Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from trinidad

Right in the middle of everything

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Very pleasant staff very accommodating. The stairs are some getting used too. Was good value for money with breakfast too. Cannot go wrong. And the location is great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

a home away from home

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: the friendly staff, the helpful staff, the caring staff, the amazing breakfast and the value for money
Cons: the pillows were very flat
Location: Wow, what an amazing location! everything you ever wanted is right there and the castle is amazing
I stayed two nights in Cardiff for a combination of business and site seeing. The Sandringham was ideally located for my visit. Everything I wanted to see and do was right near by. The price of the hotel was very reasonable. For what it cost I thought the hotel was good value. It was not fancy and certainly could benefit from some refurbishing - but then they would put their prices up! As it says in the advert there is no lift at this hotel. My room was on the top floor; 79 steps from the street to my room. It was a good workout! The thing that impressed me most about this hotel was the staff. I've never met a more friendly and helpful group of people. I was a bit nervous about staying in the city centre on my own but as soon as I walked in to the Sandringham I felt like I was at home. The greeting was so friendly and helpful and put me at ease right away. When I left two days later I felt I was leaving friends behind.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utrecht, NL

Great location and staff, but super old facilities

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: The front desk staff, the location.
Cons: Mattresses! Super thing, lumpy, uncomfortable.
Location: PERFECT location, right in the heart of the city!
The location is perfect, the price is right, and the staff are incredible! If that's all you need then it's perfect. However, the beds are horrible, everything is super outdated, the walls are paper thin, and the showers have no pressure. If you want to plug you phone in and have it anywhere near the bed you better bring a super long extension cord, as the only 2 plugs in the room are on the far side. The breakfast was basic but not bad. If they simply put new mattresses on the beds, told their staff to talk quieter in the halls, and added better shower heads the place would be incredible! But then it wouldn't be the same low affordable price...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Simon, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I promise that all beds are less than two years old but I shall check on your advice. I will also speak with my housekeepers and check on the shower pressure as this is normally okay. I will act on your comments. Kind regards, Simon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NYC

Comfortable place in Cardiff

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: There are no elevators in this hotel, so if you can't handle stairs, this might not be the place for you.
Location: See above.
We spent three days in the Sandringham and on the whole really enjoyed our time there. Its located only a short distance from the heart of the city and most of its attractions. It is adjacent to a jazz club where we got to hear some great traditional New Orleans jazz while eating a terrific meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Centrally located hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Good value hotel in central Cardiff, friendly staff, reception manned 24 hours for those partying late. Unfortunately there was no flexibility in the 2pm check in time.
5 out of 5
by Moana

Sunny outlook at the Sandringham

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
A big thank you to Simon and the hotel staff for all their help with my luggage up and down the stairs, advising me of places to go and advising me to keep me safe. Very handy location to the shopping precinct, public transport, Cardiff Castle and the railway station. Great breakfasts and OK meals in Cafe Jazz. Great international food options within walking distance too.
4 out of 5
by Laukik

Fantastic

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Internet wasn't working, otherwise it was overall really nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cypress, CA

Great Location for UCL Final

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: The location was ideal and the staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Cons: A lift would help. Carrying 22KG suitcases up several flights sucked. The nightly rates were outrageous, likely influenced by the UEFA CL Final.
Location: Saint Mary St is ideally located with restaurants, pubs, and Cardiff Castle all within short walking distance. You can also carry open containers.
I booked the room due to its proximity to Principality Stadium, location of the UEFA Champions League Final. It also happened to be one of the last rooms available in Cardiff. My second floor room overlooked Saint Mary Street, the focal point of the city for tourists in town for the match. This location also proved to be a bit of a detriment because of the round the clock revelry on the street. This was not too much of a drawback though. The Sandringham is ideally located to explore Cardiff on foot. There are numerous restaurants and pubs nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Nice hotel great location in the City Centre

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Great location
Cons: The decor a bit dated
Location: Central location for shopping seeing the sights and eating out
Staff very friendly and helpful room very clean and the breakfast was very good