaning staff.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Aug 28, 2021
Good day I would like to thank you for taking the time to fill a comment concerning your most recent stay at our Hotel. Needless to say I was disappointed to know that your stay was not up to your satisfaction and I would like to apologise for the inconveniences it have cause you. I will make a follow up with the concerning person. Thank you

4/5 Good

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with partner, Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities
First of all, the reception staff were nice and helpful - cold, yes, but that is just their culture. When asked for anything, they were more than happy to help (especially the blond lady of the day shift, and busy black guy from the night shift). Pool area is great, my kid loved it! I have noticed that most of the guests were families with kids and young people. Yes, the hotel is not the best - rooms are basic (ok mattress, no closet and only one dresser where fridge is, small bathroom) it could use a bit of paint and TLC (and to be honest, a bit of better cleaning - there were some black mold on tiles on top of the bathtub), but the pool area looks really nice, and comparing it price-vise with competition, it is good value for money in QC Parking is free. Connected to the hotel is Boston Pizza that shares parking with hotel - we had problem to find parking one night, so we had to park underneath the stairs that is not designated for parking until 11pm, when the parking was cleared from the restaurant guests. We did not get any toiletries in our room (I guess the room service lady forgot to put it), so we had to ask from the reception. Close is mall and a there are a lot of restaurants near by.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Hotel universel on Sep 29, 2021
Thank you for your feedback concerning your last stay in our hotel. I will share the comment with our team. We hope to welcome you again soon.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Basic room. Beds were not comfortable. No towels in the room. No central air, window air conditioner. Pool although looks very nice is quite small in size and at the time we were only allowed to book a 30 minute time slot to use the pool. Not monitored so people over stayed their time slot and itwas very over crowded.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Aug 28, 2021
Good day I would like to thank you for taking the time to fill a comment concerning your most recent stay at our Hotel. Needless to say I was disappointed to know that your stay was not up to your satisfaction and I would like to apologise for the inconveniences it have cause you. I will make a follow up with the concerning person. Thank you

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with group, Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Close to Quebec city The beds were really not comfortable
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel Québec on Sep 29, 2021
Good day I would like to thank you for taking the time to fill a comment concerning your most recent stay at our Hotel. Needless to say I was disappointed to know that your stay was not up to your satisfaction and I would like to apologise for the inconveniences it have cause you. I will make a follow up with the concerning person. Thank you

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
The pool was cool. The internet connection was lousy.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel Québec on Sep 29, 2021
Good day I would like to thank you for taking the time to fill a comment concerning your most recent stay at our Hotel. Needless to say I was disappointed to know that your stay was not up to your satisfaction and I would like to apologise for the inconveniences it have cause you. I will make a follow up with the concerning person. Thank you

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Overall, I liked this place. The staff was friendly and helpful when I found the tub was leaking water. The hotel rooms were clean, tidy.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Aug 11, 2021
Merci de votre évaluation positive! Nous espérons vous revoir bientôt dans notre hôtel. Cordialement, Adriano.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family and small children
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
The pool was nice but so cloudy we couldn’t see under the water, the halls were dark and narrow, we didn’t get the room we booked due to overbooking. We were there for two nights and the internet only worked the first night and the staff were not helpful. The ice machine gave about one cup of ice after hiking across the hotel to another floor. Large gap under our door so you can hear and see under it. Beds were also not comfortable.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Aug 11, 2021
Thank you for your feedback! We are very sorry if your experience was not as positive as you expected. We are working hard to fix these issues, and we hope to have you back again soon. Cheers, Adriano.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Unfortunately quite a few things were broken. Hotel is very clean. Not enough parking space for the hotel.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Aug 28, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We will be addressing your concerns

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Sep 24, 2021
Merci d'avoir pris le temps de noter l'hôtel

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We did not sleep where the adresse of the hotel that we had on the receit. We slept in a small loaf there was some black hair in the towels on the table chair and the garbage can was full. I waited 20 min on the phone to reserved the pool and to go in the pool we had to walk outside in front of the people that was eating at the Boston Pizza. We got a Big 25.00 discount. Never again at that hotel
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Aug 5, 2021
Thank you for your feedback! We are very sorry if your experience was not as positive as you expected. We are working hard to fix these issues, and we hope to have you back again soon. Cheers, Adriano.

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Because of Boston pizza the parking was full until 10pm ...
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Aug 5, 2021
Thank you for your feedback! We are very sorry if your experience was not as positive as you expected. We are working hard to fix these issues, and we hope to have you back again soon. Cheers, Adriano.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful atrium and pool/spa area
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Aug 5, 2021
Merci de votre évaluation positive! Nous espérons vous revoir bientôt dans notre hôtel. Cordialement, Adriano.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The facility was clean and room comfortable. It's what you need if you want to visit the beautiful city. It's 10 minutes drive from old Quebec where you can park for $18 all day.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Jul 26, 2021
Thank you for your positive feedback! We hope to see you back soon! Cheers, Adriano.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Jul 21, 2021
Merci de votre évaluation! Cordialement, Adriano

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Like the pool area.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Front desk agent - night shift team on Jul 20, 2021
Merci de votre évaluation positive! Cordialement, Adriano.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Amenities
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

3/5 Okay

Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Big space
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel Québec on Jul 17, 2021
Merci d'avoir pris le temps de noter l'hôtel !

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Jul 17, 2021
Merci d'avoir pris le temps de noter l'hôtel

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Jul 17, 2021
Merci d'avoir pris le temps de noter l'hôtel

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from l'équipe de l'hôtel Universel on Jul 26, 2021
Thank you for your positive feedback! We hope to see you back soon! Cheers, Adriano.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Rooms very noisy and problem with Ac and washroom ,no control on swimming pool ,lot of people inside
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Adriano on Jul 16, 2021
Sorry if we could not deliver the service you expected from us. We are working hard to fix these issues. Cheers, Adriano.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness
we asked prior of booking directly the hotel for pool conditions due to covid situation and when we got there after booking we had the suprise that we have to book a time frame of 30 minutea only was allowed with kids it's pretty short and pool is full because it's very small
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Adriano on Jul 15, 2021
Yes unfortunately we need to keep these rules until further notice from the governement. We apologize if we fell short this time. Sincerily yours, Adriano.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Adriano on Jul 16, 2021
Sorry if we could not deliver the service you expected from us. We are working hard to fix the issues. Cheers, Adriano.

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Poor management and terrible check in experience
I had to wait almost an hour to get a room when I went to check in. Very poor management. There were other guests as well waiting almost an hour just to get their room. Management never came up to us to apologize for the severe delay or explained why the rooms were not ready on time. It was a terrible experience for the start. Management never took accountability for the terrible customer service and experience.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Adriano on Jul 15, 2021
We are very sorry for your bad experience. We are working harder to fix these problems, and re-adapt taking into account the COVID situation and lack of staff in our hotel. We are truly sorry! We hope to give you a better service the next time you come back to Quebec city. Sincerily, Adriano, (Front desk Agent - night shift).

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Hôtel Universel on Jul 5, 2021
was not spotless

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities
The pool area was great. The room,212, was ordinary.... The bathroom was not spotless. Parking was not easy, very tight
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Hôtel Universel on Jul 5, 2021
Thank you for your feedback concerning your last stay in our hotel. I will make a follow up with the concerning person. Thank you

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Price / Quality acceptable
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Hôtel Universel on Jul 5, 2021
merci de votre commentaire, au plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Staff & service
.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Hôtel Universel on Jul 5, 2021
Merci de votre commentaire

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very convenient and familiar
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Hôtel Universel on Jul 5, 2021
Thank you for your comment