Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not clean and uncomfortable

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
I loved how much room there was, 2 bed 2 bath, living room, and small kitchen. The rooms however seemed like they haven't been cleaned in over a year and it's pretty worn. Stained carpet cracked paint. Thank goodness I fell asleep in the queen bed one night because the next morning the king bed was coved in ants! Lots of dead spiders, cobwebs in the corners. Beds were to hard, woke up with back and hip pain. Wouldn't stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Kevin

Nice and Quiet hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is nice and quiet. We checked in on Friday evening and there wasn't many people. The check in lady was texting on her phone when I walked up. Instead of attending me right away, she took the next couple of minutes finishing her text. However, she was very friendly. We reserved 2 King size bed room but upon entering our room, found out it had 2 Queen size bed instead. Since we are only staying for the night, we didn't make a big deal about it. There is a kitchen with a full size refrigerator as well as dishwasher and all the cookware. There were 2 A/C units, one in the bedroom and one int the living room. The A/C unit in the bedroom is old and even though it was running, it was not cold. The one in the living room looks much newer and it was cold so we ended up opening the living room door so the cold air can get to the bedroom. Overall, it wasn't bad if we were getting the type of room we reserved and the A/C is working.
1 out of 5
by jae

Nightmare! Discusting!

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
First room we hecked into toilet was backed up and fecal matter was coming up, so they out us in another room with ants all over the kitchen and beds. We complained o the hotel front desk and they pretty mich gave s the oh well excuse. So i called American express and complained to them. They cared about there customer satisfaction American express will dtop the charge and gave us a full refund. I will ever ever ever stay at another candlestick inn ever again. Horrinle worst nightmare.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chandler, AZ

Last Minute Stay

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: suites
Cons: a pool wouldn't hurt
Location: location in hotel circle with places to eat near by, mall was minutes away with even more places to eat.
We had planned to come to San Diego months ago but we changed our plans, then are plans changed and we decided to come to San Diego at the last minute. booked the room on a Thursday a we stayed the weekend. for two adults and three kids (ages 2, 10 and 14) the room we got was similar to a small apartment two beds (not including the sofa bed), three TV's, kitchen with everything you need and two bathrooms. My kids loved the space and we loved the space even more. check in was a breeze, if you like a simple home feel stay you will like this place. I had no problems at all, if my kids and happy then I'm happy.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Great stay! amazing value for hotel circle suite

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasantly surprised- We stayed here for a night, it was a last minute trip and it was one of the only places that had a room with two beds available. The room was a suite with small sitting room kitchen with stove refrigerator sink and dishwasher. the room was clean and appointed as expected for the star level. There was a bath tub which can be rare in So Cal. The room had two large tvs. the front desk staff were friendly and they had many books and dvds to borrow, even kitchen appliances to check out (waffle maker etc). The hotel sits off of the road so its quiet. there are restaurants in walking distance at near by hotels and the mission and fashion valley malls are about 1 mile away. Hotel circle is convenient to sea world, SDSU , downtown and other attractions. This would be a great choice for families with kids looking for a good value.
5 out of 5
by Carletha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Stay

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Did the job for a one night stay. Front desk was having issues with their system for about 20 min. But she was nice enough to upgrade us. ASK FOR A ROOM AWAY FROM THE ELEVATOR. While going to our room we noticed that there is a lobby for the elevator, however there are 2 rooms located in that lobby, might get loud. All other room entrances are located outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Definitely a place to stay in San Diego!

Posted Sep 10, 2016
My Husband and I recently stayed here, it was by far the cleanist,friendliest and most comfortable place we had stayed near the beach and Sea World area! Had a horrible experience in another hotel we booked and ended up checking out early. Good thing we found that Candlewood had an open room and we booked it. Super clean! I was very impressed with all the staff there. Very professional and helpful. This place really did make up for the horrible experience we had at the previous hotel. They have all the commodities you need here such as; fridge, dishwasher,stove, microwave, small living room area,and laundry downstairs if you need it! Not to mention they do have a dry cleaning service in case you might need it! The rooms are so kept up clean! Definitely a place you consider to book if you are in the area. Becareful where you book don't be fooled by picture of other places that look great and when you get there the place is not what you expected! Don't go through what we did where our other hotel was dirty and so small and not what was advertised. Candlewood was by far the best place we stayed by the Seaworld area. Well worth it, I honestly recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Orbitz
Clean, Spacious room, Kitchen with all utensils and glasses.