Ratings based on 2,109 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for our casino visit

Posted May 20, 2017
Right from the start from valet to checkin to checkout it was a top notch experience. We will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Birthday week

Posted May 20, 2017
I'm a baseball fan and my bucket list is to watch a game at every baseball park. I booked the Atheneum because of it's location, best choice I made. The staff was amazing and helpful, met my every need. The location, well, walking distance to everything in downtown Detroit. I will be back, and stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

nice hotel

Posted May 17, 2017
The bed, sheets and pillows were amazing in the King Suite. Nice bathroom too! Huge room with living room and 2 tv's. Staff was so nice. This is in downtown Detroit right near Greek town and great old school frank Sinatra type bar and restaurant called London Chop House close by. The hotel seems quiet and a little dated but the rooms are great!! It's nice to see they are revitalizing Detroit. Great for business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2017
Room was nice. The bed seemed a little too firm. Staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC

Nice stay in Greektown

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: The location, the room was comfortable.
Location: Right in Greektown with restaurants and a casino. Short walks to Comerica park, Ford Field, Fox Theater, Hockeytown Bar and the river walk.
We only stayed one night but it was a pleasant stay. We arrived early from the airport and the staff was very welcoming and had our room ready to check in. The suite was large with two rooms and a large bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The location was excellent and we walked to everything including to Comerica Park for a baseball game. There are plenty of restaurants in the area around the hotel. The hotel has a small business center with a computer and printer and shuttle service is provided for free to sights within 5 miles of hotel. Shuttle to the airport is available for a fee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holland Mi

Great hotel in Greektown

Posted May 1, 2017
Great stay! Comfortable rooms and wonderful staff. Looking forward to returning!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Stayed 2 nights. Upon arrival we were put in older room on a Wed. night when newer rooms were available. Did not get room cleaned or bed and towel service the second day. when we called the front desk they said it was too late so they delivered us sheets and towels to do ourselves?? Normally service is much better here, so hopefully this was just an off visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farwell, MI

Nice amenities.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The free shuttle to Detroit places.
Cons: They could redo their rooms. Very old hotel, very outdated.
Location: Right downtown in Greektown. Very convenient to the Fox Theatre, Cobo Hall, Comerica Park, Ford Field, etc.
Our room we had really needs updated. The carpet could be cleaned or really replaced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Super large and clean rooms

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Super large rooms with separate lounge room located in heart of Greektown in Downtown
Cons: Décor of hotel is somewhat dated, television and wifi reception also needs attention
Location: Heart of Greektown, restaurants aplenty as well as casino and close to People Mover, Ford Field, Comerica Park and soon to be completed Little Caesars
Regularly stay here, super large room with separate lounge great for meetings, only issue is intermittent wifi ands poor television reception in rear rooms however improved when I had to be moved to front of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toledo

Nice place in Greek town!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The bellman and vallet were very nice!
Cons: Temp settings in rooms!
Location: Greektown is awesome! Casinos! Tigers! Red Wings!
Very nice place, we had a room near the elavators and our room was on the side of the people mover so it was a bit noisy. My advice is that if your a light sleeper to get a room away from the elevators and the people mover. Also the doors slam and are very loud throughout the place! The temperature in the room was not adjustable by thermostat, no heat/cool setting just temperature and don't think that worked properly! One other thing...if you have trouble with steps don't stay here! Not sure if all rooms have steps but ours did and going up and down them got a little tiresome!