Ratings based on 1,705 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown.

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: People, lobby.
Cons: Add a sofa and low table to the junior suite.
Location: Near lots of downtown restaurants / bars and Greektown Casino. (Didn't use any of these tho). Close to the RenCen at a fraction of the cost.
Much less expensive than the Marriott RenCen. Easy walk to RenCen. Lobby nice. Exterior nice. Fantastic staff. Very friendly and obliging. Really delightful people. Made sure you had all the important information. Continental breakfast a bit thin (only sweet Danishes? No regular "breads"?) Room was called a Junior Suite. A suite has to have more than 1 room, though and this did not. If it is a "junior" suite than one expects a sofa / relaxing area. This was just an extended hotel room with an internal staircase (impractical) and alot of wasted space. Otherwise, furniture is what you would expect from another hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zentral aber unfreundliches Personal

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Lage
Location: Nähe MGM und Greektown Casino
Personal schon beim Checkin lustlos und unfreundlich Frühstück ist ein Witz und auch nur bis 09:00 Uhr Verfügbar - wobei der Cafe schon ab 08:45 leer war und nicht aufgefüllt wurde. Auf Nachfrage wurde auch nicht reagiert. Das einzig positive ist die Lage
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Superb customer service + great and safe location

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: Safe and central location right by the GreekTown People Mover station, but easily walked down to the river front and up to Comerica Park in minutes
Cons: Only one minor note, the carpet in our room could have been cleaner, but given the weather outside it is understandable that it would be a bit dirty
Location: A wide variety of dining options are within blocks, give Pizza Papalis a try!! Great location if you are attending a Red Wings, Tigers, or Lions game
Very spacious room and bathroom, really enjoyed having the separate bedroom, plus our view of the GM Center was amazing especially at night. Used the free shuttle service to go out to the Motown Museum... But hands down the best part of our stay was the hotel staff, everyone was so friendly and always asking if they could help you in any way. And a special shout out to the concierge staff who went above and beyond to arrange baggage storage and transportation back to the airport for us on an extremely busy afternoon (Tigers opening day)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never Again

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Was awakened at 12:00 am by loud music and noise from the Bouzouka club directly across from my hotel room. This continued unabated until 2:30 am when the establishment closed. The patron noise continued until 3:30 am at which time I and my wife prepared to check out. We will never visit this hotel again and will not be recommending this hotel to anyone that we know. Very disappointing experience especially on our wedding night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable but not 4 star

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: Great Location and spacious room.
Cons: Updates should be made.
Location: Plenty to do very close to everything downtown
The bed was very uncomfortable.. pretty bad night's sleep because of it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, ON

A nIce, small downtown hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: The hotel was clean, staff friendly. Room was large with a separate sitting area with a door separating the sleeping area.
Cons: Better soundproofing would be nice as the hallway and other guest room noise seemed excessive.
Location: Downtown is very compact. The hotel location made for easy access to all major attractions of interest whether it be by foot, shuttle or people mover
Excellent downtown location at the heart of Greektown within 5 minutes of the USA/Canada tunnel. A short stroll to numerous eateries, bars, casino, people mover monorail, ..... Free hotel shuttle to other downtown places of interest was a bonus.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Run Down with broken elevators

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Pros: Large rooms with large bathtubs, two TVs and separate living and sleeping areas.
Cons: More power outlets in the room, working elevators and more lighting in the rooms.
Location: This location has several places to eat and bars attached or on the same block. It is also next to a casino which can be fun AND loud.
I had a pleasant check-in experience at the hotel but found my room to be slightly run-down. There were not enough outlets, although the room was quite large and had two TVs. I was able to adjust the temperature in my room which was nice and slept OK despite some street noise due to a casino being outside my room's window. The real issue came in the morning, when all four of the elevators were apparently not working. After pushing the button and waiting several minutes for an elevator to come, I finally had to walk down 7 flights of stairs to the lobby with my luggage in tow. I let the front desk staff know the elevators weren't working and I had just come from the 8th floor to which they simply said "we know". There was no signage or notice of the elevators being out, not to mention rudeness on behalf of the staff. I was severely disappointed with the customer service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location in Greektown, big rooms

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: Location, room size, shuttle serivice
Cons: Hotel getting a tired. Room, common areas elevators need updating Add a sofabed in the living room for families
Location: Great restaurant in hotel and in nearly Greektown
Excellent, friendly staff. Shuttle took us to hockey game and back. Greektown restaurants and bars right around the corner. Rooms very large but a bit tired.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pickering, Ontario

Large Rooms

Posted Mar 15, 2016
We booked rooms at the Atheneum for our hockey trip. The rooms are large and comfortable. The hotel is located in Greek town and close to bars and restaurants. The hotel staff was friendly and we took advantage of the courtesy shuttle van to go to dinner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in Downtown Detroit

Posted Mar 13, 2016
We loved our stay at the Atheneum. We came to town for a show at St Andrews Hall, which is a quick 3 minute walk from the hotel. Lots of great restaurants and bars nearby, as well as the Greektown Casino. Plenty to do without ever having to drive. Speaking of, the hotel offers a shuttle within a 5 mile radius. It runs until midnight and will even come pick you up. Super handy service and a good option for anyone nervous about walking around in Detroit (we walked all over the place downtown and didn't have any problems.) The staff are extremely pleasant and attentive. If you need anything, let them know and they make it so. Our sweet was clean and roomy; actually a lot bigger than we were expecting. The sofa in the sitting area wasn't the most comfortable, but that's a minor gripe. The bathroom was HUGE with an over-sized soaking tub and more than ample pressure from the shower. Beds were comfy and the room was quiet at night: we never once heard a peep from the rooms next door or above us. Likewise, street noise was non-existent. The only thing keeping me from giving the Atheneum 5 stars across the board is the room showed some age and could use an update: the carpet had obviously seen a lot of traffic, the hinges on the bathroom door were showing a little rust, minor things like that. One concern: there are 4 steps down from the sitting room/bathroom level down to the bedroom level. At night, in the dark, the first step is invisible. BE CAREFUL!