Ratings based on 698 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Hotel is in disarray. Room smelled horrible. We changed to a different hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IA

Decent lower cost hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed
Cons: Make sure the room is properly stocked with towels. On our last day there they only gave one towel and washcloth.
The Roadstar Inn was about as I expected based on prior reviews. It is an older building but it looks like they are making improvements. They were installing new Pella windows during our stay. The lobby and kitchen areas were not great so we did not spend much time there. Our room was relatively clean and it seemed like the carpets had been recently cleaned. The bed was actually comfortable and I slept like a baby for our 3 nights there. For this visit to Madison we were looking for a cheap hotel so this met my expectations. We just needed a place to crash as we were busy during the days.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guam, USA

Go Elsewhere...Anywhere but Here

Posted Aug 8, 2017
I left after the first night. I booked for 5 nights. I went to watch the Crossfit Games. Forfeited the remainder 3 days because I couldn't find another hotel room. My health was more important. The smell of old moldy carpet and cigarette throughout the ENTIRE property made me sick that I had to leave. Staff was kind to move me to other rooms but they were all the same. It's a terrible property.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Never, never ever

Posted Jun 27, 2017
I drove in the parking lot and knew that I had made a mistake. I was told by two locals to stay anywhere but. One look at the place and I immediately cancelled my reservation.
3 out of 5
by David

Clean older motel.

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
A basic clean older motel that was adequate. Served my purpose just fine.
4 out of 5
by Alex

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is old and has not done any improvement in years. I stayed here years ago and the facility has gone downhill. The drapes did not cover the bottom of the window. The bed (king) sag and should be replaced. The carpet should be replace.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: It was convenient to the places I wanted to go.
Cons: The decor including fresh paint, furniture, and fixtures.
Check in was easy. The recommended door to enter was close to the room. There was a small refrigerator which refroze my cooler piece and kept soda and water cold. The hotel is in desperate need of updating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
I realize we stayed in Madison on graduation weekend (not why we were there), but the room was over priced, clean but showing major age, breakfast was nothing much to speak of.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel old, dirty and not maintained.

Posted May 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff
Cons: It needs a complete face lift. New furniture, new showers, new carpeting, all needs to be painted, windows washed and housekeeping needs to maintain.
Location: Not as close to UW Madison as we would have liked but had no option due to many events in town that week. Great for the out of town worker.
The room had mold in the shower, no non slip strips in the shower, filth on the wall by toilet, cigarette burns on the rug and furniture (smoking has been banned for 7 years, try updating rooms) and there were no hair dryers in rooms as stated on website. There was a huge stain on the chair the size of a honey dew melon. The cable TV had no guide and the on screen guide was so small it was straining to read. Just an overall dirty uncomfortable feeling.