Ratings based on 773 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nice but slightly understaffed- Great amenities

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Facilities (accessible through Novotel) Comfortable Beds Friendly Staff
Cons: More staff, or staff that are cross trained
Location: There are some great little art gallery (we liked Helium), Eat Street has some good options and if you can get a table, the Fat Dog Cafe is a must!
Loved the stay- the hotel was in a really great location in the center right by eat street and the lake. The Hotel itself was a bit budget but on par for what you would expect for the price range. The rooms were clean and comfortable if a little cramped. Having access to the Novotel facilities next door really make the hotel as you can access the Gym, pool, sauna and hot pools there. There is also a great bar at the Novotel. Be warned you have to walk outside to access these facilities though but the other hotel is only next door so it is a couple of minutes door to door. All in all would stay again but if you're looking for a bit more luxury try next door! They do lack staff a little so things are slow, we waited about 10 minutes for the 1 receptionists call the be answered and for someone to come over from the Novotel bar to serve us a drink as the receptionist was not trained to do it. She was lovely but it was just inconvenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Qld

Everything you need and good location

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Conveniently located next to the lake and central to town and local restaurants. Check in was fast and efficient and staff very friendly. Thank you
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland

Close to amenities

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Non
Very disappointed in my stay , they say unlimited wifi , I couldn't connect even 5 minutes I booked with breakfast , staff say your name not on my list I had to check out a day before my intended 4 days stay and the staff didn't bother say how was your stay or why you are checking out a day early , very unfriendly
4 out of 5
by Jason

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Good spot for value and close to restaurants and the lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paihia

Nice central place

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: It was so central to all the action.
Cons: A microwave in the room would have been nice.
Location: Eat Street was in easy walking distance, as were the Gardens and the lake.
Good standard place. Staff were keen to help. The room had all the essentials and was comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good, clean & quiet

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was clean and quiet. The staff members were polite, helpful and professional. There is no car parking on site but plenty of free on street parking. The location is close to the CBD. Customers can use Novotel facilities like pool and gym. I've been here before and would definitely go back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

average hotel in rotorua

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Wotif
Buffet breakfast and the food ordered through room service was a HUGE let down I wish I had saved my money and ate out. Was greatly disappointed!!! Staff were lovely. And I'm sure the cook is just working with what they are supplied with.
3 out of 5
by Gary

Needs improvement

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very long wait to check in. Internet never worked - very frustrating
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good position

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Wotif
We were happy with the room but disappointed with preauthorisation fees and time for refund. Often stay away and never experienced this before. Lesson learned
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Wotif
Very, very expensive for what we got.... tiny room not even a microwave.