Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interesting experience

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: location, architecture
Cons: It is what it is!
I expected minimal comforts, but didn't expect uncontrollable blaring heat in the room and noise in the hall. I liked the location and the unusual, historic feel of the building - like an old ocean liner. I feel I'm a heroine for having survived the night!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens,NY

Historic Hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Great hotel, could be a little cleaner, staff could be a little more accommodating, but love the history and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great budget hotel in NYC

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Location: Great location close to Whitney Museum, Highline & Chelsea galleries.
Fun stay at the Jane Hotel. Tiny, cozy room was very comfortable & stylish, with everything you need close at hand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western NY

Great for a solo traveller!

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet, welcoming. Every time I came in or out, there were friendly bellhops to open the door and greet me.
Location: Greenwich Village and Chelsea Market are great places to shop, eat, and people watch. The subway is 5 blocks away. Cabarets and speakeasys, too!
I was on a rare trip to NYC without my family, and I was looking for an inexpensive place that was in an interesting part of the city. The Jane was perfect! For an incredibly low price, I was steps away from the Chelsea Market and Greenwich Village. I walked all over the neighborhood, and could travel 10 minutes on the subway to see a Broadway show. Don't let the idea of shared bathrooms scare you--they were always clean, and I never had to wait for a shower or bathroom break. Also, the charm of period bellhop outfits, a swanky and vibrant bar, and a surprisingly comfortable twin bed made the hotel ideal for one. If you want a small, private nook in a big place, this is your choice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Budget Hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The Jane Hotel was a great choice for my friend and I. We were travelling to New York over the festive period on a budget and were fortunate to come across the Jane Hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room itself was pretty basic and small, but still clean and comfortable. The hallways sometimes smelt of smoke but otherwise we had no issues whilst there. Another bonus was that the hotel was very close to the Subway and a large variety of stores and shops. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Location of hotel excellent. Helpful and friendly staff. Daily water provided.
Cons: The heating system - able to adjust in the room. Was very hot some nights. More shared bathrooms.
Location: Easy access to the most important places.
Cleanliness was good. More shared bathrooms would be useful. Inability to control heat in the bedroom was a problem (on cold nights the room became way too hot). The bunk beds were very comfortable and robes and slippers provided were changed regularly. The daily free water was welcomed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

A Manhattan hidden treasure

Posted Dec 25, 2016
The Jane Hotel is my favorite spot to stay over in Manhattan. I can't wait until the cafe is open!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from x

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Room central heating is a nightmare can't be controlled I slept with the wind open and a/c on and room fan on and it was -4 outside the room was still bake in hot if you can bear the heat it's ok !!! Very dated there is also a night club in the hotel which is noise and the bouncers at the main doors are a pain !!! if you want to get in the coffe shop don't take cash but the girls are super helpful it's a cheap and cheerful place to stay for a few nights no more then tat !! A hot bed and room for the night !!!! Plus points great location subways close by and and also some great bars and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice, quaint, and cosy hotel in West Village

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The neighborhood, the affordability, and the ambience.
Location: The Greenwich Village neighborhood is among the prettier and still quiet areas. Plenty of small cafes and restaurants in the area.
Really love the Jane. While it is a 10 minute walk from the nearest subway station, that can be a call to explore the neighborhood and its countless quaint cafes and restaurants. The Jane itself is a timepiece - a piece of history crystallized in amber, so to speak - what with the decor and the uniforms worn by the staff. At the cost of resorting to a cliche, the Jane feels like a Wes Anderson movie set. The staff are friendly and eager to please. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Eccentric hotel but forget basic comforts

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Location and decor
Cons: Beds!
The place is full of history which makes it a very interesting stay. The location is superb as well. However, it is certainly not to everyone's taste. I stayed in a cabin room and the bed was uncomfortable beyond belief. In fact I would not even call it "a bed". What you get is basically a tiny wooden chest with a thin mattress, tiny pillow and sheets. I struggled to turn on it and I am a petite five feet female. It would suit you if you are interested in something different and not bothered about basic comforts. Be warned about the "bedding" arrangements! Also only 2 showers and 2 toilets per floor and you will be sharing with 20+ people. At the same time, the bathrooms and the room were very clean and the staff very friendly.