Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid the restaurant

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Easy to park, very friendly staff, clean, attractive grounds and decor. The mattress was pretty uncomfortable. The worst part was the restaurant. We tried twice and both times it was quite bad -- un-toasted English muffins under the benedict, burnt bacon, unripe fruit, raw potatoes -- it felt like the cook spent 2 seconds on every plate and sent them all out before any were done.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

facilities charge

Posted Aug 17, 2017
for some reason management decided to add an additional 'facilities' charge onto the bill. never had this before. the pool , by the way was closed early.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very pleasant place to stay.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Staff, location.
Cons: Needs decor updating.
Needs a little updating, but the staff are wonderful. Night person handled multi impatient travellers with calm politeness when AC went offline, accommadating everyone, giving free vouchers and discounts on the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Haverhill, MA

Lovely Old Inn

Posted Jul 1, 2017
We loved our stay at The Orchards. The check-in process was speedy and welcoming and our room was very spacious with a king size bed, rather than the 2 doubles we'd been expecting. There were several upholstered chairs around the room, so if we wanted to just sit and read, we could. Any time we made a request for something (i.e. an extra blanket, batteries for our tv remote) it was granted quickly and graciously. There was coffee and tea service available in the lounge which we took advantage of. The location, too, was wonderful. We had breakfast and dinner at Gala and were pleased with the choices, also with the fact that we were given a discount of 20% for being guests in the hotel. The only criticism was that a family with a young exuberant child was in the room above us on the first night. We were awakened at 6 AM by a "stampede" on the wooden floor above us that kept up for over an hour until we finally decided to just get up rather than trying to go back to sleep. Our suggestion: book families with young kids in bottom floor rooms! We enjoyed our stay at The Orchards and will stay there again when we return to Williamstown!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, but uncomfortable beds!

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
Birthday kid free getaway. When we first pulled in we couldn't believe how nice the pictures made it look. It's on a main road, from the pictures we thought it was nestled at the bottom of a mountain in the middle of quiet countryside. It's not. It's a bit dated, very clean though. Big room. Our only real complaint is the bed! So beyond uncomfortable!! My husband and I are still having back pain from the two nights on the worst mattress we've ever slept on.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brighton

Nice but only ok

Posted May 24, 2017
Little tired looking and lacked tea/coffee making facilities in room, which may be a problem if you have pre 7am starts Afternoon tea was helpful to grab a snack upon arrival Would probably look for different hotel if cause to stay in area again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Right in Williamstown

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Good food, comfortable rooms
Cons: Quieter heating systems
Location: Museums
We had very good food. The heating/air conditions system was noisy at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Neil

Disappointing

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
I'm sorry to rate this hotel so poorly because it's not like it's a disaster. It's certainly adequate. But it's misrepresented on the hotel's website: it's not a luxury hotel - it may have been 20 years ago, but it's not on par with actual luxury hotels or even with the standard chains like Hilton, Hyatt, etc We had a fireplace room that was shabby, but overall fine - long overdue for an update, particularly the bathroom.The marble was discolored, 3 light fixtures didn't work, and the pink sinks/tub/toilet clearly didn't match the rest. The shower was the worst - the floor was textured and colored so you couldn't see if it was clean, water pressure was bad, and there was no place for toiletries. Again, it works, but it's NOT luxury. We left the room in the morning and didn't return until 5 pm. When we got back, our couch was gone. The stuff on it was moved- weird, right? I asked the front desk about it and they had no idea. It hadn't been removed for maintenance, but they said sometimes they move things to due past complaints and potential "health issues." That made me a bit nervous! So we switched rooms. She gave me new key cards and I went to move our stuff; however, the new room was STILL OCCUPIED. There was clothing and a wallet on the bed. I immediately returned the keys. The staff apologized, but wow, that does not make me feel confident in their safety procedures. Everyone was friendly and tried to be helpful, but wow, I could never, ever recommend this place.