Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2017
It has nice it was convenient to my doctor's appointments
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by jodi , Hotel Management
thank you..we are glad you enjoyed your stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SEATTLE

Old but clean Hotel for price

Posted Oct 12, 2017
First Holiday Inn on Route 66 back in the day; conveniently close to most attractions and walking distance to the Famous Cozy Dog Restaurant next to Walgreens. Reasonably clean for an old hotel and really big rooms as everything was in the good old days. Laundry facilities available, room service and a classic diner bar and arcade inside the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Nasty

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: i slept
Cons: everything... (this hotel needs a "head to toe" renovation.
Location: no decent resturants
***This is my first bad hotel review**** I walked in the door of this hotel and noticed immediately that there was a distinct odor in the lobby which was a sure sign that the place was dirty and dusty. We made our way to the room and noticed a general appearance that this place was not kept fresh and clean AT ALL. Our room smelled, i lay on the bed and again a strong odor of body odor on the blankets. the carpets were dirty, the light fixture in the bathroom was a bulb hanging from a broken light fixture. Then later I went to charge a device near the air conditioning and stepped in a big puddle of water (i hope it was water) in my socks which soaked them. This i think was caused by the air conditioning because I saw a large line of old water stains traveling from the unit up high on the wall all the way to the floor. We wanted to eat dinner (they had a "restaurant" in the building but we were not about to eat at this nasty dirty place. Unless you are made to stay at this place, spend the extra $25-$30 and stay anywhere else.
4 out of 5
by carolyn l

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Best Value in Upgraded Rooms and Free Food

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: The value for money. The friendly staff, upgraded room, delicious food, and the historic display of american history around Route 66.
Cons: Please upgrade all the remaining rooms too. There are plenty of cheap hotels in the area and no reason to serve the basic rooms.
Location: The town is capital of illinois and the resting place of abraham lincoln. I suggest visit the Abraham Lincoln Museum, free for route 66 guests.
I am a frequent traveler and gold member of expedia. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels. I have stayed at this hotel previously too and other hotels in springfield area. I have one simple tip for you -- book an upgraded room at Route 66. It is the best value in the entire springfield area. The upgraded room pays for itself. Their basic rooms are good, if you are looking for just a bed to sleep. I bet most of the negative reviews are left by travelers who booked basic rooms. Pretty much all reviews are saying that the staff is pleasant and the service is good. I think the hotel is trying to serve those travelers who want the most economical night and as well as those who want valued upgraded service. I stayed at upgraded room this time. The food and beverage coupon itself paid for the upgrade, which is sufficient to have breakfast, lunch, dinner, and a drink at the hotel. The room was fresh and clean, compare to my last visit. The management told me that they just bought the hotel and upgraded half the rooms, and the remaining half will be upgraded soon. They showed me their large remodeled conference center for marriages and a large swimming pool. The hotel itself is a museum having an extensive display of american history around Route 66. I enjoyed talking with the manager who also told me about their exclusive partnership with abraham lincoln museum and since i stayed in an upgraded room, she also gave me a free ticket to abraham lincoln museum just for asking.
5 out of 5
by Suzanne

Route 66 Gem

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
This was a first stop outside Chicago on Route 66. The hotel is right on Route 66 and the Mother Road theme adds to the charm. The room was well appointed and had everything we wanted. It was very comfortable. We loved Springfield and will definitely be back to have a proper look around the area as this was just a one night stop and we didn't have enough time to explore as fully as we would have liked. We visited Lincoln's grave, which we'd definitely recommend as a stop-off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Very cool piece of history!

Posted Sep 7, 2017
This is the 1st Holiday Inn ever built in America! The north wing is still part of the original structure. Our room & the entire facility was extremely clean & comfortable. The staff was very pleasing to us & accommodating. There's a restaurant/bar on site with reasonable prices & good food. This stay was great from start to finish!
2 out of 5
by Russ

Needs to get back to the way it used to be.

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
This place is going downhill very fast. They keep taking away things that have been there for quite awhile. Like the large awning that used to be by side door or coffee in lobby. Saturday of Labor Day weekend they are fully booked and only have one person at front desk trying to check in and answer phones..... Room curtains have clips missing so they did not shut completely. Bathroom looked as though it had not had a good cleaning in Months. We like the area but they need to turn things around as other places have more bang for the same buck.........
5 out of 5
by james

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
The room was very dirty. There was hair in both beds, stains on the chair, as well as a carpet that was not vacuumed with broken glass. The toilet stopped up during our stay. Additionally there were holes in the ceiling. Finally, everything in the room, including the bathroom floor was sticky.