Ratings based on 448 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from columbus ohio

Wonderful hotel. Comfortable size room.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Eveything
Cons: Housecleaning staff dropped the ball on the second day. Only left one wash rag ( vs. 4 on prior day) and took away bath robe I had hung up in closet
Location: So close to Central Park
Swanky, comfortable and thoroughly enjoyable for Girls getaway to celebrate my daughter's college graduation and to go look for wedding dresses. Location was perfect. Easily walked to explore different part of Central Park each day and could have even walked to Broadway play, if it hadn't been 95 degrees. Hotel staff was very accommodating, and housekeeping more than compensated for couple small blunders on 2nd day by making up for them on 3rd day. The bed was unbelievably comfortable. We both slept so soundly and commented how perfect the mattress was. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Civilized Old World Attention

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: No disappointments in a second stay. Help booking a Circle Line Tour and with other inquiries, Nothing seemed too much to ask.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The location of the hotel is so convenient for good restaurants, clothing stores and Central Park.
If you want to experience civilized old world attention, stay at the Carlyle. One doesn't get the impression that the staff are being courteous and friendly just for tips. They are brilliantly trained. Details of things provided in the room and bathroom indicate that someone really thought through what would make a stay perfect. The location of the hotel is so convenient for good restaurants, clothing stores and Central Park. What more could one ask for?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

New York elegance

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: The old school ambiance of this hotel brings you back a long gone era. This is an older hotel that has maintained its charm.
Cons: The elevator was being repaired during our stay, requiring us to use the service elevator for the upper floors,
A true New York experience at the Carlyle awaits you. Grand hotel in the best location, close to the Met, Guggenheim and Central Park.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Fantastic stay and u plan to return time and time again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Old New York hotel.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Beautiful, classic hotel designed by Dorothy Draper. Excellent service and lovely rooms. Good location and good room service. The only thing I would change is to have an ice machine on every floor. I don't need to call someone every time I want ice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, elegant hotel in terrific location.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Fantastic and courteous service, perfect location.
Location: Lots of shopping, restaurants, museums. Close to public transportation.
Had a great stay and enjoyed being close to shopping, transportation, museums, restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Very polite and attentive service. The Concierge staff is as good as there is. The Carlyle Restaurant Captains provide a charming dining experience. The Carlyle is an elegant and luxurious stay.
5 out of 5
by Evelyn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Charming Comfortable Hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2016
The Carlyle is a wonderful quiet hotel in a great location close to neighborhood restaurants. We loved walking Central Park just steps from the hotel. The hotel lounge was exceptional. We enjoyed a late afternoon cocktail every day while listening to talented entertainment on the piano. Perfect!
5 out of 5
by James from Chestnut Hill

great place but review your food bill

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
I was "cheated" by $30 or so on the breakfast bill which I didn't realize until I had returned home. Not nice at all. It soured my experience.