Ratings based on 821 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here

Posted Oct 15, 2016
There was a fist size hole in the window screen and cigarette burns in the comforter of a non-smoking room. The bathroom was dirty. The room was tiny and the hotel listed it as deluxe. The shower faucet and lever pulled away from the wall when we tried it and we thought it was going to completely come out! The room smelled and the air conditioner smelled worse! The parking lot was very small and difficult to maneuver a large vehicle in. I would not recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super stay!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Close to every thing in San Diego!
Cons: N/a
Location: Great location near Sea World, the beach, Downtown SAN DIEGO.
Great hotel! Red Roof Inn is the best! Everything about it. Not a bad thing to say at all. The location, room was neat, all was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
It was basic..... not bad, but not great. You get what you paid for right?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Very noisy, can hear everything including traffic on the street. Rundown building
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Located in a busy area

Posted Sep 29, 2016
For the price I feel that I got what I for but I would advise spend a couple more bucks a night for a better location and better hotel overall. The shower head barely worked and there was no water pressure. Continental breakfast wasn't impressive. You have a bagel, juice, yogurt, and a waffle if you wait around long enough.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Great price and location, just loud neighbors

Posted Sep 27, 2016
The staff was very hospitable and friendly. After I got to my room they called to make sure it was to my liking. I needed a couple bandaids and she was nice enough to give me some extra. The breakfast was yummy, nice staff working the waffle maker. Only bummer was the people above me were heavy walkers and at all hours of the night. With the air on, I couldn't really hear them though. Also the parking got a bit crowded, but I hate finding parking by the beach anyways, and a Lyft or Uber is only about $5 so I just used that to get pretty much everywhere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

The hotel was suitable for what we wanted.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The hotel was nice but the room was smaller than the photo showed
Cons: The breakfast maid was a bit laxed, the water for the tea was cold and they never went and got anymore
Location: It was quite a distant from caters
The only problem was there was some worker staying and the smell of their fags were funny, I think it was drugs of some sort.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maryland

Bed bugs

Posted Sep 22, 2016
We saw bed bugs and my sister has the bites to prove it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Baby roaches in rest room

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Close to the Beach and nigh life!
Cons: deep clean restrooms, carpet, and get a regular monthly exterminator!
Location: Why?
Immediately on entering the room smelled musty! The small refrig. was unplugged, and once I plugged it in it never worked! There were 2 baby roachs in our room - bathroom! Not worth the price at all!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Barely Adequate Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Convenient location. Inexpensive for the area.
Cons: Better cleaning of rooms. Replace stained bedspreads. Use paper plates instead of styrofoam.
The hotel is conveniently located and relatively inexpensive for the area. The staff person who checked us in was incredibly slow, but pleasant enough. The rooms are tiny and not very well cleaned. The bed spread had ink stains. There was hair in the bathtub and trash already in the trash can when I arrived. My friend said there was a little bit of blood in the bathroom of her room when she arrived. The TV in my room was disconnected. However, the WiFi worked. The breakfast room uses styrofoam bowls and plates. There is parking available.