Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by sinbong from Denver Coloradoi

beautiful location in the mountain

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Location in the mountains
Cons: more of children menu at the pool
Location: not much rest and take it easy. lots of tours in the area
This hotel is located in the mountain and is a mexican upper middle class to include the cuisine. The area is very quiet, peaceful and safe. I would recommend this hotel for family
3 out of 5
by ruben from denver, colo.

service

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: nothing I will never go back to this hotel again. I hope they don.t run all there hotels this way
Cons: Service by restaurant and bar staff. This is low season service should be perfect at this time of year.Bigger variety of food in rest. would be nice.
Location: bad location to far from city need a cab to go every where fee starts at about n $6.50 US plenty of stores in the city to shop at even a walmar
Service was very bad. Waiters in all restaurants would ignore us they would walk by our table even when our coffee cups or beer glasses were empty. Its not like they were busy. It is low season. Lots of waiters standing around talking to each other. They seem to give better service to the locals they would ask the local if they needed any thing else and ignore us. Not a big variety of food in the restaurants, same food day after day couple of days food was cold they did offer to zap it. In the lobby bar jesus would argue about the name of the drink acting like he didn't know what it is. Other bar tenders were so busy texting that I would have to call them to pour me a drink funny thing is their boss would see and talk to them. Also drinks were in thin plastic cups, glasses, would be better. I did find out the hotel sells member ships to their hotel so if you are not a member you are ignored. Also there is no entertainment in this hotel so you have to go in to the city at night.
1 out of 5
by Chelo from Toronto, ON, Canada

Nightmare in paradise at the Royal Park Hotel

Posted May 26, 2013
Pros: The guy at the omelette station was very pleasant and friendly!
Cons: everything else
Location: The location wasn't bad, but we needed a cab to get around Acapulco
Extremely bad! Dirty room and terrible service. The room smelled of sewage and solvents, so much so that we were awaken by the smell at 8am and could not stand being in our room. Ocean view was only an unfulfilled promise, substituted by a large plant. Internet service only in lobby and with a weak signal. The furniture was old, and with zero maintenance: Stained chairs, old ripped blankets and sheets with holes, mold everywhere in the bathroom, poor lighting with 2 ugly lamps, Old tube TV, dirty floor and humid beds. Bad food and drinks diluted in water. I had to buy my own drinks at a local grocery store. The food was disappointing. We had to go other places to eat.The manager didn't respond to our requests or complaints. The staff was constantly chasing us around like a bunch of vultures to sell us a membership. The person working the omelette station is the only one capable of providing customers with a friendly service. He should be the manager, instead of the incompetent, unresponsive one that they have. I do not recommend this hotel. For this price you get a room in the Acapulco Princess Hotel, or Camino Real, etc. I regret having booked this hotel for my vacation and never intend on returning. And it certainly is not a 4 Star hotel, I would question it being anything higher than a 2 Star. Acapulco itself was fantastic and I really enjoyed my time travelling to restaurants and other locations. Please see pictures attached to see what I'm talking about.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was ok, nothing spectacular, would not return.

Posted May 22, 2013
TV in the room was broken, sink in the room had a leak.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Queen B from Houston, TX, USA

Great for couple get away or family vacation!

Posted Feb 19, 2013
Pros: favorite thing was the hotel staff who spoke no English their
Cons: nothing dissapointed me about hotel
Location: nice secluded area really can stay at hotel no need to go to other beaches
AMAZING!!! Staff even if they all didn't speak English they were friendly and nice. Rooms were clean and food was good. Each night there was a different selection so you don't eat same things. Hotel was secluded with police access entry away from everyone! Cannot say one bad thing want to go back to Alcapulco just becuase of hotel!!!! Don't let another review scare you this hotel was the best ever hotel and I travel all the time!
3 out of 5
by Roxanne from Alberta, Canada

Would not return even though its a beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2012
Pros: Favourite thing would have been the view
Cons: Least favourite thing was that there was no evening entertainment, internet access in our room
Location: It was a great location
The staff was very welcoming and accommodating.The service was excellent. It was disappointing that we could not get wifi internet in our room, local calls were not included or the use of the gym. The breakfast was very disappointing and the rest of the food was less than mediocur. It was very disappointing that there was no evening entertainment. As Canadian visitors we were strongly advised not to go out of our resort in the evening. Upon booking excursions we booked snorkling and then were looking into golf and a couple other boat rides but before we could complete the bookings she told us that she was asked to invite us to a 60min presentation to review becoming a member and we told her that this was our first time at this resort and we dont travel often or plan to travel to the other locations anytime soon so at that time we were not interested. She asked if we could tell her manager and we did but she put a lot of pressure on the lady and then was told that she could not book us any of the excursions because we were not interested. We were willing to spend money on events but b\c we didnt want to spend 60min listening to something we knew we were not interested in that we were turned down from the activities. The lady said that she would find us later to sell us the tickets, which she did but poor girl. That was unbelievable! It was a very nice resort, great location and view however we will not return to this resort based on the food and no evening events.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vicky from San Antonio,

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2012
Pros: It wasn't crowded at all.
Cons: The food wasn't what I expected.
Location: The location was cool. We caught a cab from the hotel to Walmart (which was less than a 10 minutes ride) and it was $5.50 for everyone.
THE Hotel was nice and everyone was friendly. The hotel was also very clean. The food was okay but I really had my heart set on some good Mexican food.....and it just wasn't as good as I expected. The beds were hard but not really much to complain about with that. Not to many Americans there.
2 out of 5
by Marco from London, UK

Food hygiene issues. Close your eyes and enjoy it.

Posted Feb 13, 2012
Cons: Food hygiene, staff action and some members of staff either very friendly or indiferent, expecting tips
Location: You will need cabs at all times when going to bars or other parts of the city, about 25 minutes away from this hotel.
My major disappointment: food hygiene. Most food available is exposed to insects and that put me off from the first day of my arrival. Although everything looked nice, big flies posing on different trays with no staff supervision made me think about hygiene level. The worst: on my third day of my stay, I started with a nice looking and smelling bean soup where I discovered a mosquito, which I showed to the waiter. Following the incident, I decided to grab just some salad and as soon as I started getting the flavour of the guacamole, I found a human hair inside it, so I decide to formally complain to the waiter then to they called the chef (Jesús) he apologised and said that the kitchen was usually very clean. That night (10.02.12) I had dinner a the "italian" restaurant and I got sick the same night. The following morning I went to the other restaurant available in the hotel (La Bahía) and I saw small ants running up and down the rolls, I let know staff about it, I don´t know what happened next because I had to leave the hotel right after my "breakfast". I had spent in different places of Mexico for 10 days and I was feeling well until I left Park Royal Hotel sick as I still am and I don´t think all those findings were just coincidence. I am not one of those people complaining about every single bit but this is to do with health and safety and also with certain good quality you expect. Nobody else bother to excuse or say anything to me so I left with a very bad impression.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tony from London UK

good,,,,

Posted Jan 9, 2012
I rarely record a comment, but those posted were very useful. Very nice hotel, beach and location. Good value for money and I would consider returning for another break.Food is not the greatest but that is reflective of the price. The quality of the food itself is good and the there is plenty, but just a little bland.The layout of the hotel may be a problem for elderly guest or those with physical impairmants, it is built on a steep hill (although there is a tram to assist movemnet).