Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by tamir

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good ambiance.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Green area, nice atmosphere, small and well decorated.
Cons: Clean carpet (room at ground floor)
Location: Florence city center is just 10-15 minutes by car.
Only problem was that the carpet did not give the feeling of cleanliness. (dark stains)
5 out of 5
by Christine from Nottingham

Beautiful hotel, very quiet, great owner.

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
3 night stay whilst vsiting Florence and the area around. The owner was really helpful booking restaurants and suggesting parking and places to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Preston

Exclusive but isolated

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: Exclusiveness and comfort
Cons: All good
Location: It is fairly isolated and a car would be a necessity if you wanted to avoid extortionate taxi fares getting into Florence.
Getting to the hotel is an adventure in itself! It is located in a rural area and approached via small back roads and then up a steep bank which leads to the hotel gates. The hotel still retains the look and feel of a country hunting lodge as, although it has been extensively modernised, it retains the charm of its historical roots. The hotel does have an outside swimming pool, but it is not heated, and unfortunately the area does seem to be the haunt of mosquitoes, although the rooms are well protected by screens over the windows. There is no lunch or dinner provided but breakfast is adequate. The hotel also provide advice about winery tours, and we visited the Ruffino Winery, which is very enjoyable and offer a discount for guests from the il Sasso hotel. One word of warning if you do not have your own vehicle, and that is that taxi fares are extortionate especially if the driver does not know where the hotel is located (it apparently only costs E80 to fly from Naples to Cardiff but we spent more than that getting to the winery and then into Florence).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Ab

Nice hotel located in the hills.

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Quiet locations with all amenaties
Cons: Found it to be more than we expected
Location: Small towns and vineyards close nearby in the Tuscany hills. Small family resteraunts close but ask for directions.
Located just 20 minutes from downtown Florence, beautiful setting. Emiliano and his staff go above and beyond to make sure your stay is a pleasurable one. Suggested a private cooking class by a renowned chef high in the Florence hills that was nothing short of spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to Florence

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Great stay at Villa il Sasso. Lovely setting and attentive staff. Nothing too much trouble.
4 out of 5
by Lesley from Sheffield

Tuscan charm

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
Had a lovely four days here. We were attending a wedding nearby so just used the hotel as a base. Breakfast was lovely and we enjoyed our coffees sat outside. we had standard rooms which were clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Connie from Hong Kong

Wonderful stay

Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay a lot. The hotel is located away from the city where i can enjoy the tranquillity. The whole room is beautiful decorated with impeccable details. The owner Emiliano and his staffs are all very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place for anyone who want to be in the Chianti region and still want to get into the city of Florence.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels