Ratings based on 1,075 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Staff nice, but food disappointing

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff!!
Cons: Food, entertainment, and drink service.
No reservations, caused no "nice" restaurants. Unless you lined up, and I mean line up, for the nice restaurants, you do not get to dine. Had to eat at the buffet every meal. The only night that was "organized" for choice was Tuesday night. Food choices were not great, as they were all over the place for type. Staff was very friendly!! Should add a little more variation in entertainment. More reggae music would be nice!! Had reggae bands, but played more American music than reggae. But, the worst was no pool or beach drink service. If you want it, you have to go get it!!! They come around and clean up you cups, but will not bring you a drink!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Food was good...staff was OK.....had the wrong hotel confirmed by my expedia consiger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Beautiful resort

Posted Sep 30, 2017
The grounds are very beautiful. All the staff are nice and attentive to the needs of the guests. They are friendly and always say hi or come over and talk with the guests. The bartenders learned our names quickly at the different bars and remembered what we were drinking. The food I would give a B too. Pretty much the same things every night in the main buffet. Specialty restaurants were not open every night as it is the low season. The only negative I would say is that the pool bar is not 18+. Kids playing near the bar, using the cups as toys and jumping off the tables in the water with no feedback from the staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
The beach is not beautiful! The service in restaurant very poor Entertainment excellent! The hotel beautiful, but I will never comeback there;
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Close to nice beach but a lot of seaweed

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Everything overall
Cons: More choices for breakfast
I've visited same hotel for a 5th time. Speaks for itself
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from flushing, NY

nice all inclusive hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness and the rooms
Cons: More jamaican food regularly, better drinks at the bar, and very importantly i was not told that expedia offers a 25 ride to the hotel.
Location: YS falls and black river tour nice tour id recommend it.
I enjoyed my stay very much. The property is big not huge so you dont need golf carts to get around like some of the bigger chains. The beach area was pretty private tons of seats and umbrellas. Lots of people bring their babies so if you dont want to be bothered pick an adults only spot. The food was good as well lots of jamaican food choices, though i would have liked it better if it had a dedicated section for jamaican food and it was served every day. My main issue is the location. Ive stayed in Negril several times and this hotel is away from all the excitement of Negril. So its not centrally located in Negril where everything is nearby. You could take a cab that the hotel provides and over pay or you could walk to the main road and catch a dollar ride to take you up the road to the more central part that has more to see and do. The entertainment was good but not the best. The drinks were watered down terribly but there is a mini bar in your room and you could make better drinks on your own there. Also this hotel does not pick you up from the airport in montego bay and i was not aware that expedia offers 25 transfers each way per person. When i called the hotel the represenative directed me to to a Juta (cab) and i paid 40 simply because I didnt know about the expedia transportation even though she knew i booked my trip through expedia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

First tip

Posted Aug 24, 2017
This was my first trip of hopefully many to Negril. RIU hotel was on point. Beautiful views from your room the beaches were clean and well taken care of and the was friendly and informative .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Great hotel I would stay there again the people and food was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north ft myers fl

Great

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Great beach pools food and drink a definitely good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Best all inclusive Spot

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Twas a great time there at Riu. The staff is the best there is. We had a wonderful time. Very safe and welcoming. Perfect for any occasion