Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Beautiful building xx

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Shower to low, moved room no problem, ordered paper did not arrive. Staff very pleasant (need to smile more) very clean for an old building. Lovely and quiet no noise from other guests or parties. Relatives live 15mins away never heard of it. Need to market better xx
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

Ok for one night

Posted Sep 30, 2016
I was staying here on my own as I was in business in the area. The hotel was ok. Nothing wrong with it but nothing outstanding either. I'd probably stay here again if I was in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great hotel in 17th century building.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Overall, a good experience only let down by 1 very unfriendly member of staff who looks after breakfast and early checkouts. He needs to be reminded he's in the hospitality industry.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Nice hotel, but issue with check in

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Lovely looking hotel, very pretty.
Cons: Understaffed and very disappointing that the Manager did not apologise for the mistake and speak to us personally. Uncomfortable beds and room decor
Location: Visiting on business.
Booked 2 superior rooms with Expedia, but on check in there was only one room available and it wasn't a superior, the hotel believed that Expedia only booked one room, although I had the proof of booking. They swapped the available room from a double to a twin and suggested I share with my work colleague! This clearly wasn't acceptable to us, so they looked for other accommodation in the area, but everywhere was fully booked. We eventually agreed to take the one available room and another room that was about to undergo maintenance to the shower, and did not have any water to the room (although in the end, there was water to the room). We were offered compensation, which was satisfactory, but money wasn't the real issue here at all. We were looked after by the Receptionist and I presume an Assistant Manager (who kept having to leave us to serve in the restaurant). Both these ladies were very nice and a credit to the hotel. They kept referring to the Manager (Marius?), but he was too busy also serving food and did not come to speak to us once, even though he passed us many times in the reception area. I think this was incredibly rude and very disappointing. The whole episode took over 30 minutes to resolve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Beautiful quiet hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2016
After a small panic when the hotel hadn't received our booking from Expedia, the staff were incredibly helpful and managed to find a room for us. The Suite we were put into was amazing, really spacious, will definitely consider booking one in the future. Food was really nice in the bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely building and a decent hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: Everything was very good.
Cons: Nothing of note.
Location: Close to Birmingham airport and the National Motorcycle Museum.
My only slight gripe was that I had to wait for quite a long time to get checked in at reception and for a drink at the bar however I did check in quite late (approx. 10pm) so I guess that can be forgiven. Otherwise everything was absolutely fine, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was fine, nothing exceptional but more than adequate. I didn't have dinner so I have no idea whether the food was any good or not. And finally the building is a lovely old fashioned stately home which has been converted very sympathetically. I would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Interesting place to stay

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Nice charming building with beautiful garden. Interior needs updating and better cleaning. Service needs improvement.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset UK

Beautiful to look at.....

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Receptionist. Soon sorted out our complaint. Building Staff Food
Cons: Clean edges, banisters, carpets. Painting required in some places. We were in the brewhouse
Location: Loads of things to do around Birmingham
It really needs a deep clean. Would not pass the white glove test but staff were wonderful and food superb.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointiing

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: Property
This hotel has so much potential to be lovely unfortunately they have cheeped out on some of the renovations. Our room was ok. The bedside lamp did not work, poor lighting in the bathroom, bed was hard and throughout the carpets are tired and stained. Stairs only to top floor. The food was overpriced and not very good. Staff were nice enough but english not their first language.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quirky = small closet like room apparently!

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: The look of the outside.
Cons: Advertising of the superior classic rooms!!
Location: Location was good for what we needed it for i.e. getting to Villa Park to see world cup rugby match!
The look of the hotel is really nice from the outside.... I booked a superior classic room i.e. not the absolute cheapest thinking it would be a nice large(ish) but basic comfortable room. We were told room 210.... I knew we were in trouble when the signs to room 210 were on pieces of paper stuck to the wall. On walking into the room I wondered where the rest of it was....ok so it's slightly small, but I'm sure there will be a nice view right..... WRONG! You look outside and your view is of a skylight surrounded by four walls, yes it was a view to nowhere! You could only fit in what appeared to be a standard sized double bed, and a very small table with the tea/coffee on it. The wardrobe was equally as small. When enquiring with reception if this was indeed a superior classic room, the receptionist said yes all the rooms in the main house were which is why you pay more, they are all "quirky". I told him there was nothing superior about it but with respect to him he immediately offered me the price of a standard room. I got a sense they had this particular complaint before since his offer was ready and waiting to go! My impression was that it was usually meant as a single occupancy room, one set of towels out on the bed (the spares in the cupboard), one portion of biscuits... etc. Completely not worth the money!