Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Capt. Stannard

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: I liked that is was small, quiet, convenient.
Cons: The bath room could have used an update. As it was it was perfectly serviceable, but it had some miles on it.
Decided to stay here to attend a wedding in Deep River. Very convenient for that. Greeted by our innkeeper on arrival. Room was comfortable. Compared to modern chain hotels, the room and private bath might be considered small, but it had more character and an equally comfortable bed. Included breakfasts were very good. The inn is convenient to touring the eastern shore. We visited Mystic, wineries in Stonington, Clinton, Old Saybrook, Essex. Watching the sun set over Westbrook beach, a short drive or long walk, on an early summer night is a memory. We shared breakfast with another couple at the inn for a different wedding in that serendipitous experience that is unique to old inns. Probably not an accommodation to please everyone. For example, my wife missed not having in room television, while I thought that was one of the bonuses. And there is free wi-fi.
5 out of 5
by Joseph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by ralph from Dallas

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice people. The walls are thin and you can hear snoring all through the place. The bed was incredibly hard and uncomfortable. Now that I think about it, it wasn't that great at all. I would say three out of five. The owners were nice.
5 out of 5
by Russell

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasureable experience with great accommodations.
5 out of 5
by Linda from Berwyn

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hosts were wonderful! We hope to stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great CT town and Inn

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
The Captain Stannard was perfect for a quick trip to the area. The innkeepers are warm, kind, inviting and helpful. The property is immaculate and adorable, with many things to do in very comfortable rooms in the downstairs of the property. Though I left before they served breakfast, they left a thoughtful and generous "to go" breakfast which was very much appreciated. The rooms are convenient and incredibly comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Comfortable bed and breakfast

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: The house is roomy and pleasant. The towels were cushy. The hot water in the evening and morning for making tea or hot chocolate was great.
Cons: Extra blankets.
Location: We weren't there long enough to know. We were visiting colleges in the vicinity.
We arrived late, but the entry way was well lit and cheery. Cookies were in our room and hot water for tea was downstairs. I had to work, and there was a table with a near-by plug and good lighting in the common areas. The room was clean and comfortable. The towels were very plush. The owner was pleasant and accommodating. While they aren't in the room, hair dryers are available. The sitting room had games available. There was a fire in the fireplace when we came down for breakfast on a cold morning.
4 out of 5
by Natalia from Plymouth, MA

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
It was a cozy b&b. Loved the special touches of cookies by bedside table, and home cooked breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Paul from Sheffield, Yorkshire UK

Paul and Rosie's Road Trip 2015

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Very pleasant stop off on our road trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great B &B by the beach

Posted Aug 4, 2015
I completely enjoyed my stress free stay here. Everything was as advertised, and just what we expected. The entire staff was gracious, accommodating and kind. I highly recommend it here.