Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ft lauderdale fl

So disappointed

Posted May 31, 2017
My girlfriend asked that we stay there because there is a kitchenette and this would allow us to save money and spend more time with my husband. Once we got there the room was completely filled with cigarette smoke. Unavoidable. So they moved us to another room. We proceed to go grocery shopping. Once we get back and attempt to cook, the stove doesn't even work. There's now only a microwave. They take over an hour to have someone check things out. Only to be told nothing could be done until Monday which means now we are forced to pay to go out to eat. Monday comes. I haven't received a phone call yet as my husband and I are in the privacy of our room unclothed, the maintenance guy knocks once before I could even answer he is walking in. In a panic I yell at him to get out. My husband chases after him as he tries to use his later key to slip into a room across the hall. This was a complete violation of our privacy. After a message was left for the manager I now a day later call back. The manager immediately says well I just got here after not being there or able to be contacted since the incident occurred. No empathy whatsoever. He starts reading the notes and says his worked did try to enter but the inside lock was on. I'm explaining to him that was not the case. And instead of even apologizing he just becomes argumentative and says that he will need to speak with his worker again to confirm the facts. I was completely floored. There was no resolution.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Surprises

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: I was asked at check in whether I'd like to have a room on an upper floor. That was nice! It makes the visitor feel respected and honored.
Cons: There could, and should, be a bell of some sort that alerts staff or hotel management that someone is at the front desk.
Location: There were many stores and restaurants nearby, and the man checking me into the hotel was very eager to tell me about these places.
My stay at Candlewood Suites in Fort Lauderdale, Florida in late April 2017 was as expected. It is important to mention that one expects common courtesy no matter what one pays for the stay! In this I was not disappointed. However, I do have one complaint: Often the front desk has no one immediately present attending it; one arrives to a vacant corridor and reception desk. It is customary in such circumstances to look for a bell of some sort, which summons someone nearby the to desk to help you. But I looked around and found no buzzer or bell. I stand there wondering if somebody is going to show up in a few minutes. And I am one of those people who finds it quasi-classless to shout out for an unknown somebody (aside from emergencies). I also believe in being understanding and patient, so I do not shout out something like, "Hello. Is anybody there?" This may be routine at one-and-a-half-star hotels and motels, but I do not stay at such places. If the management wants to leave the front dest unattended - even with the clerk just around a corner - there needs to be a bell alert of some kind. As I've stated, there wasn't. For this reason, I would not recommend the hotel. Such a circumstance leads the guest to infer that he/she is a bother, an interruption, a distraction, etc. Unwise for any hotel hoping to compete in a highly competitive hospitality market!
5 out of 5
by Laquita

Candlewood Hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
friendly staff, very clean hotel. Only issue we had was the tv wasn't working properly. other then that it was very comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahamas

Average hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Close to airport.
Cons: Housekeeping was sloppy. I checked into a room with trash in the bin, en empty toilet tissue roll was on the vanity and tissue was in the toilet.
Location: Near airport, small shopping plaza and eateries.
Short trip. Hotel was average. Full sized fridge. Other kitchen amenities were nice.
3 out of 5
by Angelica

Close to airport, full kitchenette

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
This is the most basic hotel you can stay at. Never got housekeeping. Had to go down to ask for more towels. Had luggage trolley but you have to bring your stuff up yourself.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Double charge my credit card.

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
The room was clean and transportation to the airport was included. They double charge my credit card and I am having a hard time getting the charge removed.
5 out of 5
by Victoria

Airport Conveience

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
The Fort Lauderdale Candlewood Suites was clean, comfortable and extremely close and convenient to the airport.
1 out of 5
by betty

overpriced for what we had.

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
For $240 a night, we are accustomed to a breakfast(none here unless you count the packaged rolls for sale,) no lotion in room, had to ask for item at front desk. Not close to walking restaurants, told to take uber TV was not working, was told storms were the problem, however walking next door, the Holiday Inn Express had operable TV's I would like to be compensated for the poor quality. I felt sorry for the staff who had to field customer complaints.
4 out of 5
by Jose

Vacation stop

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
The congenital breakfast could have been better
2 out of 5
by sherril

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
First of all the TV didn't work. They kept saying the tower was down. Which was not true. My brother was staying next door at the Holiday Inn and his "dish" tv worked just fine. Secondly, the room is really out dated. And lastly, no continental breakfast. What they have is a little alcove with a bunch of items that are for sale. We cruise every year and thought we would try the Candlewood,. We'll find somewhere else to stay. We certainly would not recommend the Candlewood.