Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great time

Posted Jul 21, 2014
nice room, beautiful beach , good food. nice staff. very hot during summer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great resort right on the beach.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Had a wonderful week with unlimited food and (top shelf) drinks in a beautiful location. The staff was amazingly friendly and always remembered our favorite drinks (while continuing to surprise us with signature drinks out of melons and coconuts)! The hotel was small enough that there was never any line for food and drink and few enough people in the pool/beach water but still big enough to have enough options. Would absolutely go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Md.

we enjoyed it very much!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: nice
Cons: They could use more hooks in the bathroom to hang wet clothes and towels. There were no place to hang anything to dry.
Location: very expensive to take a cab to go somewhere
perfect place to stay. Plenty of food! on the beach, restaurents were very good, room service was always available
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Nice food, good location

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Positives: Great workers and waiters. every thing would be delivered to us as requested in very timely manner. great food and drinks. many options.
Cons: no forcing and long sales of their vacation plans please. room as requested. more attention to cleaner sheets.
Location: great location. beach, jet ski, parasaling, spa, massage, pool, boating and if you want to try local food its easy access to go to cancun on a bus rid
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New york NY

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Great location, close to the beach, excellent service and good good choices. The staff is very friendly and quick to help. It was an excellent vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: it clean has everything you need.
Cons: all is good but would like to see a pool bar
From the moment you walk in to moment you leave the staff is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Smaller resort close to the beach with great staff

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The service was great and it was really clean.
Cons: There should be more umbrellas available. Also, more variety of food. The resort is small enough that it could be adult-only.
Location: The location was right in between some of the bigger resorts like the Hard Rock and Secrets. We went on an excursion and really enjoyed ourselves.
The resort was smaller than a lot of the surrounding ones which was really nice. The staff was so great and went above and beyond our expectations. There aren't a lot of shaded areas, so you have to get down to the beach or pool early to get a seat with an umbrella or a cabana. The food is good, but there aren't a ton of selections. We ordered a lot of room service. They do have a lot of events at the resort to break up eating at the same restaurants, which is awesome. When we arrived, we had reserved a room with a king size bed, and we were in a room with 2 double beds. We were moved the next day to a king size bed. The resort itself was very well kept and we liked how much smaller it was. The beach was so close to the resort. I did not realize it was adult-oriented, not adult-only. There were kids there, and there was nothing separate for them to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

The memories at sandos

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The hotel was clean! The staff was unbelievable! The pools what can I say... The waiters at the pool were great and they went above and beyond their jobs. Christian at the pool is the waiter to have. But overall this place is great and yes I would recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo Grove, IL

Perfect hotel at perfect beach vacation

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: staff, great rooms, good food and drinks, pools, hammocks, entertainment, quiet, great views!
Cons: more restaurants to choose from would be nice
Location: It's a smaller resort than others nearby (same amount of beach front but smaller building size). You can walk up and down the beach, jet ski, parasail
Sandos is a great resort at an affordable price (exactly the combo we were looking for). We were celebrating wedding anniversary and left the kids at home for this trip.... so keep in mind this place is perfect for adults and teens but not ideal for little kids. We did see some families with little kids and babies though and they liked to be having a good enough time, just not designed with them in mind. Incredibly attentive and polite staff. Over the top clean rooms (2 to 3 x per day). Good food and drinks. Nice pools. Great hammock chairs overlooking pool and ocean. Fun entertainment almost every night (Mexican night, Caribbean night, casino night etc). Quiet rooms at night. Perfect ocean views and beautiful and clean beach. What more could you ask for? Thanks for a great vacation Sandos!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Banff, AB

Nice hotel right on the beach.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The hotel was clean and friendly, we found the food to be of a good standard and the location was right on the beach.
Cons: The biggest issue is that was not enough umbrellas for shade and having to get down to the pool or beach early every morning to get a decent spot.
Location: Its a short taxi ride from down town ($20) if you want to do water sports Aqua world is right on the doorstep and has reps at the hotel.
Stayed at the hotel for a week it was a pretty nice mid priced hotel and is very well located. Food and drink were good the servers and bar tenders are extremely hard working. The lack of umbrellas was an issue if you need shade, and you need to get up early to get a decent spot at the pool (unless you have a suite as you get a cabana) or very early (around 6am) if you want a cabana on the beach. The servers are pretty good although a little forget full. We usually got our own drinks as it could be a half hour or more between ordering and getting, this seemed more to the lack of servers rather than work ethic. They seem more focused on "members" or customers who had suites. We had superior (basic room) and we had to always ask to have the fridge stocked although its meant to be daily. Overall it was a good hotel and we had a pretty good time. The food was of a good standard all staff were friendly. I would only recommend if you were getting a suite.