Street view

Reviews of The Belvedere Hotel

3.5 out of 5
The Belvedere Hotel
319 W 48th St, New York, NY

Reviews

8.6

Excellent

Rating 10 - Excellent. 1386 out of 2617 reviews" "
" "10 - Excellent 53%
Rating 8 - Good. 827 out of 2617 reviews" "
" "8 - Good 32%
Rating 6 - Okay. 240 out of 2617 reviews" "
" "6 - Okay 9%
Rating 4 - Poor. 93 out of 2617 reviews" "
" "4 - Poor 4%
Rating 2 - Terrible. 71 out of 2617 reviews" "
" "2 - Terrible 3%

8.9/10

Cleanliness

8.8/10

Staff & service

7.7/10

Amenities

8.4/10

Property conditions & facilities

8.3/10

Eco-friendliness

Reviews

6/10 Okay

Jillian

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
No heat or hot water for the first night. Early check it costs more than a full night’s stay and was not addressed.
Stayed 5 nights in Jan 2023

10/10 Excellent

Kathryn Letitia

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful older property in the heart of Manhattan.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2023

8/10 Good

Luis

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
El servicio de recepción por la mañana fue terrible sobre la chica fue ruda a comparación de la noche que súper amable con su atención.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2023

10/10 Excellent

Filip

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Really good.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2023

8/10 Good

Naomi, Fairfax

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
We loved the look of the hotel and the staff were great. The condition of the room was just okay - the windows had problems. But the staff fixed them and gave us extra blankets. (Water pressure was excellent!)
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2023

10/10 Excellent

Robert

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
clean
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2023

8/10 Good

Flordeliza

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Satisfied with my stay. Very convenient to walk around.
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2023

10/10 Excellent

Bruce

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very conveniently located, and the staff was very helpful and accommodating.
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2023

10/10 Excellent

Carolina

Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very convenient location. The front desk staff needs to be more empathetic and willing to help, my daughter had been hurt and one person there did not have the slightest desire to help, a young bellboy helped me more.
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2023

2/10 Terrible

Shana

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Reserved standard room since we are just dropping off bag and heading out. Only sleeping. Greeting at desk was curt and not pleasant at all. Old slow elevator can’t fit more than 4 people. Room was old, ripped furniture, 40 year old dirty rug, bathroom that was old definitely glad I took a shower just before I drove to city. I decided not to complain it’s only one night and was late to meet friends for dinner. So after a lovely evening we get back to room, called for extra pillows as there are only 2 old flat pillows then pulled sheets back and discovered a bed that was used, hair on sheets and gross!!!!! Ughhhhh. I then went to what looked like the side of the bed that looked clean, pulled off sheets and found even more long clumps of hair. At that time (12:45AM) nice night engineer brought pillows and I showed him the bed and he was so embarrassed. I called front desk who said “you booked standard room”. Omg. They ended up moving us to a better room at 1AM which was “newish” but gross carpet and furniture that only has a few rips. Called again for more pillows. Only 2 here also. The bed had a very thin coverlet that was very light and the room was cold so I spent the whole night grossed out shivering and not getting any sleep. I don’t care if hotel looks like a good price. Don’t do it. It sure how they have the good ratings on Expedia. Btw, Door men were very nice.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2023

10/10 Excellent

Nuria

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The Belvedere is a great little gem in NYC. Not fancy, just a clean hotel in a great location with generous size rooms
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2023

10/10 Excellent

Eric

Business traveler
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great value! Nice and clean. Nice staff!

10/10 Excellent

Erin E

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Cleanliness

4/10 Poor

Amit

Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Its terrible!

8/10 Good

Dianne

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
I liked the location. The staff was friendly. We enjoyed our stay.

8/10 Good

Amelia

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
overall hotel is excellent and was very happy with staff except the young lady who checked me in. Whenever I asked her a question She seemed bother to answer.

10/10 Excellent

Steven

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff was friendly. Everything we wanted to do was in walking distance. Hotel was clean and nice.

8/10 Good

Gerardo

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Nice place to stay

8/10 Good

David

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Simple and good. Would stay again. Great location.

6/10 Okay

Angela

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The location was pretty good for what we wanted to do, the lobby looks clean and well kept. Other than that, the woman who checked us in and also took my phone call for more towels was rude. They put 2 towels in a room booked for 4 people. The carpet in the room was filthy, felt dirt between my toes if I walked barefoot. The deep jetted tub looked great until I got in and turned on the jets and weird clumps of slimy stuff blew into my bathwater from them. There must have been a lot of gunk in there because every time someone turned the jets on throughout our stay, more gross stuff blew out. There were condoms in the dresser drawer when we arrived, further indicating poor cleaning. The room and bathroom were very poorly lit. Even if the curtains were wide open you couldn't see to apply make up or to do much else. The mattresses sagged in the middle. I had pay $20 a night to have a rollaway bed brought in so my sons could sleep without rolling into each other and accidentally kicking each other trying to get comfortable. We considered changing hotels after the 1st night, but decided against it only because we wouldn't get any of our money back from The Belvedere.

10/10 Excellent

Nuria

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This is not my first time staying here but I can definitely see the improvement in the service and the prompt answers to all my questions from the staff. Definitely considering staying many more times here this year

10/10 Excellent

Thomas, Lake Ronkonkoma

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Michael checked me in a bit early. I always recommend The Belvedere
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2023

10/10 Excellent

Steven

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Near all play venues and good restaurants.

