Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great outlook from some rooms

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: Staff and position
Cons: Some rooms
Location: Fabulous location for exploring and walking or climbing
Given an up grade when unable to warm booked room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Cheap and cheerful. You get what you pay for.

Posted Dec 18, 2017
We parked the car. The car park was like a sheet of ice and nearly fell several times. The room was small but ok. The bed was uncomfortable, sheets stained, pillows as flat as a pancake, a hand print on the wall, round the bath was grubby although the actual shower was fine. The sink had lovely taps and that was the best thing in the hotel. Badly need decorated! The view was lovely. We couldn't get a cooked breakfast until 7.30 and we had to be away for then. Reluctantly they allowed as continental from 7 but on arrival at 7 the waiter looked confused but never the less served us. There were other people there in a similar situation,mostly workmen. Slipped again going back to car and was glad to get out of the hotel. We paid 45 and weren't staying long or I would have complained. Do a refurb and this could be a beautiful hotel. Won't be back which is a shame.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

One night review

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: Not too expensive for one night stay.
Cons: Didn't have the opportunity to see other rooms, but a refurb would certainly improve the hotel.
Location: N/A
Our room at the rear of the hotel was bit tired. Although clean and comfortable it had no outlook.
5 out of 5
by robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Room not clean upon arrival

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Nice view of the Loch Breakfast was decent
Cons: A working shower
Location: Walking.
When we checked in there was black soil in the shower and the room hadn't been hoovered. We were asked to wait in the lobby while two men cleaned our room and removed a travel cot. After the soil had been removed, the shower cubicle still demonstrated black grime which we cleaned ourselves. The shower was unusable, fluctuating between freezing and boiling. The waiter rolled his eyes at me when I asked for warm milk. Our stay was generally unpleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glasgow scotland

Was nice hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
I have stayed at this hotel on many ocassions and always enjoyed it however this time I booked a twin room and 2 singles .the twin room on grown floor was nice apart from the very very dull lightbulbs one single room had no light bulb in one lamp tried to phone reception only to find phone didn't work had to go down 2 flights of stairs to report it .then in bed watching TV .remote was old had no arrow to scroll up or down .and in the morning were seated for breakfast .waited 40 mins for service and food was a big let down egg yolk solid black pudding dry &hard disaster and to top it all medication which was labeled and accidently left in room eventually got someone to answer phone to be told it had been binned .won't be back again 2 of my friends had never been before and I had praised it . Sorry now.. as they have let a lot of things slip and some staff were very off hand
4 out of 5
by Gordon

One night at Arrochar

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
Given previous reviews, we were not expecting a fantastic hotel but initial impressions were good. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and room was spacious with comfortable beds. However, some refurbishment and redecoration are needed as we found the wall paper in our room was mainly hanging loose and the enamel bath had a large chip. We also had a room at the back overlooking an array of oil tanks and facing the main road which was noisy as it was more or less level with our window. The view from the front of the hotel was beautiful as it overlooks the loch, so for a longer stay we would consider paying extra for a room on that side which would have the view and be quieter. Breakfast was average and the restaurant staff much less friendly and helpful than at reception. Overall, acceptable for a budget hotel but with a little effort could be so much better.
4 out of 5
by Mrs R M

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel with clean room and comfy bed. Food delicious. Free parking
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Great location

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Location , great views and off road parking
Cons: Improve the rooms so that every customer gets a nice room not just the ones who booked direct with the Hotel.
Location: Tarbet for the boat trip around Loch Lomond. Less lovely village Killeen lovely village with beautiful waterfall The Village Pub in Arrochar
Great location, off street parking . Room smelt of damp, had mound on the ceiling and the wallpaper was peeling off. We requested a change of room the next morning. The receptionist was lovely compared to the one upon arrival.. We were able to look at the alternative room. It was 100% better than the first room so we changed rooms with no hesitation. I would recommend the hotel for the location, view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

Lovely location & good value for your money.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Location. Great value for money. Food was good.
Cons: Staff. Very efficient but not friendly, can't smile. Room was actually too small, should of said something while we were there.
Location: Location is on the Loch with great views, real Scotland. We were on the motorbike as it has great roads to ride.
Stayed two nights and chose the hotel because of the location. Which is great. It is a large hotel so it is used by a lot of coach groups, which we had no trouble with. Not being discriminate but almost all of the staff are non-British (Scottish), which is a shame because we visit & love Scotland as the Scots are lovely friendly people with a great sense of humour. We didn't find that here, except for the man behind the bar & the Scottish woman.