Ratings based on 1,749 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect for the single traveller

Posted May 25, 2017
Beautiful little hotel, full of intriguing decor and historic touches. Check-in was quick and friendly and after establishing it was my first time here gave me a run down on what was available to me in the hotel including the rooftop bar, cafe and housekeeping. The single cabins are small but incredibly charming and you will wonder why you would ever need a bigger room, especially when all you'll be doing there is sleeping! Housekeeping came round each day but usually quite late and it was always best for you to catch someone in the hallway to ask for a replacement bottle of water or towels etc. This is probably my only complaint in that on the hottest day of my trip my water bottle was not replaced and it was too late to have one brought up by the time I got in that night, not what you need! The location of this hotel for the price you pay could not be better. A short walk from Meatpacking, Chelsea, West Village neighbourhoods and easy access to the subway A,C,E and L train which can take you anywhere in Manhattan and Brooklyn and is useful with airport transfers - $52 taxi or a $2.75 subway that takes you door to door, you do the math! I only got a chance to visit the rooftop bar on my last night but it was still special. Beautiful bar with the usual drinks choices as well as great cocktails and an outside terrace with views of Hoboken and the Statue of Liberty in the distance. Im certain I will be back soon and would recommend wholeheartedly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel, great location

Posted May 24, 2017
Yes your room maybe small & shared bathroom facilities however .... the bathrooms were never overcrowded & it was always easy to use the facilities & they're always clean. You can even see the Statue of Liberty from the bathroom. The hotel is in a great location, very trendy & better than Times Square if you ask me. Great places to eat, drink & shop For the price it's really worth it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, Scotland

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Great location near to Greenwich and only 10 minutes away from subway if you want to go uptown, downtown, Brooklyn or the other boroughs.
Cons: The Jane Hotel has missed a trick by not having much on offer at the café. Also, the wonderful ground and rooftop bars were only open from 5pm
Location: Greenwich Village, Chelsea Market, the Hudson River path and the Highline in particular are all nearby and well worth visits.
The hotel is in a great location however, you need to be prepared and very organised if you book one of the bunk rooms. We expected to be cramped having read other reviews so we knew what we were in for but the bunk rooms seemed even smaller in real life with the only storage being two drawers under the bottom bunk. But it is workable and you're out of the room most of the time otherwise why are you in New York? Don't take too much with you, empty your large cases into the drawers and store your empty cases at reception. Although the bathrooms and toilets are unisex, they are spotless and, because we were up and away early, rarely had to wait to use the facilities. If you're there on a Saturday night you may want to ask for a room out of earshot of the nightclub, which goes on until the early hours of the morning - couldn't work out if it came from the ground floor or rooftop. I would definitely go back to the Jane Hotel but will be prepared and organised to use the limited space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Close to the downtown and near the beach. Small room but private. Restrooms are always clean. The worst thing about the hotel was the bed. İt was narrow and uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Already looking forward to going back!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
I love everything about The Jane - even the other guests!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berlin, Germany

Beautiful & Classy Hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Cozy rooms with thoughtful touches. Free bike rentals. Enviable location. Friendly to solo travelers.
Cons: Some of the staff at the front desk were rather nasty.
Location: Ideal location in the West Village next to the Hudson. Cafes, restaurants, parks, bars, concert halls, movie theaters all within walking distance.
Beautiful and classy hotel in the West Village overlooking the Hudson.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service. Amazing atmosphere.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Went there on business. This place was a refuge from modern hassles of cramped NYC life, like stepping back in time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

The Cubby Hole Hotel in NYC!

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Tiny rooms and a shared bathroom, something we hadn't done for 20 years! Amazingly, it worked once we got super organized. And, you can't beat the price or the location. What was bad: rooms were very dark -one small window, and only 2 very dim electric lights. Also very stuffy and hot. Plus, the very narrow hard bed was uncomfortable. But for a few days, it was bearable.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Lovely if you know what you're getting

Posted Feb 22, 2017
I booked this without much research (all my own fault) but have to say for two guys on a jaunt it worked out well. Not too far from Greenwich Village, and two blocks away from the Highline, you've got a lot of access available. If you choose to walk north to Times Square you'll see many things of interest, but let me also add that one block east and one north youll find a fantastic deli takeaway that serves decent coffee and breakfast for on the go eating. Ran by a conversationalist minimalist, but don't be put off. The contents are excellent!