Ratings based on 1,866 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Great location, clean very cosy rooms. Shared bathrooms are clean and nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Like stepping back 100 years

Posted Oct 21, 2017
A wonderful quirky hotel, great location, tiny rooms but cheap, and the ballroom on Friday and Saturday nights is one of the hottest spots in Manhattan full of beautiful people!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Atmosphere

Posted Oct 20, 2017
The hotel has be beautifully renovated and has a great feel to it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They could use thicker mattresses, I'd recommend cheap futons, as the current ones are not particularly comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waynesboro, VA

Overall, The Jane was a good hotel choice.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
The price I paid for a room at The Jane in NYC on Sep 29 thru Oct 4 was fair and within my budget. I arrived on a Friday night and had requested a quiet room earlier in the week. On Friday nights I found out that a club type restaurant off the main lobby in the hotel was playing loud music until 4 AM. This took place also on Thursdays and Saturday nights. I was on the 4th floor and was moved to a quieter section of the hotel on the 5th floor the next night. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and eager to please me. Although the room is small it was adequate for me. The flat screen TV was great. The shared showers and toilets worked out well. Some nice touches: A bathrobe and slippers. A bottle of purified water and glasses. A safe for valuables. The neighborhood appears to be safe at night. Two blocks from the Whitney Museum and the Highline. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Comfort, Convenience, and Charm

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Very good value for price, great location, very friendly staff
The main idea of the hotel seems to be that by sleeping in a very small (but well-ventilated and clean) cabin, (and what more do you need when you are asleep?) you can afford to stay in a lush, charming sort of Semi-Faux Art Nouveau environment. It's a few steps away from the Whitney Museum, the High Line park, Washington Square Park, The Blue Note Jazz Club, the revived Wha?, the Stonewall Inn and monument,and in walking distance of Midtown, SoHo, Chinatown, the Financial District etc etc etc if you enjoy a hearty city hike. The front-desk staff are very friendly too. And the coffee shop is large, quiet, and relaxing. And you can get a regular room too, if you aren't sold on the sleeper-cell idea. For my needs and tastes, this is the best possible choice for a few days' lodging in Manhattan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

quirky but nice

Posted Oct 4, 2017
bunk rooms are a bit small but why would you be in the room when all New York is out there.I took advantage of the free bikes and had a great ride down side of Hudson.The hotel was in a great location close to bars and restaurants and bistros.l personally liked the bonbonneir I think it was called bit of a greasy spoon cafe type diner but if Kate Winslet and cops eat there so can I
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

lovely hotel in the right place..

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: reasonably priced..
Our room was a bunk bed room which was clean and the beds comfortable, the 2 showers and toilets was shared with other guests on our floor. In the 5 nights we stayed we never once waited for the showers or toilet which was always spotlessly clean. Our room was made up every day and towels changed and bottled water left.. The hotel staff were every friendly and always approachable and happy to help.. We would highly recommend..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

I liked it here

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: This hotel has everything you need, as long as you're not looking for anything especially luxurious. You can't beat the price, either.
Cons: I was locked out of my room by accident at one point. I'm not sure how common that is.
Location: Very close to the high line and the Whitney. Get breakfast at Bubby's just down the road.
As long as you know what you're getting into, this is a lovely little place to stay. It's basically the equivalent of Japan's capsule hotels (my room was about the size of two single beds). The rooms are air-conditioned and there is a shower at the end of each hallway. My only negative experience was that the key to my room stopped working at one point, and they had to reactivate it for me. But it was really no trouble. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Near the Whitney and high line.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Welcoming and plain fun to be there. I like this hotel bigtime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poland,OH

Quirky, Boutique Hotel in the West Village

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: The quirky ambiance, I felt like I was in a 1920 era hotel before the depression hit. THE STAFF IS THE BEST BY FAR.
Cons: I like a firm mattress and got my wish. Others may not be approving. There are no hangers but they have plenty of hooks and shelves. Also a room safe.
Location: In the West Village,nyc. If you can't find anything to do, I pity you.
Had an overnight stay in NYC, went on Expedia's listings to get this place. First of all, it was wonderful and wonderfully quirky. The staff are dressed in outfits from the 1920's front desk best. They are pleasant, professional, and went out of their way to help. The lobby was decorated in old style but they have a modern eatery/bar. There is also a roof terrace that was wonderful, overlooks the Hudson river.The room was a single (granted only 50 square feet) but was very cozy and secure. There is shelving up and below the bed. HDTV at the foot of the bed. A fan near the ceiling as well as A/C, all operate by remote. They have a clock/radio, water in an old-fashioned bottle, a huge mirror. All rooms except for the captains rooms are subject to shared bathroom/toilets.They provide linens and big Turkish robes. Yes they are coed,but I maintained modesty and security. Toilets are enclosed by locked door, ceiling to floor. The showers are rainfall with the same security and modesty. Double sinks, hair-dryers provided. It was not a far walk from the room. The housekeepers are very attentive to needs. Located in the old meatpacking district, it is a gem. Prices are to die for in NYC. Walking distance to subway, cabs,etc. I will stay here again in a heartbeat.