10/10 Excellent

Lori

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Have been here multiple times and never disappointed. Very friendly helpful staff. Convenient location to subways and most other attractions

10/10 Excellent

Stacie

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The Belvedere is an older hotel. The staff was excellent and the location amazing. My only “complaint” would be lack of breakfast and the fact that I was there for 5 days and didn’t even know there was a bar/restaurant on site until I was checking out.

10/10 Excellent

Suzanne

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very convenient location for shopping and sightseeing and close to the subway. Very walkable

2/10 Terrible

Melanie

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Doors keys did not work. Went down to main lobby 3x to fix doors keys. Was very slow to respond. Not enough help at front desk for a Friday night. Elevators are old and sound unsafe. Gym not as advertised online.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2023

10/10 Excellent

Julian

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful old school new york building right in the middle of everything. Times square and the theater district in walking distance

8/10 Good

Robin, Weston

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
The location is great; walkable to many tourist attractions. Unfortunately, the parking garage they validate at is roughly a 15 minute walk and took even longer to drive to b/c of Broadway traffic (might not be a problem at different times). Our TV didn't work when we checked in but someone came to look at it and fix it quickly, even though I called at 10PM. The HDMI cable had been moved by a prior guest and was an easy fix (apparently some people bring PlayStation of Xboxes and don't reconnect the cables properly). We stayed in December but the room was so hot we had to turn the AC on (no individual thermostat in the room). The window AC unit was so loud that we had difficulty sleeping.

8/10 Good

Richard

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Loved the proximity to everything we wanted to do in midtown. We walked to Times Square, Bryant Park, Macy's on 34th, restaurants and Broadway shows. It's also a convenient Uber ride to SoHo and Central Park. The rooms were larger than we anticipated for NYC, but I will say what other reviewers have stated - the rooms and hallways are in desperate need of updating. We appreciated the fair room rates during this time of year given the location (holiday season).

6/10 Okay

Darryl

Traveled with family
Disliked: Amenities
We had a cancelled flight and had to take what we could get in a room. The room was spacious and clean but very outdated and wreaked of mold. We asked about checking out the next day if we could get a rental car. We were told as long as it was before 11 a.m. the next day we were told we still had a charge for leaving early. The released rooms allowed the hotel to charge full price and charged the next people full price for the room.

4/10 Poor

Jason

Traveled with family
Don’t plan on driving your car and staying at this hotel. The hotel sent us to a parking facility that was full.

10/10 Excellent

Kevin

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Perfect location-walking distance to Times Square. Hotel is clean, rooms were perfect size. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Great price for NYC!

4/10 Poor

George

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Drove around for 2 hours looking for parking, didnt find any so i checked out and got a different hotel away from the area

2/10 Terrible

Simone

Traveled with family and small children
Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
The heating during our stay was horrible. Most rooms were not heating properly, and there was no immediate or alternative solution.

6/10 Okay

ALISON

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Sink broken tv disconnected and no light bulb at desk lamp
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2022

8/10 Good

Andrea

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It's in a perfect location but unfortunately that puts you at the mercy of EMT sirens that go all night long - maybe it was just our particular room, because I don't remember the volume being that loud, and the Belvedere does provide double-blinds to help block some of the sound, but for a while I thought there were ambulances about to drive right through our room on the 14th floor. Barring that, the front desk service was exceptional - communication for incoming doordash orders was excellent and our requests for extra towels and blankets were immediately fulfilled. Our room was a king bed instead of the two queens that we would have preferred but the king room had a lot more space and in the future I'll probably choose that instead. I found it a good deal for the price.

6/10 Okay

Ningsheng

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities
The so-called breakfast is terrible.

6/10 Okay

Danielle

Business traveler
This is my third stay and I was not happy. I asked for an upgraded room and wound up with a broken toilet and a noisy hallway.

10/10 Excellent

Jamie

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Standard-sized rooms close to Times Square and Broadway.

8/10 Good

jennifer

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
It is clean and room were nice. Security could be better, I would like to see the elevator being accessed with key cards only. Seems as though anyone can access the floors. Great location.

8/10 Good

Paul

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great location bellhop/door men were great

8/10 Good

David

Traveled with partner
Liked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
We have stayed at the Belvedere Hotel before. Found it updated this visit. The bed was comfortable, the shower was great. Nice having a microwave and fridge in the room. The location is convenient to everything. Will definitely be back!

8/10 Good

Sujung

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Good in overall.

6/10 Okay

Linda

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Property has seemed to go down a little since recent stay.

8/10 Good

Kimberly Brooke

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great location and good room size. Only negative is the walls are paper thin and we could hear everything going on in the hall and room next door all night. I got very little sleep due to noise.

10/10 Excellent

Foy

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
very spacious room right off Times Square. We really enjoyed our safe and beautiful trip.

8/10 Good

Leona

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities
.

10/10 Excellent

PEDRO M

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Hi kln

10/10 Excellent

Antwan, Scranton

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The check in service was great, the door man were friendly . The room lived up to the photos shown online.. Extremely clean with a nice view of the city , I definitely will spend more nights here in the future…
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2022