Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs,CA

Excellent location, spacious room, very economical

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was a nice surprise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec, CA

Ocean vue, very clean

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Excellent quality-price, very clean, highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Spanish style hotel near the beach

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Spanish style hotel with modern updates. The room was a great size theta included 2 double beds and a pull out sofa. We have a family of 3 kids and it's challenging ginding enough sleeping room for all of us. This hotel accommodated all of us. Clean room and clean bathroom. Complimentary breakfast was good. I would suggest including almond milk as an open on for lactose visitors. Otherwise bring your own and keep in the fridge in the room. The pool was clean and had a view of the top of the ocean. Fitness room provides 2 elypticals and 2 stationary bikes. No free weights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaumont, CA

Pleasing hotel near shuttle to reach the beach.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
The room was clean. There were some nice upgrades done, but more can be done. Staff was pleasant and helpful. This hotel is not conducive to walk to the beach. We rode a free shuttle one day and drove down the following. Overall, we had a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Bernardino, CA

Good Looking Hotel Near Beach

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Customer service is excellent. Clean and comfortable. Maybe state on your website that you offer smoking and non-smoking rooms.
Cons: Shampoo carpets and clean drains. Maybe change types of food for breakfast each day.
Location: Walking distance to beach and local restaurants and shops. Short drive to grocery stores and outlet stores; about 11 miles from Laguna.
Check in was a breeze. Single queen size room was clean and spacious. Large bathroom with fresh, fluffy towels and toiletries. Bed comfortable with soft pillows. Nice ocean view from our balcony. Happy with the full breakfast which consist of eggs, sausage, fried patatoes, toast, coffee and juice; there was also yogart, cereal, pancakes and fresh whole fruit, plus Danish. Another added bonus is the wonderful lounge area outside with large, plush couches to read and relax (and an area for smokers--ashtrays provided). They have a gym and swimming pool. The only problem I had was that the room smelled like a smoker (smokers?) had been in it which room deorderizer was used to neutralize the smell. My allergies and asthma reacted. I had a horrible headache the first night but loaded up with Benadryl the second. The first night, I was tempted to ask for another room but I was concerned that no ocean view rooms were available so I tried to get comfortable but could not sleep because of the pressure in my sinisus. Do not stay in Room 323 unless smoking does not bother you. One other thing which seems common in a lot of hotels is the smell that comes out of the bathroom pipes when you run hot water. The smell here is minor compare to others but drains could use some cleaning. Overall I would stay again but ask for a smoke free room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Beach is close. Del Mar street is very nice.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Nice and clean.
Cons: Hotel appears to be remodeling. Needs a couple of things to make it a very good hotel
Location: Close to downtown - all of the shops and eating places.
Nice visit. Would stay here again! Hotel is still cleaning up and appears to be going through a renovation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Southern CA

Affordable, nice hotel by the beach

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Clean, balcony, close to everything.
Cons: Check-in should provide details about hotel, i.e. parking, pool, breakfast, laundry services...a simple flyer would've been suffice.
Location: Between the freeway and busy street, but the noise didn't bother us. Everything is within walking distance: pier, downtown, restaurants, shopping.
Very satisfied with our stay. The hotel staff was very courteous and attentive. The walls/doors are thin, which made us a bit nervous since we had two toddlers in the room - we didn't want to annoy other hotel guests. Luckily, our room was close to other "understanding" families. It's family friendly, nice pool, and everything is within walkable distance. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Staff very friendly and accomodating. Nice free breakfast. Decent location. Air conditioning in common areas not working very well, but otherwise a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from o

Enjoyed my stay

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Friends I was visiting told me this was a holiday inn or something similiar till very recently. Designers did an amazing job on the make over if this is true. It was my second favorite stay on my trip. I liked the colors and decor at this place. They updated everything well. Much nicer than I expected with a more relaxed feel. I usually book after looking at pictures and reviews. Sometimes the pictures are misleading. This one was accurate. The room, bathroom, everything was updated. Ironically it was one of the least expensive hotels on the trip. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Nice room overlooking San Clemente

Posted Jun 27, 2017
King bed with private hot tub was relaxing and quiet