Ratings based on 560 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Budget Hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The Jane Hotel was a great choice for my friend and I. We were travelling to New York over the festive period on a budget and were fortunate to come across the Jane Hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room itself was pretty basic and small, but still clean and comfortable. The hallways sometimes smelt of smoke but otherwise we had no issues whilst there. Another bonus was that the hotel was very close to the Subway and a large variety of stores and shops. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Location of hotel excellent. Helpful and friendly staff. Daily water provided.
Cons: The heating system - able to adjust in the room. Was very hot some nights. More shared bathrooms.
Location: Easy access to the most important places.
Cleanliness was good. More shared bathrooms would be useful. Inability to control heat in the bedroom was a problem (on cold nights the room became way too hot). The bunk beds were very comfortable and robes and slippers provided were changed regularly. The daily free water was welcomed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

A Manhattan hidden treasure

Posted Dec 25, 2016
The Jane Hotel is my favorite spot to stay over in Manhattan. I can't wait until the cafe is open!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from x

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Room central heating is a nightmare can't be controlled I slept with the wind open and a/c on and room fan on and it was -4 outside the room was still bake in hot if you can bear the heat it's ok !!! Very dated there is also a night club in the hotel which is noise and the bouncers at the main doors are a pain !!! if you want to get in the coffe shop don't take cash but the girls are super helpful it's a cheap and cheerful place to stay for a few nights no more then tat !! A hot bed and room for the night !!!! Plus points great location subways close by and and also some great bars and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice, quaint, and cosy hotel in West Village

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The neighborhood, the affordability, and the ambience.
Location: The Greenwich Village neighborhood is among the prettier and still quiet areas. Plenty of small cafes and restaurants in the area.
Really love the Jane. While it is a 10 minute walk from the nearest subway station, that can be a call to explore the neighborhood and its countless quaint cafes and restaurants. The Jane itself is a timepiece - a piece of history crystallized in amber, so to speak - what with the decor and the uniforms worn by the staff. At the cost of resorting to a cliche, the Jane feels like a Wes Anderson movie set. The staff are friendly and eager to please. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Eccentric hotel but forget basic comforts

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Location and decor
Cons: Beds!
The place is full of history which makes it a very interesting stay. The location is superb as well. However, it is certainly not to everyone's taste. I stayed in a cabin room and the bed was uncomfortable beyond belief. In fact I would not even call it "a bed". What you get is basically a tiny wooden chest with a thin mattress, tiny pillow and sheets. I struggled to turn on it and I am a petite five feet female. It would suit you if you are interested in something different and not bothered about basic comforts. Be warned about the "bedding" arrangements! Also only 2 showers and 2 toilets per floor and you will be sharing with 20+ people. At the same time, the bathrooms and the room were very clean and the staff very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Dec 13, 2016
We were referred to this hotel by friends, but what a disappointment. They supposedly have this beautiful bar and ballroom, but none of that was available to us for the three days we were there. "Booked for private parties." (We did sneak back to take a look right before we left. It WAS beautiful back there. Too bad hotel patrons were not allowed in.) The rooms were small, HOT, sparse and overpriced. When I asked where I could get some ice, they said they would bring some up. I waited and waited; finally went down to the lobby and they were all standing around joking. I asked for the ice and they handed me a bucket from behind the desk. The "cafe" was large and charming, but all they had was coffee and stale pastries. I asked if we could get the heat turned down, and were told to open a window or turn on the ceiling fan. By the way we were treated, they obviously don't need our business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Manhattan Beach CA

Charming hotel in a beautiful quiet neighborhood.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: I love that nothing is wasted on the design. It's form meets function. It's also clean and even the shared restrooms seem discreet.
Cons: I wish the restaurant was still fully serviced for breakfast. Someone needs to take it over from the hotel, now it just looks like an afterthought.
Location: Lots to do in the neighborhood, great restaurants, shopping and galleries.
I was in New York for one night to catch up with friends and see some galleries. The Jane Hotel is perfect for the quick in and out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

great location in the heart of the west village

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: location was super central. we walked everywhere.
Cons: not really sure, i think the shabbiness is part of the charm, it is an old hotel after all.
Location: quick walk into soho, chelsea, even down to times square.
hotel had tons of character, but felt shabby. rooms were basic, relatively clean, but beds weren't super comfy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Bad Stay

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Plenty of restaurants and amenities within short walk
Bad hotel: room was about 8 x 5 feet in size, tiny bed I didn't even fit in, room was a sauna way too hot , and 1 shower / sink to share per floor