Ratings based on 512 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom AZ

Disappointing service

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: The beach
Cons: The overall service and the restaurants table layout
Location: It has the beach and the nightlife very close to the hotel. It is like 7 minute drive to the nightclubs.
It started like a dream come true and it ended with the thought of not coming back. When we first arrived (honeymoon trip) we had an amazing first impression. The staff was very welcoming and they received us with champagne and a gift in the room. At the pool there were no available places to lay down and when we finally had an open spot there was no staff to offer us something to drink or eat. The restaurants have all the tables very crowded and it seemed like we were sharing tables. The next day they offered us a special dinner which it had nothing special. The staff didn't even remembered that the manager reserved a special table for the occasion. And we didn't even get a good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2015
The Saudos resort was wonderful. Clean rooms, drinks serves to you on the beach or by the pool. And good food! Room service also 24 hours a day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2015
excellent. not too much for kids but excellent experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Soooo.... I have been read past and present reviews since Feb '15. I must say you have to experience this place for yourself. Where it is NOT a "party" place, it is GREAT for a relaxing vacation. We were celebrating our 18th wedding anniversary and it was an appropriate destination. To that end let me share: 1. The pillows did not smell. The armband did but with soap and water the smell was gone. 2. We could not hear and were not disturbed by any music from the hotels on either side. 3. We had a late arrival so we did not have to wait for our room. However, the next day I did see and speak with some early arrivals that had a bit of a wait. 4. We were greeted with champagne and towels. 5. I called and emailed ahead to let them know this was a surprise trip and they decorated the room for us and provided a bottle of wine. If possible, contact them beforehand. They responded quickly and made very effort to accommodate. 6. There are several daily activities- volleyball, cooking, guessing games, performances, ping pong tournaments, themed lunches and dinners in Zango, and bingo. With that being said, IF you are looking for a 24 hour party, this would not be your best selections. The entertainment was just enough to fill the day of relaxation. Perfect for what I was looking for in this trip. 7. There was NO shortage of drinks! The drinks were NOT weak. Ask for what you want and they will provide. If they do not have it, they will offer something in its place. 8. Room s
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First time to Cancun (and Sandos)

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Food and drinks were awesome. Service was good. Especially the poolside and beach waiters. These guys hustle hard and are very nice.
Cons: Better desserts at the buffet, ranch for the buffalo wings, strawberries for crepes. More mangos at the buffet fruit section.
Location: Good location, nice beach. wide beach area in front of hotel. softer sand than other resorts we walked past.
It was our first time to Cancun, and overall we were pleased with our stay at Sandos. Not quite 5 stars pleased, but still a good experience nonetheless. Background: we are a fairly young couple so that will play into the review. This hotel had a good mix of people when we were here (age and background). Lot of older folks in their 40s - 60s looking to relax. We still met some younger people are age in the 20s and 30s, but not many. Here are some tidbits: Food-1) Buffet was pretty decent. breakfast was good, lunch was okay. We only ate dinner there once for their Caribbean night, which was really good. Desserts are not that great. 2) Seasons restaurant was awesome. We went here 3 times for dinner. Everything here was good. 3) Gaijinn restaurant was good as well. Hibachi grill fresh food and you can meet other people Drinks - drinks were good and the liquor wasn't top shelf but still decent quality. The hotel bar doesn't get crowded or crazy at night. Very relaxed atmosphere and not much partying going on. Service - the service here was great. Restaurant waiters, poolside waiters, and hotel staff were all very helpful and quick. Sports and activities crew does a great job of keeping guests entertained. Sergio brings a lot of character and fun to the environment. Room - Decent rooms. Decor/furniture looked old. Restrooms were nice. annoying when rooms above you move chairs around, it gets loud. Beach - nice Beach. lots of chairs and hammocks/beds. soft sand
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with awesome food!

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Overall experience is great! Loved the facility, the food, customer service is awesome! A room is not super modern, but it is well maintained, even though in some places a fresh coat of paint and a shower re-grouting are needed. All restaurants served delicious food, but my favorite was Zango with a huge selection of food, fruits, breads, cakes and juices! The Japanese restaurant was interesting. Although a reservation is required for dinner, no sake is served, and they do not offer sushi or rolls (served only 3 pieces as an appetizer). So it was quite disappointing, since I was expecting a big selection of rolls or fresh sushi. But the chefs were funny, entertaining and professional. The views from the Deluxe room on the 4th floor were beautiful and overlooked partly the ocean and partly the lagoon (paid extra). Room service was great! If I needed something, the staff was very friendly and fast. The beach service was super! All the drinks were served really fast! Would definitely recommend! It is not a huge hotel like Royal Palace or Radisson, so if you like some privacy and family time, it is really great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Cons: WiFi is very very slow. If you want high speed internet, this is not the place for you.
Location: The hotel is very close to the malls on the hotel zone.
Charming, Clean and Comfortable. Can't wait to go back to Cancun.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Posted Apr 17, 2015
This is a smaller hotel than others we have stayed at in Cancun. That is why we choose it and it was a plus. It was not crowded. The hotel was nicely kept and decorated, very pleasing atmosphere. The food and service in the 3 restaurants was good. The exception was the snack bar by the beach. Our problem with the Sandos was with some of the staff and what we later learned was there refund policy. A number of times staff wanted to be tipped or offered to extra service to be tipped. It is our understanding tipping at an all-inclusive resort is for the exceptional not normal service. The waiter service on the beach was slow or not at all. Finally due to health reasons we had to leave 2 days early. I notified the front desk 2 days before we were leaving and asked about a refund. I was told I would get a credit for the 2 days to be used later. It was not true. Upon check out I ask again about the credit and was told to contact the travel agent (Expedia). When I did I was told Santos would not credit or refund the 2 days. I will not return to a Santos resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver,CO

GREAT RESORT (Not a partier resort)

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Room. Food. Drinks. Activities. Location.
Cons: Someone to pick up towels around the pool area so you know what seats are open.
Location: The location is pretty much the same as all the other resorts. It's about a 10 minute bus ride to the malls and downtown (It'll cost you $1.00)
We stayed here for 4 days and it was awesome. We originally booked it, just due to all of the things and little extras that were included in the "all inclusive" like premium alcohol and etc. We we arrived, we were greeted by two extremely friendly staff members, one to check us in, the other to hand us glasses of champagne and the female I was with a rose. I even accidentally booked the wrong room, and they were extremely helpful in getting us what we wanted. The pool side bar and pizzeria are awesome. In fact the whole pool area is great. There are 3 pools so you never really have to fight for a place to relax. The only downside to the pool area (and the whole resort) is that it would have been nice to have an employee going around picking up towels from chairs that were no longer occupied so you didn't have to guess what was available and what wasn't. Only other downside is that the resort is next to a much taller resort, so by 4pm the whole pool area is casted in shade, which is a bummer when you're trying to get your tan on. Otherwise everything here is excellent. Waiters come around the pool and beach tor refill your drink orders pretty consistently. Some waiters are better than others, but you get that anywhere. The restaurants are all delicious, especially Gaijin which is a Japanese hibachi restaurant. Bar One is also really really nice in the evening and generally have some sort of live performance every night. The room itself was incredibly nice and comfy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Luxury on the beach

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Sandos luxury resort was a very nice hotel which is still ironing out its true protential, while at the same time it has wonderful staff serving all the guests.