Ratings based on 1,279 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Canada

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Beauty historic hotel dating back to 1925, if my memory service me. Decor kept with the time period but has all the current luxurious amenities. If you require anything the staff will accomiate without hesitation. Location very central.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great hotel at central location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We stayed 2 nights in August, and we .oved it. This old and famous hotel has been recently restored. Location is fantastic and staff very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful renovated hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Cordial staff and very comfortable room.
Cons: Not terribly important, but most hotels of this category include chocolates on the pillows
I only was able to stay one night here before my flight from Zagreb Airport. The room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Impressive

Posted Jul 30, 2017
One night stay. Friendly staff, good location, clean, valet parking, and a comfortable bed. I definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Hotel looks beautiful, staff are friendly and helpful. Food is good and thry also serve halal options
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The hotel property is physically extraordinary and immaculate, both the public areas and the rooms! The staff is fabulous. Every person we dealt with went out of his or her way to accommodate our needs! Truly one of the world's great hotels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Arizona USA

Nice historic hotel with great location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The history, the quality, the staff, location.
The hotel was excellent with everything anyone would expect in a high class hotel but the best thing about it was the staff. They were very attentive and did everything possible to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Keep up the good work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central, well maintained, well trained staff

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Great hotel in a very nice city. Centrally located, parking available for travelers with cars, beautiful building and rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tarrytown, New York

Classy and Beautiful

Posted Jul 7, 2017
As of now (July 2017), Hotel Esplanade is the only five-star hotel in town, as both Westin and Sheraton had just been down graded to four and half stars. The art deco style building is both great to look at and comfortable to live in. Our room is spacious and well appointed; the king size bed is comfortable and the bathroom had been modernized with double sinks. The room and hallway are quite. Room service is timely and friendly and have food delivered does not cost more than eating at the hotel bistro. Staff is very friendly and helpful with decent English. Porters are eager to take your suitcase for you either to your room or taxi, although they are not always at the front door to hold the door for you, which is fine. BTW, there is no coffee maker in the room, if you are used to hotels in the U.S., but there is an underground mall next to the hotel, where you can get coffee as well as baked goods for a fraction of the cost from the hotel. (The mall also has a currency exchange service, which offers a lower rate than the one at the airport.) The bar in the lobby is lovely but not huge and can get crowded in the evening. The location couldn't be better, right in the city cente,r within walking distance to all museums, park, St. Mark's church, the city cathedral and square, main train station and the post office. Central bus station is a 20-minute walking distance. We were told that buses are faster than trains, unless you need to go to Budapest. Highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Beautifully preserved old hotel close to town

Posted Jul 4, 2017
We had an excellent meal in both restaurants and the service and knowledge of the wait staff was terrific. The location next to train station and tram stop is perfect. Walk to main square in 10 min or buy a "visit Zagreb" card and ride the public transport for free, visit zoo, museums etc for free also.