Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chucklebutt from New York, NY

Not as bad as the other reviews say.

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Brand new renovated rooms with new furniture, beds and tv. Free full breakfast.
Cons: The public areas and the parking lot.
Location: Cornell University, Ithaca Commons, Taughanock State Park, Treeman Park
If you're looking for a great hotel, go to the Statler, don't come here. But if you're a budget conscious traveler, you could do worse. A lot of the complaints in other reviews are true. The parking lot is a disaster, but I've never picked a hotel based on the parking lot, and the public parts of the hotel have the original, dark, ugly 70s decor. However, the hotel seems to be going through a renovation and the first place they started was the rooms. Our room was beautiful and completely modern. Brand new beds, brand new furniture, brand new flat screen TV, new sheets, new towels. While not new, the bathroom was very clean. If you don't plan to spend a lot of time in the hotel, and only in your room, this place is very comfortable. In addition, the free breakfast was very good. Eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, yogurt and a do-it-yourself waffle maker.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kind of a weird place. Not your typical hotel.

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Nice breakfast and staff
Cons: Repave parking lot. Try to make the plot on which the hotel is located more aesthetically pleasing.
Location: Ithaca. Great hiking, site-seeing, beautiful country
Room was fine except outlet was broken. Parking lot is full of pot holes. Breakfast was very good. It's in an industrial area, so not a pleasing neighborhood. The entire place should be updated. It's like it's straight out of the 60's.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by linda from buffalo,ny

Tired but adequate

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Replace carpets, window treatments to block light, repave parking lot.
Location: Location felt safe, short drive into town. Buttermilk falls, commons area with funky shops and restaurants, Cornell ornithology lab, etc...
Friendly staff, great breakfast included, but hotel in serious need of sprucing up. Carpet in room looked filthy, no light blocking window treatment, parking lot a moonscape of potholes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

OK on a budget

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed here for an event 30 or so minutes away. It was a busy weekend in the area so there was not much hotel availability. This place was tired. The hallways all smelled a little funky and the lounge chair in my room was visibly filthy. I wouldn't let me wife sit in it. The price was ok as I didn't have many other options but in the future I wouldn't go back. I've stayed at nicer motels for less money. This place needs an update.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great!

Posted Aug 11, 2013
We like this hotel. Epecially the great breakfast. We will take this hotel next time we visit Cornell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Odobenus from NYC

Surprisingly good

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Ugly photo and dismal lot always put me off of staying here. I got a reservation as an Expedia hidden name hotel and found it surprisingly good. The room I was is, a suite on the second floor, was nicer than the rooms at the Econolodge or the Ramada near by. I don't know if the first floor rooms are as nice; the first floor hall had a musty smell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dirashe from Ontario, Canada

very good for night staying

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Clean and comfortable room that has everything for sleepovers, with a king bed. Breakfast was better than expected, a buffet with hot meal selection. Location is around 6km from the downtown, close to highway and shopping outlets, very close to Cornell university. Price was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Philly

Convenient to many Ithaca attractions

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: Location, nice room, breakfast (which wasn't mentioned anywhere we noticed.)
Cons: Older property under renovation, but our room was just fine, as was the pool and lobby/breakfast area.
We bought lunches at the Ithaca Bakery, a few blocks away. Easy access to Cornell arboretum, sapsucker woods, and a short drive to various gorges. Easy travel to Corning or Watkins Glen as well
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to Cornell and Ithaca College

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Convenient to colleges; rates were good; mattresses and linens were good.
Cons: Curb appeal!!! Looks like a factory. New parking lot. New rugs and paint in the hallways.
Location: We were touring colleges, so this hotel was very convenient.
We arrived after 11 pm. Parking lot was dark and in terrible condition - needs to be re-paved! Front desk help was friendly and efficient. Hallway rugs are filthy! Room rug was a little better. One of the keys did not work in the door. We were locked out of our room and had to return to the front desk for a new one. Beds were comfortable, but couldn't wait to leave in the morning. Trash in the hallway!