Ratings based on 436 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent choice! Relaxing time in CR

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Everything: staff, food, grounds, room, pool...
Cons: WiFi
Location: Tamarindo is about 15 minutes away, but there is nothing to do there.
If you are looking for a relaxing time in CR this is the place! We travel a lot and have been to many different islands, always stayed at 5 star resorts and double the price, so didn't have much expectation for this place. But we were very impressed with service, food, the grounds and the room of this hotel. The service is excellent, every single staff member goes above and beyond to provide your every need, beginning with shuttle bus drivers, restaurant reservation desk, room service, and even the hostess at the buffet (hi Sylvia:)). The food is really good and healthy! The best restaurant we liked was Catalinas and Italian, but other restaurants were very good as well. Even buffet food was exellent! Hotel grounds were very nicely done and felt very private. We saw some animals, like squirrels, cats and a lot of iguanas. Only saw one coati and once saw monkeys. That was a little disappointing because I was expecting to see a lot more wild animals on the property. The pool area had many lounge chairs and they were empty. You don't have to reserve your chair at 6 am like in other resorts. The pool was large and the water was just the right temperature. Warm and refreshing. The beach I didn't like very much. The ocean had waves and the sand was not fine, and was hurting my feet. Bring shoes to walk on sand. The hotel is about an hour from LIR airport and I found it cheaper to rent a car than to get a taxi or shuttle for 2.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sherman Oaks, United States of America

Excellent Service. Nice Destination

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: The room was private and comfortable - perfect for a romantic getaway or for a group event. The buffet was good and the evening restaurants excellent.
Location: The only drawback is that the beach is somewhat steep and there are signs prohibiting swimming. Better to spend time at the pool.
Every staff member was extremely friendly and helpful. The service was excellent in all regards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Forest Hills

Friendly staff; great restaurants; greatest pool

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Staff and activities by pool were excellent; shuttle very friendly and fast. Restaurants were terrific
Westin has the greatest pool ever. Bars were awesome. Easy to get drinks. Restaurants were diverse and plentiful. Service was terrific. Activities by pool were great. Sofia was terrific at water aerobics and yoga; There was bingo, wine tasting ++ . Shuttles were easy if you wanted one and so friendly. Melvin Alvarado was the best driver, always waving hello and remembering our names!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Hotel and experience

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: The public beach and shelley sand
Location: We spent our entire stay on the hotel grounds
Great hotel with a fantastic pool, great and very friendly staff, and excellent and diverse restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crestone, United States of America

Great Getaway!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: The hotel is in a beautiful spot on the ocean.
From the moment I arrived this resort took care of me! My room was beautiful, the food and drinks were great, the staff was truly friendly and helpful and the spa was heaven. I also loved the all-inclusive feature! It was quite hot but all facilities were air conditioned and comfortable. I never left the resort because I was so happy there. Thank you Westin!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Stay!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: allot
I went there for a recent seminar and found that the hotel, its staff, the facilities and the all inclusive nature was just what i needed! One recommendation: Do not get a massage at the hotel instead get it at the beach for a whopping $20.00 for an hour! Ask for Nora. Or you can pay 120.00 for a 50 minute in a room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel and incredible service!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The food was excellent and the service amazing! The adult only pool and dining was worth the additional cost!
Location: The resort is an hour from Liberia airport. The tour company provides transportation to tours but plan on an entire day to be utilized.
The service at this resort is unparalleled! Anything you want at any time is at your request! The dining options were plentiful and varied with excellent food which is not common at all-inclusive resorts. This resort is oceanfront but more jungle and golf course views. The shuttle service throughout the property is excellent and you can get anywhere quickly. Take the car service available from the airport to the hotel...its expensive but worthwhile.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

wonderful experience

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The staff and their enthusiasm in helping customers.
Cons: The rooms didn't have bath tubs and also the AC vent in the room we stayed in was dirty.
Location: ATV, snorkelling, boat cruise, zip lining
The staff were really courteous, friendly and always willing to help. It's a plus that almost all staff are bilingual (Spanish and English) which makes communication easier. The hotel also has activities to engage both adult and kids throughout the duration of stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Had to pay for Perrier

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The staff, food, beach and service.
Cons: I paid for AI, get rid of the charge for Perrier!
Location: Near Tamarindo, water rafting.
2nd visit to this resort., First time in Feb 2016 we had much larger regular room in regular building closer to buffet, gym restaurants and beach. This time we tried the "Royal Towers for Adults". Some of the staff recognized us from our previous visit. We got perks like seperate check in, concierge service that arranged our dining reservations and an adult only swimming pool. I can't say enough about the grounds, the staff, and the food. The only hiccup we experienced was when I ordered Perrier at dinner, and was told there was a charge for it. Now this is an all inclusive with top shelf liquor included, but Perrier isn't? We are non alcohol drinkers, so we have paid for unlimited top shelf booze, but get charged for carbonated water? C'mon now! The beach is the main attraction here at the hotel. and Playa Conchal is simply gorgeous. We were here during the green (low) season and staff had to bring lounges out to the beach for us. It showered one full day and we had a TStorm on another evening. Back in February it looked like we were in a desert, everything was brown. This time we saw green everywhere. We heard that the previous week was rainy every day. We've been to Guanacaste 4 previous times, staying at the Occidental, Riu, Basque del Mar and the Westin. We liked our 1st stay here so much, we decided to come back for a 2nd visit. We'll probably return for a 3rd time too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lousiana

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The food was so good!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location was perfect.
over all........absolutely wonderful!!!!! I am recommending The Westin Golf Resort & Spa to all my family and friends who say they want to visit Costa Rica.