Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Beautiful Hotel, Great Staff

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Very happy with this hotel. Great view of the city, very nice room, wonderful staff. Proximity to the station is very convenient. If we end up back in Shinagawa we will definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, Wisconsin

Superbly Comfortable

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Serene retreat, yet handy to a major train line, restaurants and shopping.
Once you get past the slightly weird name (The Strings) and the fact that the hotel begins on the 26th floor of a sky rise, you will feel instantly at home. The staff speak English and are unfailingly pleasant and helpful. The rooms are tasteful and luxurious. Loved the breakfast buffet, and dinner in The Dining Room was excellent, too. I was actually reluctant to check out when the day came to depart, how often does that happen?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Contemporary hotel close to Shinagawa JR station

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Hotel lobby is on the 26th floor with rooms on the 27th and higher floors. Room keycard access to elevators for security. Interior atrium with lobby.
Cons: More apparent signage for hotel entrance
Location: 3-minute walk to the Shinagawa JR station with covered path at the station level. Bus terminals on the street level just below. Very convenient.
Up-scale accommodations overall. Contemporary bath/shower layout is spacious, ergonomic and efficient--well designed for both Japanese and western travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Nice hotel next to the station

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Had a nice stay but front desk forgot our shipping document so we had a hard time to pick up our luggage at Natita.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Great location, quiet and sphisticated

Posted Oct 5, 2017
We loved our stay at The Strings. Location is perfect, adjacent building to JR Shinagawa station - so many shops & restaurants where we could go without getting wet in the rain. Room is clean and modern, super comfortable bed. As the main hotel guests were business travellers, the hotel front was always quiet and sophisticated. The best thing of all was the view from the window. We enjoyed the beautiful night view of the rainbow bridge and Tokyo buildings every night. We would love to stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Truly wonderful, can't wait to go back

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Very cool decor. Amazing staff. So truly helpful and courteous. Amazing breakfast. Highly recommend. Cons: room was not that spacious but it was comfortable and the bathroom was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indonesia

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Near to train station ,, nice room , however the varieties of food for breakfast need to improve
4 out of 5
by Douglas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Comfortable hotel and great location

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was in a great location connected to the Shinagawa Station. Both the Shinkansen from Kyoto and the Narita Express trains are serviced from this station. It was perfect for one night as we arrived from Kyoto and flew out the next day from Narita.