Ratings based on 614 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisiana

Beautiful hotel. Great food and awesome staff

Posted Jan 13, 2017
It was great. The place has everything. Pretty beaches, unbelievably nice staff. The food was delicious. Every night was food, music and drinks!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Unfriendly Staff & Far from Airport

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Hotel staff is not friendly or helpful. The location is 1:15 from the airport depending on traffic. The view is gorgeous, but facilities need updated. Stone around the pool is uneven and painful to walk on. Not enough pool or beach chairs. Food was okay. Probably wouldn't go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Riu negrill

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly and accomodating...check in and out without any hassle. The nightly shows and activity were great. My kids enjoy the magic show. The food was really good, good selection and tasty. Jerk chicken was on point. There wasn't a variation of jamaican breakfast food or dinner, not suprizing considering the majority of type of people who were staying there. It's way much quieter than all the other RIU in jamaica. Location isn't bad but not great either....overall, my family had a good time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta, Ga

ok hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Hotel was ok, quality of food was bad. The front desk did not help or try to help with any accommodations. A lot of seaweed in the ocean. The spa was booked and the gym is pretty small. I think the GM should take notes from the Roy in Montego Bay, adults only location! Their service, food and amenities were all top notch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful hotel on private beach with amenities

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Amenities and food offerings in the five restaurants and multiple food stations around the resort.
Cons: Train staff to not be so belligerent and passive aggressive with guests. Very uncomfortable situations arose after staff would talk about guests.
Location: Ricks cafe, atv's, zip line, catamaran party boat, snorkeling, margaritaville, horse back riding.
Excellent hotel with four pools and long private beach. Excursions are plentiful and available either from on site or with an organized transportation. All inclusive with exceptional food and restaurants. Most all inclusive fall short but this one actually had great food available all the time. Entertainment was top notch and provided free shows every evening. Largest grounds allows for couples or families to be separated and not interruptive to the experience of relaxing on the beach or around pools. Haggling sellers are on the beach but do not cross the imaginary line. Staff is sadly the only draw back from this hotel due to their passive aggressive hospitality. The staff unfortunately due to either their culture or envy would speak about guests constantly and try to mask it in their dialect. The restaurant staff would ignore guests for seating as if trying to prove a point that they are in charge? Other than the staff the hotel is beautiful and offers lots to do and lots of places to do nothing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

If you want true luxury, pay more.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Overall a decent hotel at a decent price. The beach is ok (lots of seaweed) but next time we will definitely be staying somewhere along 7 mile beach, the beach is MUCH nicer and lots of bars and things to do within walking distance. Food at the hotel is not good, the beach BBQ was good but other than that, no. We ended up eating quite a few meals outside the resort. The bars were all good with quick service. Pools are nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston South Carolina

great hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Fantastic place to stay in Negril. I will not stay anywhere else from now on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel by the beach

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Well laid out with choice of 3 pools. Saw stingray, starfish and piper fish all close to shore. Staff are very friendly and helpful where ever you are in the hotel. Plenty of food as the norm with all Riu hotels. The entertainment staff are excellent not pushy, very funny and imaginative. Manager is always there attentive to everyone's needs. only criticism, at the front desk phones ring constantly need staff to just deal with the phones and others to deal with people only, when I called from my room the background noise was so loud it was difficult to hear receptionist.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Nice hotel close to the beach. The employees hospitality towards me was awful. Not all but most. Manager please talk to staff about using cell phone while at work it's rude I had to wait for the excursion lady finish with her personal call before she said good morning was a big turn off for me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not what we expected

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: the beach
Cons: the vendors on the beach, the proximity to the main road, traffic noise which is clearly audible in the room even with the AC on & sliding doors shut.
Location: location is far from everything
We stayed in room 1203 which was close to everything but to get anywhere on site you had to climb/descend 36 steps each way. Most disappointing was our view. We asked for a Garden View but instead were on the main road overlooking it and the tennis courts. We felt like we were in a city with the traffic noise. The restaurants were ok nothing great. There is no room service. We were not given washcloths & hand towels for a couple of days. Doesn't seem like a big deal but for the price paid it shouldn't happen. Then we were reduced to 3 bath towels and told that was their rule. Our room had 4 towels upon arrival. Even the Holiday Inn sets out 4 towels. Never have we stayed in an AI where they ran out of towels or limited them. There were no toiletries provided as they state on their site except for a shampoo/cond. combo in the shower. Drinks in the fridge not replaced, so I found the cart and got sodas myself. The beach was beautiful! They really need to do something about the vendors because we couldn't enjoy walking the bay w/o constantly being bothered. I don't know what they do to the alcohol but you may as well drink water. The one caveat is the jerk chicken hut on the beach - BEST FOOD!! The people smoking/selling ganja didn't bother us - if you don't want it don't buy it. The staff for the most part were very nice. The worst issue is the smell of cat urine. I LOVE cats but the smell is heavy. Not much to do nearby and it's very $$ to get anywhere.