Ratings based on 1,650 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel!

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Love the room and service was excellent! Surrounded by nice restaurant and so much entertainment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Clean, friendly, very short walking distance to Greek Town Casino, and Fishbones restaurant has excellent food and is located next to the main lobby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy

Posted Feb 8, 2016
4 of us stayed there & no one had sleep all night. Very- very noisy hotel! Hallway noise echoes into room & we could hear every door opening & closing. Alarm on car below went off for half of night. The best thing about Athenium are Darnell & all bell boys. They were very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Old, old, old need major renovation

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: Location
Old bathroom,not clean the only good thing about this hotel is location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close proximity to city amenities.

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Exceptional staff. Personalized attention beyond the call of duty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Delightful Interior Design

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Location, interior design, overall quality of the suites.
Cons: The included continental breakfast is a bit of a joke. During my most recent stay the wifi signal was hit and miss.
Location: Located next to a People Mover tram station and the Greektown Casino. Lots of restaurants and bars in the neighborhood.
I've now stayed twice at this terrific hotel. The interior -- from the lobby to the atrium to the bi-level suites -- is an architectural gem. The suites are clean, quiet and comfortable. The hotel is just steps away from the city's People Mover tram. Fishbones, the hotel's restaurant and bar, is large and lively, and it serves three meals a day. The hotel is located next to the Greektown Casino, and the area has attracted numerous eating and drinking establishments.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

loud!

Posted Jan 25, 2016
This hotel was beautiful, clean, comfortable and well situated... However you can hear absolutely everything through the walls of the suite. It makes for a very sleepless night. Very unfortunate that this lone single complaint will keep us from returning
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

This is not a 4 star Hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Staff very helpful.When the bellman tried to push the "down" elevator button, it would not work, so he pushed the "up" button to call the elevator
Cons: Hotel is beat up, needs a complete makeover. the lobby is the best part of the hotel.
Location: Great location in Greektown, good restaurants are close by.
We selected this hotel based on 4.4 rating on Expedia. It is NOT a 4 star hotel. The hotel is in fair to poor shape in many areas. Carpet in room is dirty. Cracks in sink, and tiling. Wallpaper damaged in numerous locations around the hotel. We chose a suite as it has a separate bedroom. The bedroom is down a set of 4 steps, and the steps are right next to a table and mirror where you fix your coffee (trip/fall hazard). Staff were very nice, but they are working with a hotel that needs to be updated and spruced up. Continental breakfast was skimpy, and only available for short period (suggest you skip it and get a good breakfast). Parking is $25/car/day, which only adds to the expense of a hotel that is already overpriced. One bizarre painting on wall is extent of decorations in room. Coffee service in room is low quality. We are not sure why this is rated 4.4 and with a VIP as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern CA

Worked well

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Room was good and location was.great and staff was friendly and professional. This hotel also has a great restaurant!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's a great location in Greektown

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Convenient to all downtown activities. We were there for a Lions game and it's within walking distance.