Ratings based on 372 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Quick NYC Getaway

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, high-end amenities. OUTSTANDING concierge service: Jeff and Waldo are the BEST!
Cons: We made two attempts to dine at the Carlyle Gallery. On both occasions, there was no one to greet us. We stood around feeling like idiots and left.
We stayed for three nights, on a very quick stopover stay,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from South Florida

Beautiful Hotel.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: I loved the location of this hotel, and the staff was wonderful.
Cons: See experience above.
Location: The hotel is located just one block from Central Park, and a short walk to the Lexington Subway Rail which takes you anywhere you need to go.
I was looking for a nice hotel away from the hustle and bustle of midtown. The Carlisle Hotel is perfectly situated near Central Park, the subway, and beautiful shops. It's the perfect location. The staff was outstanding! I only wish I had done my homework before going. I was not prepared for such a rich environment. The restaurant requires a jacket for seating. My son and I were in New York for 2 Yankee games. We did not pack clothes for the Carlisle attire, so we could not enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner in the hotel. Fortunately, we did find many places to eat nearby. Also, the tiny bottle of Vodka in the room bar was $19. That's highway robbery. I went to the liquor store 2 blocks away. Movie channels on the TV were only available for an added charge. An iron or ironing board would have been nice room. I didn't ask, but I assumed this was an extra service at an added charge. Other than these minor inconveniences, I would definitely stay at the Carlisle again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from summerville, sc

Great location, staff and experience

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Centrally located to Central Park and the subway. Getting a taxi very easy thanks to the doorman. Walking distance to everything tourist.
We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and chose to go to New York City. The Carlyle was like stepping into the past in a great way. We were immediately greeted by the doorman and escorted into the hotel. Everyone from the front desk staff to the maid service were impeccably professional. The concierge were so helpful in finding great dinning experiences. The room was clean, bed comfortable and service terrific. We would highly recommend the Carlyle to everyone for a great New York experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

High $ hotel without the snoodiness

Posted Aug 18, 2015
We used the Expedia package deal to stay at the Carlyle. Being in the military, I typically would never be able to afford a hotel of this caliber. I was never treated any differently then the other wealthy guests. All of the staff was friendly and accommodating. Room service could have been better for the amount we paid, but otherwise I was very pleased with the hotel. It's proximity to attractions and the subway made seeing NYC a breeze.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Iconic hotel in marvelous location

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Gorgeous hotel but wish they would spend a bit of money fixing broken mirrors, removing stains from carpet & walls, cleaning rooms a bit better so customers wouldn't find another's hair on the dresser & bed upon entering, & repairing scuffed furniture. Most staff are friendly with splendid customer service & Waldo, the concierge, is phenomenal. I adored the old-world charm such as the elevator operators. Challenging to get into the bar even though we were guests & the restaurant had super slow/ poor service. Food was ok. Felt like a bother when requested to be moved because a baby next door kept us up crying during the night but then they put us in a room next to another crying baby. We requested when they moved us to transfer our food we had purchased at an outside restaurant into the new room's refrigerator but upon our return hours later, it had been left out. They graciously comped a room service meal in return. The third time was the charm & our room was practically perfect. Although no customers used the stairs that we were next to, housekeeping stored their items there so we kept hearing them starting early in the morning & throughout the day with their equipment & loud talking. We wanted a quite adult hotel to get away from things & were mostly able to finally do that. Splendid location with fantastic shops nearby. I wish they sold more items with The Carlyle logo like The Plaza, The Waldorf, & The Piere as I would definitely purchase them. Will return again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Upper East side, 1 blk from Central Park and 1 blk

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Room renovation, furniture replacement, better attention to detail in cleaning.
Definitely not a Rosewood class hotel. The entrance and lobby area look like Rosewood quality but the room was old, furniture chipped, old, not too clean. Linens on bed were great and changed frequently. OK hotel but not for the $400 per day cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2015 by The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies on the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, particularly with the condition of the room and furniture. Please rest assured that these issues have been reviewed with the departments concerned and steps will taken to prevent this from happening again. We thank you once again for your feedback and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Wonderful hotel on the Upper Eastside. Will definitely stay there the next time we are in New York City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomington IN

Elegance like the old days

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Classy hotel with everything you'd want. Expect to pay for it. I had a $20 glass of wine at the bar and loved it. Quiet location two blocks from green line subway. Treat yourself someday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

"Nice hotel close to beach" is a poor sample title

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Pure class.
Cons: Coffee pot in room
Incredible hotel, old New York style and charm. Big rooms, attentive staff, quiet. "Would stay again", for I felt like a billionaire aristo just walking in the door and seeing that huge polished floor. Also, towels were soft. No coffee pot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Great hotel in the perfect Upper East location. The room was nice and clean. The temperature was uncomfortable and stuffy. There was no view at all. Also, at check in we were given a letter from the spa for a 15% discount. However, they failed to inform us that the spa would be closed all weekend. We loved the bar which had wonderful drinks and entertainment. The Gallery was also a good place to relax and have a bite to eat. I am not sure that I would stay here again. I think I would explore another hotel next time.