Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach

Amazing place

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Absolutely gorgeous room with a balcony over looking the ocean. Staff...amazing! Entertainment at night and food absolutely out of this world. Can't wait for my next stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Way over priced for the quality of service provide

Posted Nov 9, 2016
I have no problem paying good money for a true 5 star hotel, that provides unforgettable customer service and quality environment. I have stayed at many around the world and paid top price, like The Hotel Chateau Eza in the south of France and J.K. Place Firenze in Florence. Locally, many others also meet those standards such as The Grand Del Mar (for a significantly lower price than I paid at the Ritz). However, I am very sorry to say, other than the view from the back of the hotel, I was horribly disappointed in my weekend stay at the Ritz in Laguna. First upon arrival there was only one person at the front desk (helping another guest for 15 minutes) and no other employee in sight, even though I was checking in on a Friday night. Searching for food, I found there was only one restaurant in the hotel, and I just missed the 9:45 last call. The bar had a late night menu, but the $150+ tab got us a few glasses of wine and a mini pizza and chicken wings of the quality you would expect at a bowling alley. That was just the start of the disappointment, throughout the stay I had the feeling as if I was at a fancy Residents Inn; it would take too much of my time to document it all. The nickel and diming for mediocre service continued with the final bill, which included a $30 per night extra “facilities fee” and $40 per night valet parking fee (although Expedia quoted $35--and you are captive for parking at that hotel). Never again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A most gorgeous property in laguna

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Just simply marvelous and quite a beautiful property.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Fabulous hotel!

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Unbelievable location with towering views. Spend the extra money and get water view. We had a pool view and its just not the same experience at all. Also, there are two pools. The "main" pool is loud and has lots of kids. The other pool is also beautiful but seems much more private. Service is great. People are friendly. Valet is awesome. They could dim the lights in the main restaurant at night. Its a shame that such a gorgeous restaurant ends up feeling like a cafeteria with the lights on full blast. Other than that, this is a true 5 star plus experience!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Mixed Emotions

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great great service, truly fantastic location and communal areas are great also... but rooms are small and in desperate need of renovation. Furniture chipped, mould on ceilings, stained carpets, not worthy of the Ritz Carlton brand or even by international standards 5 star.
5 out of 5
by michael

Great stop off.

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Impromptu needed to stay to relax after a day of partying with friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southlake texas

The best. First class all the way

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Awesome hotel. Expensive but worth it. Amazing staff from the valet to the front desk, restaurants, lounge, etc. beautiful views from all common areas and restaurants. Kind of wish the main pool faces the ocean, but not a deal breaker...would go back in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
by CariLyn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kevin from Benicia

Luguna Retreat

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
I had to travel to Southern California to attend a professional event in Riverside, California. It was a turbulent week and so I decided to treat myself to a stay at the Ritz Carlton, instead of choosing a hotel in Riverside. I have to travel a great deal in my line of business and I must say, this is one of the most beautiful properties that I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. The hotel itself sits or I should say rest on this cliff right above the beautiful beach. The restaurant views of the ocean are spectacular. Although a bit pricey, it is all quite well worth it. The only complaint I had was that the late-night meal I ordered came in a brown paper bag with a small plastic fork????. Otherwise I cannot wait to return to the Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel. Simply beautiful.........