Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island NY

Use with caution!!!

Posted Nov 12, 2017
The overall stay was not that bad especially for $62.00 a night. The bed was a California king, rooms clean, no smell or odor, BUT there were a set of train tracks about 100 feet behind the hotel past the tree line.. About every 3 hours a freight train passes and the building, room and bed shake, not to mention the noise. There is a Country suite and LaQuinta next door so you could pay more for the same experience. Book with caution. On the plus side the hotel is directly across from Kings Dominion theme park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from from CA visiting VA

Days inn Doswell

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Great customer service but the erd floor that were on smelled like a dirty ash tray. The hotel was old and the carpets stained. The room was groose by condition matress was as hard as concrete. Pillows were the same. Woke up as though I had smoke inhalation but realized the cigarette smoke was imbeded in the room. Staff was very kind friendly considerate, but roim should've been 20.00 due to condition. Sadly i give that hotel a -4 for cleanliness a -7 for comfort A - 4 for being unable to breathe on the 3rd floor. A +12 for truly great customer service. The 2nd floor i would like to mention only had a 2% of the smell I give the 2nd floor a +2 I would score the other floors higher but again old wornout condition of the hotel floor and paint on walls
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was expecting a lot nicer

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The elevator smelled like breakfast spray cuz it certainly wasn't the breakfsst FOODS.What a joke.The other guy in the elevator told me I was going to be disappointed & he was right. I won't stay there again. There was NOTHING that made it worth it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Kings Dominion

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The front entrance was horrible, dirty. The rooms smelled like smoke and we had non-smoking rooms. The beds were hard, the room is outdated, overall horrible stay, nothing like pics online
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Close to kings dominion

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Booked it since it was so close to kings dominion. Was good for a 2 night stay. If was staying in area longer I would have looked for something better. I would stay again. Pros: free breakfast (good) shuttle bus, or walk to park. Cons : bed is a little hard, room could use some work but in good shape. no restaurants or shopping in area only 7-11 Burger King and dennys
1 out of 5
by Angel

Horrible

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
The place smelled awful. We had roaches in the bathroom. The beds were uncomfortable. They gave us a different room because if the roaches but made it out like it wasn't a big deal. He said "it's the season for roaches to come in". I was disgusted and we would have left but the other near by hotels were already booked! We will NEVER stay here again. Plus was way over prices for what it was! The breakfast area is very small and I was afraid to eat the food knowing they have roaches.
5 out of 5
by Hannah

So convenient and cheap!

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
We chose Days Inn for its convenience to Kings Dominion. The free shuttle bus ride was absolutely amazing. They said the bus runs every 30 minutes or so, but on the day we went (Thursday) the bus was able to pick us up to and from Kings Dominion every 15 minutes or so! Check in was at 3, and we arrived in Doswell at noon. They gave us our free shuttle bus passes before we even checked in so that we could enjoy Kings Dominion all day. Once we got back to our hotel the check in was super fast, and our hotel room was very spacious and clean. If you're looking for a hotel to stay at while visiting this area, please don't be turned away by bad reviews. If you're aren't looking for the bad in every situation then book your stay now. It's the cheapest hotel around the area, and it's worth it!
4 out of 5
by robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Markea

Not too shabby for the price

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel and convenient to Kings Dominion and has a shuttle bus