Ratings based on 1,000 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Hotel not what I expected

Posted Oct 2, 2016
The staff was just okay. Nothing excellent or outstanding regarding the hotel facilities. The staff seems confused and there seem to be a high staff turn over which is not good. The food was okay and the entertainment good. The person Marcia who was handling our room was excellent. We are clean freaks. Overall okay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Wedding in Negril

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Good food, excellent service. I missed the body lotion and body wash in the bathroom. Also the coffee maker.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel close to the beach .

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Room was close to beach and lobby.Nightly entertainment.Specialty restaurant was great.No more reservations for them.It was done on first come ,first serve basis .Two sittings 630p and 830p daily.All staff were wo nderful.Will go back in a heart beat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north miami beach

Hotel staff friendliness and courtesy

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Overall pretty positive experience. Room pretty spacious. Variety of food choices well prepared and served.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The rooms are almost on the beach.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: the people who works there, from the front desk to the bartenders to the room cleaning are very very nice and polite.
Cons: Food ,food food and maybe the beds cleaned from bed bugs.
Location: the location is a little far from the airport and the road is not very pleasant for the trip. This time I didn't set my foot out of the resort.
this hotel is very close to the beach; the employees are very nice and polite; very customer oriented and try to help you in anyway possible. the food is good but has room for improvement; the variety of food is very limited, it's almost the same every day.Went to the italian restaurant,"Luigi", the food was really mediocre. the bars are good but the quality of the alcoholic beverages are "standard"; the tequila tastes like out of industrial alcohol company. Looks like the bartenders have to work with whatever the management gives them ; overall the drinks are not so great. it doesn't mean I didn't have few drinks every day but wasn't so great. The hotel is pretty clean; the beaches are cleaned every day the beach towels , somehow old and with holes in them, were clean. I think I had bed bugs in my bed. this is my second trip to Riu Negril, first one was in 2008, and my overall impression is good. 8 years ago the food and drinks were a little better; it doesn't mean that I won't visit this hotel again if i had the opportunity. The general manager and the food manager and the chef were extremely friendly and service oriented. I've been in Ocho Rios Riu and in Mexico not in Riu. If I have to choose I'll choose Riu Negril, even with the bed bugs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Not worth the money

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: I love the beautiful view. The lay out is nice. I had a room with ocean view. I love the location of the resort. very comfortable beds.
Cons: The staff needs to take customer service lessons. They need a reminder that without customers you have no job. they need to work on more amenities.
Location: It wasn't far from Rick's cafe. Which is a major attraction. You can cliff dive here, get great food, hear nice music, and be treated nicely.
I didn't enjoy my stay. I've been to all inclusive resorts and they offer you all sorts of things to do for the amount of money you spend. This resort offers you nothing but a bunch of pools. No excursions, no sail boat rides unless you already know how to sail, otherwise it's 20USD. No glass bottom boat ride. No snorkeling. Just nothing. The front desk staff is rude and has no customer service. We had to unload our bags and load them up. The waitresses seemed unhappy and barely said a word to me. My first maid seem as if I asked for a million dollars when I asked for water. My second maid had more personality and was warm and friendly. She got a huge tip from me. I went to sports bar to get my daily fix of coffee, one of the guys was overly nice, the other said nothing and served me warm coffee. My overall experience, this was the worst resort I've been too and I don't plan on coming back, unless major changes are done. The food was horrible. always dried out and overcooked. They serve Jamaican food once a week. Rest of the time is American food. I come from USA to eat food that I can get anywhere in USA... how disappointing! Way over priced for what you get, which is nothing. I hate being negative, but I hate for someone to go to this place and expect it to be like other resorts... it's not! I had someone planning a trip to Jamaica at the end of the month, they asked should they book there, I told them no, go up the street you will find better hotels for your money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Three Star Hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Fair hotel - for the price worth it. Just don't go with high expectations. It is NOT anything above 3 star. The beach is natural and untouched but management should clean seaweed. The food is ok. Ice cream always soft like soup. Don't waste your time at specialty restaurants. They are horrible. My seafood soup was cold and the shrimp was like rubber. The drinks were ok, the wine is either white or red - house wine. They do have authentic Jamaican food but a bit salty. The entertainment is fair and they do try. Overall , if Management continues to make improvements - this could definitely make it to a 4 star hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Fire the front desk staff!! Terrible Service.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: nothing really
Cons: customer service from front desk staff
Location: far away from amenities
The upgraded hotel room was great and the food was good. However, the staff at the front desk made our experience terrible. We were there for five nights for a music event. The following are just a few things that will make us not return to this hotel: - The hotel lobby smells like a pigsty. The desk staff is rude and ignores when you are waiting in line for help with basic information about activities or services like currency exchange but will give priority to friends that walk up to the side of desk and ask for help. - Removed the iron from our room and required us to pay a deposit to only get a broken replacement. Staff at check-in did not make us aware of the deposit policy. We had to find out there was no iron in our room at the moment we needed it. However, members of the group we travelled with had irons in their room. - Could not get a hold of the front desk from our room phone. Our calls rang without answer for our entire stay. - Was not able to order room service If you are thinking about staying here, you should consider booking a different hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1st trip to Jamaica

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Spent a week at RIU club negril and we were very impressed with accommodations. The food selections were some of the finest we've had. Entertainment was great every night. Staff was friendly and attentive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn NY

Nice hotel with a lot of activities provided

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: I liked the entertainment provided, the beautiful view from my room, the nice people.
Cons: Cleanliness of the pool Dryers added to facilities
Location: There are plenty of tours available to all. Many are physical so be prepared with good shoes.
We had a great experience. Nice for families. The entertainment staff provided us with a lot of entertainment and activities throughout the day. Personnel were very sweet and always willing to help and make your stay better. I would definitely return.