Ratings based on 799 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maryland

Bed bugs

Posted Sep 22, 2016
We saw bed bugs and my sister has the bites to prove it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Baby roaches in rest room

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Close to the Beach and nigh life!
Cons: deep clean restrooms, carpet, and get a regular monthly exterminator!
Location: Why?
Immediately on entering the room smelled musty! The small refrig. was unplugged, and once I plugged it in it never worked! There were 2 baby roachs in our room - bathroom! Not worth the price at all!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Barely Adequate Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Convenient location. Inexpensive for the area.
Cons: Better cleaning of rooms. Replace stained bedspreads. Use paper plates instead of styrofoam.
The hotel is conveniently located and relatively inexpensive for the area. The staff person who checked us in was incredibly slow, but pleasant enough. The rooms are tiny and not very well cleaned. The bed spread had ink stains. There was hair in the bathtub and trash already in the trash can when I arrived. My friend said there was a little bit of blood in the bathroom of her room when she arrived. The TV in my room was disconnected. However, the WiFi worked. The breakfast room uses styrofoam bowls and plates. There is parking available.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was disgusting

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Never go there it's so hot and nasty . Staff are so rude and the have cocaroches it is so nasty never again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waddell,AZ

Disappointing

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Clean clean clean!
Room was very dirty with stains all over the bedding and holes in the walls
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Got what we paid for.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
We knew this was not a five star place but we got what we paid for and then some. We got 3 rooms for 10 people and had no complaints from anyone. Clean ,quiet and comfortable and located central to all the activities we came to SD for. Parking was tight but adequate. Booked online and no surprises at checkout.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Dreary Rooms

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Hotel allows pets.
Cons: Paint color, cleanliness, exterior maintenance.
Location: We were close to Pacific Beach and SDSU which is a plus.
The staff at the Red Roof Inn were very nice; however, the rooms are very dreary and noisy. The hotel had a water leak outside of our room that leaked for the two days that we were there. We pretended that we were listening to a nice fountain. I think the Red Roof Inn should look into painting the walls a lighter color to lighten the rooms. Thanks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Everything was great. Just had to guy talking all night long outside my door.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NV

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Tiny room. Couldn't even get out of the room because the elevator was right in front of the door..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures are deceiving

Posted Aug 16, 2016
First, if you like spacious room, you won't find it here. Our room was very small. You had to walk sideways in order to pass the foot of the bed and the tv; walk sideways to get to the bathroom which is right next to your bed. We were supposed to get a queen bed, but a full bed it was. Pillows (3 provided) were extremely flat - so if you need some cushion on your pillows, bring your own. Bed was shaky and Rocky every time you turn. Ceiling still has those popcorn ceiling. If you just need to crash for a night and don't care about any of the items I mentioned, then this hotel wouldn't be too bad - however, for a price of $130/night on a weekend, seems like it's better spent elsewhere. On a kind-of plus side.....that rate comes with free wifi, free breakfast (fresh waffle, few pastry choice, coffee, juice and boiled eggs) and no resort fee unlike a lot of other hotels. It's also walking distance to a Sushi rest, Thai rest, Rubios Mexican rest. For a tiny hotel room, it had a fridge and a microwave. So I give them praise for that since other hotels don't always provide those amenities. It wasn't a nightmare all and all but the room was just too small for 2 people especially if your husband is 6'3 and bulky. The hotel could definitely use new bigger and better bed and pillows.