Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Must get a great deal for value to be there.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Location: Older residential/commercial which is being rehabed, but has a long way to go.
Location would have been worrisome if not reassured by staff. "Mod" rms are very small. Bed and 2ft desk with a chair. Old TV. Day rooms are nice, but don't use much accept for b'fst which was very good. Traffic noise was loud, even at night. Staff was very pleasant, but owner made you feel like she was doing you a favor. We were there for 3 nights and gone all day. 3star motel is a better value.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sanata Monica + Santa Fe

Promising online disappointing in person

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was wonderful. Lovely, accommodating chef and a nice opportunity to talk with other guests. Great location.
Cons: Service, attention to detail. How costly could it be to buy tissue, lotion, sweep and empty the trash. Better in-person communication.
Location: Nice quiet neighborhood near museum and convenient to downtown.
I was looking forward to my stay in this "modern" b&b. Decor in public spaces was as pictured, but the room was a little run down, especially the bath. Told that check-in was 2 to 10 but when I arrived at 9:30 there was a sign on the door to to text for help. The manager had gone to the store. I managed to find my room with phone guidance and settled in. There were no "amenities" others than those that looked like they were left by previous guests. No kleenex, really? The floor felt gritty as if it had not been swept and it was no better the second night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jeremyfrom NOLA

Stay in the Treehouse (City View?)

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed in the Treehouse even though the reservation said City View. Not sure what the difference is, but the treehouse was more than acceptable. Each room appears to be a little different so I will specifically review my room. Great soaker tub and extra large shower with multiple shower heads. Closet was enormous if you need space. Still had the iron and board I needed. Breakfast each morning was excellent (smoothie and quiche or omelette every morning is the way to go!). Also was able to interact with everyone when I wanted to and step away when I did not. No issue with loud guests in this room, as you are at the top of the building (which can also result in a long walk up the stairs if you are the loud guest getting back at 1am. Apologies to anyone I woke up!) Wine bottles lined up when I arrived back after working a long day were a nice treat as well. Only reason this is a 4 instead of a 5 is the change of room (which was not an issue for me) as well as the towels (was not the biggest fan of their choice). Last item is that I was never shown where the washer & dryer were, or how to use them (or whether detergent & dryer sheets were provided). These items are all nit picky but would have made the difference between a 4 and a 5 star. All in all Lisa and Brandi were excellent, and I would definitely stay again. Would definitely consider this place for a romantic weekend in Houston with my honey as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mike Wheelerfrom Dallas, TX

Casual and convenient

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff and guests who share living areas in this apartment turned hotel. Comfortable and clean rooms. Convenient to greenway plaza, downtown, west u, and galleria areas. Quiet neighbourhood that is in transition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin TX

Fantastic alternative to a Hotel!

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Why would you stay in a hotel when you could stay here? The location is ideal for everything I want to do, the staff is wonderful, the rooms are clean and spacious, and the breakfast is amazing. I felt much more relaxed when I left than I do in all the chain hotels I normally stay in. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jasonfrom Lafayette

Great place

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ideal location. Great rooms. Great food. Great price. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tolles B&B mit persönlichem Ambiente

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Am besten gefallen hat mir die freundliche, offene Atmosphäre, in der man schnell spannende neue Leute kennenlernt.
Location: Das Modern B&B befindet sich in direkter Nähe zum Museumsviertel in Houston. The Menill Collection und Rothko Chapel sind in 10 Fußminuten erreichbar.
Ich habe im August 2014 insgesamt fünf Nächte im Modern B&B verbracht. In anderen Bewertungen hatte ich schon davon gelesen, dass dies ein Platz sei, an dem man schnell Menschen kennenlernt. Das war nicht untertrieben: binnen kurzer Zeit kannte ich nicht nur das sehr freundliche Personal inklusive Lisa, der Besitzerin, sondern auch einige Gäste. Die großen Aufenthaltsräume (inklusive umfangreicher Plattensammlung!) laden dazu ein, dort Zeit zu verbringen und mit Leuten zu reden. Am letzten Abend wurde ich sogar eingeladen, mit Lisa, einem Stammgast und einigen Freunden der beiden mit zur Quiz Night in einem Pub in der Nähe zu kommen. In welchem anderen Hotel würde das schon passieren? Insgesamt kann ich das Modern B&B jedem an's Herz legen, der Spaß daran hat, zwanglos neue Menschen unterschiedlichster Nationen und Professionen in persönlicher Atmosphäre kennenzulernen!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kayfrom Washington

would stay again

Posted Aug 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I usually stay in a hotel. mY husband booked this room. I have to say I wasn't sure about an B&B but I liked it. got to interact with others staying there and got to meet the owner, very nice lady. A marothoner and always has things going on, things you can join in if you want. the rooms felt like if i where in a dorm. but not a big deal. also this B&B is near a lot of great locations and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TX

Such a nice change

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The owner was there to greet us when we arrived. She gave us a tour of the place, recommended close by restaurants for diner and accompanied us on a full walk through of our room to ensure all was to our liking. Very clean place with SUPER comfortable bed, spacious shower and a separate whirlpool tub. The breakfast Chef was phenomenal in her preparation of made to order omelets and other offerings as well. Like other B&B's I've stayed at, the breakfast is in "family" style; around a big table, dining with the other guests. We really enjoyed meeting the other guests around the table. Location is walking distance from one-off style shops and eateries. Located in a nice neighborhood with nice people. We cannot wait to stay at Modern B&B again the next time we are in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com