Ratings based on 1,119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not worth the money you spend

Posted Nov 27, 2016
All and all my wife and I where very dissapointed. Its not woth the money they are asking for a nights stay. The restaurant staff was unprofessional and we had to send the food back because it was undercooked. On top you had to fight with the flys to keep them away from your plate and wine. The rooms are very nice and clean but the walls are paper thin and you can gear a needle drop in any of the neighboring rooms. The rates they charge is not worth the quality and service you get.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Don't go at 4 pm

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: A place to eat.
Location: Shopping
I would rather stay at a Holiday Inn Express, at least the bill will not scare you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not as haunted as you wish it was.

Posted Nov 10, 2016
The Stanley is a wonderful hotel and I ranked it as it should be ranked. But you can't go in with unreal expectations. This hotel is almost always booked for some event or another. It's hard to get in and you'll pay for the privilege. They have added another building to try to accommodate more guests. Unless you actually call them to book, there is a big chance you won't get a room in the main hotel. We ended up getting a room in the new building. It is built to look like all the other buildings on the grounds, but is completely modern inside. This wasn't an issue for us at all. We love that sort of thing...but if you want an old victorian room (and a chance to get a haunting experience), you should probably call and make sure the staff knows what you're looking for. Good luck, though...as I said, it's always booked up. Big perk: if you love a European coffee experience, the new building has Nespresso machines in all the rooms. Also, the restaurant is great (but pricey) for dinner...but breakfast (again, pricey), was meh. Go into Estes and eat breakfast somewhere else and get better for less. Other than that, the stay is a wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good, but expected more for the price.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The history and location; the views are great; common areas very nice. I liked being able to open the windows in the room. Bedding very nice.
Cons: The room we had was small, especially with the rollaway for our daughter. Rollaway's springs popped up; not super quiet. Overpriced at $300.
Location: Unbeatable - close to Rocky Mountain NP, hiking, wildlife viewing, Estes Park. It's on an elevated site and view of mountains is amazing,
The reason to stay here is to experience a historic hotel and the Shining vibe ( although the movie was not shot here, the TV show was and the hotel inspired the book). The rooms are just so so. I would recommend staying at a nice but much less expensive place and just take a tour of the Stanley.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel living on past history and collecting big

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Having traveled all over the world, I can honestly say the Stanley is among the worst - over rated, over priced and under performs. The initial check in process was incomplete, rude and staff unaccommodating and lacking basic skills. We were placed in the Aspire building which was off the main hotel down by the entrance. Just built, the Aspire felt like a nursing home and didn't even have a menu or hotel info in the room. The main hotel looks good from the front, paint peeling in the back. (I guess they figure no one goes back there). The building adjacent looks like it should be condemned. If you want to spend a lot and be treated like the Stanley is doing you a favor, this place is for you.Save a few hundred a night and stay somewhere else locally.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Ridiculously Overpriced

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: It's location relative to Rocky Mountain National Park. Its history.
Cons: Lack of repair. High and unwarranted price.
Location: Convenient to the town of Estes Park and the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park
This is a grand old hotel that is trading on its history and location. It's a shame to see such a lack of maintenance and repair of this historic property. At the end of the day, $280 is just way too much money for what you are getting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco - Bay Area

Ensure Room is in Old Hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: History, bar and restaurant, fire places in lobby, front porch and views
Cons: Our room was inconveniently located in a new nearby building. There was no spa, jacuzzi or pool, and no refrigerator or microwave in the room.
Location: Great location above town and adjacent to Rocky Mountain National Park.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenfield, Wisconsin

Because of noise, got transferred to Aspire

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Service was very good. They didn't have to put us at the Aspire, as there was probably an upcharge, but they did.
Cons: The Stanley itself is run down. I noticed peeling paint on the exterior. Also when arriving, the front desk (check in) is very hard to find.
Location: City of Estes Park, etc. Also Safeway grocery store.
Upon check in, we were assigned room 201. After being in the room for a bit we found it was very loud. The room (201) was situated directly above the front desk and next to the grand staircase. You could heard everything from the people checking in to the people walking up the stairs. Sound also carried up from the lobby below; shops and a conference being held. So, I went down to the front desk and asked for another room. I told them I paid nearly $1000 for our stay and needed a quite room. First they were going to put me in a room next to one of the rooms on the tour, which would have been worse. I didn't want that one, so they put me and my daughter at the new Aspire Hotel, part of their property, right down the road. Our bags were carried for us to the property while we drove down the road to the hotel. Like I said the hotel is brand new, a month old I think. Very modern, quite and comfortable. The beds and pillows were a dream. We had a balcony and a Nesprso coffee machine. Other than that, though the hotel did not offer any amenities (frig, microwave, breakfast), you had to walk up the the Stanley. We were able to purchase a frig for $10 a day. All in all, it fit our needs perfectly. As a side note, probably overpriced as I've read in many reviews. If we ever visit again, I would try one of the many smaller hotels or possibly a cottage.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016
We had a lovely time at this historic completely charming hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Such a beautiful spot!

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Have stayed in the hotel many times. This was the first visit to The Lodge. Lovely accommodations!