Ratings based on 1,144 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Nice Hotel/Nice View

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: The view
Its a very nice hotel with nice view. You get access to the sister resorts as well (if you get the all inclusive). However, please note that the resort is incredibly huge and you need to take a golf cart to any location you want to go. Hence, I don't suggest going to this resort if you go with a lot of family members or if you have elderly with you. Also note that you waste a lot of time taking the carts to different pools and food places on the resort.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Would not recommend

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Saying that my stay at Pueblo Bonita Sunset Beach was a disappointment is an understatement. The check-in process in the gaudy, dated lobby took about 20 minutes with the lobby attendant leaving the desk a number of times, phoning multiple people and providing me with minimal details. I was assured that I would have assistance accessing my room and that someone would run through the systems. No. I had to track down a housekeeper to show me the trick to turning the lights on. My first visit to a restaurant on the property was immediately met with confusion. Another table had used my room number, which resulted in a $75 charge for a bottle of vodka that I was not aware of until check-out. The guests that I encountered at the hotel had been served way too much alcohol and threw belligerent slurs at the staff and fellow guests. No security measures are taken to prevent guests from becoming belligerent. In addition, the alcohol that I drank had a funny taste to it, almost like vanilla extract. One drink was so bad that I ended up pouring it out. On the day of my check-out I had planned to have a late check out that I had coordinated at check-in. No. A rude lobby attendant (Isabel) called and let me know that I had to vacate the room within 10 minutes or I would face a charge. As I rushed to pack, the lobby attendant called back, hung up and then called again - creating delays in my packing. As I ran to the phone to take her call, I slipped on the slick tile falling to the floor...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First timer

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Cons: Food quality
I got the Executive suite. 1,088 sq foot room. I booked a King bed. Got 2 queen. My main issue is the FOOD SUCKS. I got an all inclusive and it sucks. Quality wise and taste. i tried room service, the Japanese, Mexican, Italian and the food is not good at all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Very nice hotel. Food is so good and the room was beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful resort with amazing views

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Desert Sunset was incredible, the staff was amazing, the room was clean and beds very comfortable, several pools on the resort to choose from. The ocean view was incredible. We could go down to the beach but could not swim in the ocean due to the current and undertow. The down side the buffet didn't have very many selections to choose from, and the restaurants located in the Market have different hours of operation, so choices are limited. Restaurant Zao Shen is a must, the food and staff are amazing. Visited the sister resort (Rose) and the staff there was not attentive or helpful at all, it almost seemed like we had to hunt staff down to help us get shade by the pool/ get information about the places and times to eat on the resort (Rose). I would definitely go again, but will not visit sister resorts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Great and safe place for couples and families. Good variety of food. Crazy amount of pools, enough space for everyone to enjoy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very spacious rooms

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: The rooms were very nice and spacious
Cons: There should be water and coffee in suites. They have a refrigerator and coffee maker.
Location: Not on a swimmable beach
Hotel is very spread out and hard to get around unless you use the driver with cart the hotel furnishes. The drivers are very pleasant and helpful. We were scheduled to go to time share presentation but when we arrived at sales office, it was very unorganized and frustrating so we left. Very surprised to find out that the nicer restaurants had a $30-$35 per person surcharge. They were very good but thought "all inclusive" was all inclusive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas, TX

Bachelor party

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Nice place but staff was very pushy when it came to ordering food or drinks. We were all inclusive but we had to give a room number and name every time we ordered something. Other places I’ve been loved waiting on you. Here, it was a pain every time. Beautiful place. Just didn’t like hard it was to order.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Great, and then horrible

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Incredibly friendly staff Beautiful grounds Gorgeous pools Good food selection Onsite medical clinic (a popular and necessary amenity at this resort) Cons (this is where it takes a turn) : We were here for a wedding with 58 attendees. Of those 58 people, 14 got food poisoning and very violent food poisoning at that. This all happened prior to the wedding meaning it wasn't as if there was just one bad dish we all shared. We ran into multiple other people on the hotel grounds who also had people they were traveling who were violently ill. It truly was the worst vacation experience we have ever had and we travel a lot. Not only will we never go back to this resort, I doubt we will ever go back to Cabo, it was that miserable. Other cons: You have to take a golf cart to get anywhere as the grounds are huge. Wait times often exceeded 15 minutes. This gets old really fast. Don't make the mistake of looking under the bed. So gross. Our shuttle driver (hotel exclusive shuttle) fell asleep 6 times while taking us to the airport. We were all yelling to try and keep him awake. Really, that fear of death was the perfect ending to this trip. I mean other than all the time we spent in the airport restroom waiting for our flight and then again on the plane...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view snack dab in middle of the resort!

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Upon check in we were greeted at the desk by Javier. We told him it was our 25th Anniversary and wanted a nice room with a view. He was so accommodating to find us a beautiful room on a high floor with sweeping romantic views of the ocean! After check in, we were advised to meet with the welcome team, a group of ladies that basically would not let us leave and by extension take no for an answer to meet with the time share folks for 90 min tops. We did not want to but felt forced. The next day we did meet with a lovely lady name Janice, had breakfast and was treated to a tour of the time share properties. After about 2 hours ( 30 min past the aforementioned 90 min promise) we were shown prices from 45k -11k (the sell down) . At the end of the presentation we were shower a final price of 2500. We still didn't budge and were quickly showed the door. The best part about it was we received credits for cruises / cash back and other prizes. But the badgering at welcome desk was awful! The staff more than made up for the inconvenience! Everyone was Johnny on the spot! Rolled over backward and pulled out the red carpet!!! Food was good, drinks were excellent! Housekeeping and room service were outstanding!!! We had to catch a golf cart to go from our room to the pool and restaurants cause the resort is huge! We tipped each time we caught the cart although we didn't see others doing the same. The Marketplace was our fav spot to eat, the vibe was Fantastic, food was delicious!