Ratings based on 1,628 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Amazing

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Room was obviously small but as i was on my own it was perfect, the layout of the room still allows lots of space for luggage etc. Bed is comfortable and there is a TV and WiFi and even iPads available. Staff were very nice and friendly. The shared bathroom was great never even saw another person except from one time, only thing i would say is i used the shower after someone else and the floor was completely soaking wet like maybe 1/4 inch of water. Not sure if this is a hotel issue or the cause of the person who used the shower last. Apart from that it was perfect and great location i loved it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Best Deal Around

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Pros: Shared bathrooms are perfectly clean and continuously maintained. Toto toilets and rainfall showers in separate small rooms off basin area
Cons: When checking out, asked whether wanted receipt by email. Called to follow up. Got incredibly snotty employee who first stated that could not be done.
Location: look around
Room could not have been smaller, really, or door wouldn't open, Had a problem with intense overheating despite window open all the way in a snowstorm. Staff immediately solved problem by turning on AC to max. Employees were extremely pleasant and helpful throughout. Unfortunately, when I was checking out, I was asked whether I wanted an emailed receipt. When that never materialized, I called and reached an incredibly snotty employee who advised me that one could not be sent, since I had booked thru Expedia. Finally, after much argument, he agreed that a receipt could, in fact, be sent for the restaurant charges to my room, which is all I had wanted, and seemed obviously due to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Quick Weekend in New York

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Price, staff, quick and easy place.
Cons: It was somewhat hot
Location: Right in Chelsea, next to the market, subway, great place in the Village.
I loved this place, I would stay again, I mean $79 in Chelsea over a weekend? Rooms were small, but of course they are, it tells you this and it's why it's cheap. The bathrooms were extremely clean and of the 48 hours I was there I only saw one other person in the bathroom, it was very private with full doors that closed to your stall (think official exterior doors - no gaps). My only issue which others pointed out is just the heat, it's radiator and your room is small, not much they can do about it, but I opened the window fully and it kept it decent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It all depends on the room

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Very friendly, helpful staff. Owners to be commended and trying to save 100 year old building and put it to work as a hotel and not have it torn down.
Cons: Rooms and hallways could be cleaner.
Location: Edge of meatpacking district with multitudes of restaurants, cute shops, the Whitney Museum, the river, etc.
One of us stayed in one of the tiny rooms with shared bath. Too close to the bath and the door bangs late at night and early in AM. The other two stayed in a double room with bath. Perfectly comfortable except overheated with hard to control radiator- no thermostat-and noise from West Side Highway. We read reviews and knew to ask for room away from the bars on 1st and 6th floors. Choose a double room with a patio on the quiet side of the hotel, and you'll be set.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york ny

Great location

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Overall very nice nice restaurant and bar Clean and comfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Inexpensive hotel in good location

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Pros: Location in close proximity to Highline and 15 minutes from Union Square. An unusual approach: nice design, clean, inexpensive.
Cons: Extreme heating in the winter must be addressed.
Location: Highline, Village, Midtown.
This is a good choice for Midtown and travelers with little baggage. The rooms are extremely small. In the winter the heat is almost unbearable. I used the AC and had the window open to bring down the temperature to c. 80 degrees - on a cold day in late December!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room fairly small and close enough to traffic for

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Quaint but average stay price was motivator ans location too; wondering about breakfast tomorrow jrfitkfkdkdkkdkdkkdjkdkddjdnjd
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Very affordable hotel with a lovely staff in a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Historic Hotel-great price

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: The rooms, though tiny, were well appointed with numerous hooks to hang clothes. Good view and fresh air from south facing window. Good restaurant.
Cons: I had no experience with the building's heating system as I was there in October. But the din of traffic, I believe, would preclude opening the window
Location: Chelsea Market, Washington Square is wonderful after dark, many west village eateries, east village not far away, 5-6 minutes to the Highline!
Loved the character of the hotel, something different from cookie-cutter lodging. Nicely located in the west village with many different dining venues in walking distance. Good subway service not far away. I had no noise problems from the club below on the Thursday night I stayed. The west side highway is definitely a noise factor if you have a south facing window (as I did) or west exposure. It was cool enough at night (October) that I was able to close my window and I slept well. Shared restrooms worked very well, no hassles to report. A good experience at a budget price. I will certainly go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Trailhead to NYC

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Location, price and staff. Also, clean
Location: See above in experience
Arrived Lars evening to smiling efficient staff. Restaurant open. Et toed in very small room, all as advertised. Clean and snug. Next morning walkabout easy distance to Whitney and HighLine a 3 minute walk away. Then to Chelsea Market and subway to midtown and museum mile. Next day downtown. Lovely walk along the Hydson. Returned for Delicious dinner at hotel. Thank you for being open on Thanksgiving. Great food and friendly staff. Had a wonderful time and will stay again.