Ratings based on 1,156 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Needs washer/dryer in rooms. Housecleaning did not come to our room on one occasion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Prosper, TX

Fun Family Vacation!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Sundial is right on the beach! They provide beach chairs and towels. Room service was great! Amazing food and staff!
Location: Sanibel Island is wonderful! Easy to get to fun to take bikes around the island to see the lighthouse and visit gift shops.
AMAZING! From the minute we arrived it was complete relaxation. My kids (ages 13 and 8) had a blast on the kayaks and paddleboard. We loved taking out the bikes everyday for a ride. Our room was great, one bedroom in building D with a fabulous view of the ocean! It was the perfect size for our family! I cannot say enough about the staff! They were all super friendly, helpful, and were always looking out for everyone. When we arrived, Josh, at the Activity Center told us how all the activities worked. He was friendly, helpful and genuine. We enjoyed seeing him all week. We also loved Val! She went above and beyond to get to know us. She remembered our names and the activities we had done. She gave recommendations on things to do and places to go when we asked, and always followed up by asking how it was. She is a true gem! The Fielding's miss her! Staff like that that make for an amazing resort! This is a great place for families! We were there the last week of June and it was not over-crowded. We could always get chairs by the pool or beach, and bikes, kayaks, and paddleboards were always available. Everything was at our convenience! Perfect vacation at the perfect location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Loved the hotel and room we stayed in. Very comfortable and great view to the pool. The pool and all the activities for the kids (and adults) were so fun. Great drinks at the bar, and the food was delicious too...the blue cheese chips were amazing! Will definitely be celebrating 4th of July here next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Close to the beach excellent location

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Location is great, great shelling
Cons: Better Bedding
Location: close to everything
The Sundial is a great place to stay. Excellent location, great staff!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Great amenities, bad rooms

Posted Jul 2, 2017
We loved the hotel and the amenities, but our room felt dirty and was very old. Black mold on the ceiling of the showers and my parents room and the drain of the shower full of mold. No one asked us about our 5 night stay when we checked out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frederick, Maryland

Simply beautiful!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The Sundial Resort delivered! My family of four enjoyed a week of fun, relaxation, and comfort. There were many fun events for the entire family. The location of the beach and accommodations were fantastic!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mechanicsville, Va

The amenities included in the resort fee are great

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: amenities included in the resort fee! variety of sizes that were available so that all persons in your family could ride bikes.
Cons: seating area around pool was tight because most people would huddle under the covered area to get away from the sun.
Location: location is centrally located on the island. there are some restaurants and shops that you can easily bike to, about two to three miles away.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Sundial. The amenities included in the resort fee were hands down the best! They had plenty of bikes and chairs. Was never told they were out or could not accommodate what we needed! Our room was clean and even ready early. Did have a few issues with housekeeping not leaving towels after they cleaned the room and then not showing up to clean our room until after 5pm one day. We thought that was a little late, as most people are wrapping up their day on the beach and trying to get cleaned up for the evening and dinner. The staff we encountered were very nice and welcoming. Restaurants food was very good and while priced a bit higher than your usual everyday restaurant did not feel that it was so over the top that you didn't want to eat there at all. The pizza and ice cream parlor were great and the main restaurant was very good as well. Highly recommend for families! But bring your walking shoes because the resort is large!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location.
This property is right on the beach. The room was spacious with kitchen facilities (condo). Friendly and helpful staff. Free beach towels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Tikki Bar by the pool
Cons: Pool
Location: Right on the beach close to good restaurants and Sanibel shopping
Hotel main building where the registration, sushi bar, main bar and restaurants are located has been recently remodeled and is very nice. The pool itself and slide are a bit dated. Would like to see them make use of the area where the volleyball net is to expand the pool area . Very good beach access. Your room will be in one of the buildings on either side of the main building. Overall very good experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We love Sundial

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: everything!
Cons: If I make a request as available when booking online, please follow through if you cannot accommodate request.
Location: Ding Darling Wildlife Reserve Bike ride to Captiva Eat at Island Cow
This staff has accommodate my request and they exceed in service. Pools are pristine, food was great--lots of choices, plus I love the market. Cannot wait to go back!