Ratings based on 429 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel and incredible service!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The food was excellent and the service amazing! The adult only pool and dining was worth the additional cost!
Location: The resort is an hour from Liberia airport. The tour company provides transportation to tours but plan on an entire day to be utilized.
The service at this resort is unparalleled! Anything you want at any time is at your request! The dining options were plentiful and varied with excellent food which is not common at all-inclusive resorts. This resort is oceanfront but more jungle and golf course views. The shuttle service throughout the property is excellent and you can get anywhere quickly. Take the car service available from the airport to the hotel...its expensive but worthwhile.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

wonderful experience

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The staff and their enthusiasm in helping customers.
Cons: The rooms didn't have bath tubs and also the AC vent in the room we stayed in was dirty.
Location: ATV, snorkelling, boat cruise, zip lining
The staff were really courteous, friendly and always willing to help. It's a plus that almost all staff are bilingual (Spanish and English) which makes communication easier. The hotel also has activities to engage both adult and kids throughout the duration of stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Had to pay for Perrier

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The staff, food, beach and service.
Cons: I paid for AI, get rid of the charge for Perrier!
Location: Near Tamarindo, water rafting.
2nd visit to this resort., First time in Feb 2016 we had much larger regular room in regular building closer to buffet, gym restaurants and beach. This time we tried the "Royal Towers for Adults". Some of the staff recognized us from our previous visit. We got perks like seperate check in, concierge service that arranged our dining reservations and an adult only swimming pool. I can't say enough about the grounds, the staff, and the food. The only hiccup we experienced was when I ordered Perrier at dinner, and was told there was a charge for it. Now this is an all inclusive with top shelf liquor included, but Perrier isn't? We are non alcohol drinkers, so we have paid for unlimited top shelf booze, but get charged for carbonated water? C'mon now! The beach is the main attraction here at the hotel. and Playa Conchal is simply gorgeous. We were here during the green (low) season and staff had to bring lounges out to the beach for us. It showered one full day and we had a TStorm on another evening. Back in February it looked like we were in a desert, everything was brown. This time we saw green everywhere. We heard that the previous week was rainy every day. We've been to Guanacaste 4 previous times, staying at the Occidental, Riu, Basque del Mar and the Westin. We liked our 1st stay here so much, we decided to come back for a 2nd visit. We'll probably return for a 3rd time too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lousiana

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The food was so good!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location was perfect.
over all........absolutely wonderful!!!!! I am recommending The Westin Golf Resort & Spa to all my family and friends who say they want to visit Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brandon, MS

Fabulous Resort

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Everything was a 9.5 or higher in my experience !!! Beautiful grounds and facilities.
Cons: More Sunshine during the days that we had rain !! LOL!!
Location: It is a little out of the way from excursion trips. Most of our trips were 45 minutes to 1.5 hours from the resort.
The staff was unbelievable !! The grounds and rooms were 9's. The Golf course was what Arnold Palmer will play on in heaven when he is done on Earth. The food was fabulous in its taste and presentation. Probably one of the nicest overall Resorts I have ever been to in my life. Will tell all my friends about this vacation spot.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from COSTA RICA

Hotel con muy buen servicio al cliente

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: El servicio al cliente y las piscinas...
Cons: El entretenimiento para adultos por la noche, o discoteque... Pronta respuesta al solicitar transporte interno.
Location: El lugar es muy agradable, hay actividades para disfrutar la playa,
La comida muy buena, sobre todo los restaurantes para cenar a la carta, el diseño y tamaño de las piscinas muy apropiado y agradable, podria mejorar el entretenimiento para personas adultas por la noche.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Reviews don't match the experience

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Cons: The staff could be nice and more welcoming. They can have people walking around to do pool side service.
Location: There are a lot of activities that were offered with a company right there at the hotel. We did the horseback riding with Jason and had a blast.
When we arrived, we were told our room was ready, then we were told it wasn't. We did upgrade to the Adult Only area with the "added benefits". There were no "added benefits". It was the pool was adults only and that was it. There weren't employees walking around asking for drink or food orders pool side. Whenever we asked staff for things, they seemed very annoyed and most times told us no they don't have the drink we were asking for. 2 staff members did go out of their way and were able to "find" the ingredients to make the drink we wanted. There was a lot of construction going on.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Beautiful resort and grounds. The Royal Beach Club was well worth it. We also really liked all of the food. We went to Cauri - French, Faisanella -Italian, and Candelas - Latin restaurants and the Mitra buffet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Staff, convenient location

Posted Sep 7, 2016
The staff was amazing. Great selection of restaurants. Great location for the hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary , alberta

Staff room and service

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Amazing staff for tower to and overall. Great food and drinks. Very polite staff and amazing room service and accommodations. Beach was great just a bit small but clear blue water and soft sand. Amazing place